We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Villas at Stonehaven
Ranked #2 of 3 Black Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2007

We stayed at the Stonehaven Villas for a friend's wedding; the place is spectacular... It looked great on the website but that doesn't even do it justice. The villas are impecable, each with a full kitchen, infinity pool, large patio, well manicured gardens filled with flowers and hummingbirds. I've never seen such a beautiful place.

Even though the villas are perfect, something has to be said about the staff in the reception/clubhouse area. They are not the most friendly people and sent us to the wrong villa when we arrived. This was not a one-time mishap; they also sent others to the wrong place. At the bar, the servers were about as happy as a wet cat, never smiled once to anyone and gave very dry answers to any orders/questions.

The reception staff also recommended a "deep sea fishing" guide to some of the guests. It was a nightmare. Basically the person they recommended took them bobber fishing in a raft. When they complained, another boat came but it had no bait.... so they spent the rest of the time trying to catch bait fish.

It seems so strange to me that there is such a disconnect between to impecable luxury of the villas and the motel-quality staff in the reception/clubhouse.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank peribonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 153 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2007

This stay was prompted from a missed airline flight that led to lunch and an awesome afternoon and night. This is what the well seasoned traveller can only dream about and rarely gets. The view is awesome, the staff incredible and the property is everything that you could ask for.
If a three bedroom villa with its own infinity pool and views that you can only get if on a mountain in Malibu or Montecito are what you seek, paradise found!
All rooms with private bath and a maid that comes with the stay. The food was unreal, the warmrth and richness that you feel will melt your problems away. This one night became the lasting memory of the fun part of our trip (yes we had some business to do also.)
You can't feel any better than this property will make you feel. It is the penultimate place to stay on Tobago. You will need to bring your wallet, but the lighter it feels for the stay the better your head will feel that you made the financial commitment. This is money well spent. Bring a close couple or two and shop at the local mart for your dinner for a fun break. the kitchen is well appointed and you can probably ask the maid to cook for a small additional fee if you want to be lazy! All rooms have a private bath and the view from the pool will have you asking if you want to leave the villa for any reason.
Please enjoy this tip and don't tell too many of your friends or we wont be able to stay next time! From the Andrews' point of view residence Villa #14 was just a small slice of heaven on Earth. Enjoy, and travel well! Cudos to Stonehaven Villas.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank powdercoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

The villas at Stonehaven are some of the nicest accomodations where I've had the pleasure to stay. The walk to the beach [Stonehaven Bay] is a bit longer than I would have liked [10-15 minutes]. The views from #2 were pretty good, but unfortunately the association does not own the land directly in front of the property between the road, and more private villas, though upscale, may obstruct future views. The rental below, the Sandpiper, is an the ideal location. The beach down below at Grafton [Stonehaven Bay] is actually quite nice, though after Pigeon Point [15 minute drive] it took me a while to appreciate it. Need vehicle to explore many deserted beach coves around island. The service at Shirvan Watermill restaurant was rude. Would not recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2002, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mccabepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
england
14
Reviewed June 8, 2006

It was the by far best best place i've stayed on the island. It must be good p diddy, stevie wonder and shaggy also stayed there. It has a wonderful view, they're great villas, and i would recommend them to anyone going to tobago.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland, UK
222
Reviewed April 9, 2006

By far the best caribbean holiday accomodation I have ever experienced. Total luxury is the only way to describe the villas. Extremely spacious, with breathtaking views, private infinity swimming pools, stereos, dvd/tv, bbq's in each villa. Supurb service. Not sure how we will be able to go back to the typical crowded beach holidays that we once knew! Probably more suited for couples, young children and infitiy pools wont mix well! We had 60 relatives travel for our wedding reception at Stonehaven Villas, and they were in awe when they saw our accomodation. The staff (Charlene and Wasipha) were supurb in helping us with months of wedding planning, and the day was absolutely perfect. Brent Hart was our minister. Housekeeping service includes daily laundry and breakfast/lunch prepared for you at your request. Recommend Pigeon Point beach instead of Stonehaven beach, much better swimming conditions and facilities. Restaurants to try: Cafe Coco, Indigo, Sea horse and the outdoors Sunday School event that happens weekly in Buccoo. Great nighclub called Shades is a short taxi drive away.
If you are looking for Paradise then this is it, but note that Tobago is not like other islands which are very American and developed, this is grass roots, paradise. Dont expect an abundance of bars and restaurants at your doorstep either, these are spread out and are approx 10-15 taxi journey away. Rent a car if you can.
We can not wait for our next visit to Stonehaven Villas.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2006

The villas are great. Shame about the Pavillion Bar & restaurant. The service in the bar is poor. On a slow night it took two requests & 10 minutes to get a beer and a rum punch. One evening in the restaurant there was no chicken, shrimps or bananas. (On a caribbean island!) Eat out at Bonkers, Seahorse, Dillons, Kariwak and the italian restaurant on the Hilton complex, these are all good. Stonehaven will make the bookings and organise a taxi.As I say the villas are excellent and the location and views are stunning, but you have to eat out.

5  Thank rollycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2006

You had everything you needed at your fingertips. My sister and I (both 26) stayed there with our parents and an aunt&uncle and never felt crowded. Upon request, Stonehaven also set us up with island guides who met with us at our villa prior to booking anything. I've included pictures from our villa.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GoneTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,531 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
18.9 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Stonehaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Stonehaven

Address: Stonehaven Bay, Black Rock, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Black Rock
Price Range: $293 - $876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Villas at Stonehaven 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views on the west coast of Tobago, The Villas at Stonehaven is one of the finest luxury resorts in the Caribbean. The resort is an exquisite collection of elegantly appointed three and four bedroom Villas set in ten acres of beautifully landscaped tropical gardens. Villa amenities include spacious indoor and outdoor living & dining areas; private infinity pool and spectacular ocean views. Your own daily personal housekeeper attends to your needs and will cook delicious meals on request. Villas are immaculately furnished and feature large air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suites, full kitchens, barbeque areas and ample dining and living space. The accommodation makes for the ideal choice for couples seeking a romantic retreat; families requiring a holiday home, or groups of friends wanting their own space and independence.By day, indulge in an in-room spa service, visit the nearby beach or explore the delights of Tobago. Evenings begin with a sun-downer complete with spectacular sunsets, to be enjoyed on your private terrace or mingling with other guests poolside at the Clubhouse bar and pool.The Pavilion Restaurant, open for lunch and dinner serves delicious Caribbean and Continental Cuisine and also offers room service.The unique setting of this luxurious boutique resort also provides an unforgettable venue for weddings, small conferences and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Villas at Stonehaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Stonehaven Hotel Black Rock
The Villas At Stonehaven Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing