We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Grand View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just returned from Tobago two days ago..The hotel is well maintained,room comfortable,large gym with modern equipment. The view "is to die for". Staff were very courteous and minor issues were dealt with promptly. The breakfast was sufficient and tasty. The hotel was very quiet and there is no entertainment, so if you are looking for a lively atmosphere stay elsewhere. The beach is lovely for an early morning walk/run/swim.The downside is the hotel is advertised as adults only 16 yrs and over but there were children staying in the hotel and the trees across from the ocean view rooms should be cut / trimmed as they do block part of the view.Overall very relaxing,comfortable and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: On checking in ensure that your view of the ocean/beach is not blocked by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cassiecage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 400 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

always a beautiful stay, lovely, serene...beach front property and close to most things. concierge service is very helpful.
Pool is amazing! Service is perfect and fantastic boutique (NINI)! Stay while in Tobago!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellamondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at Le Grand Courlan in Tobago last fall (2013) and it was absolutely amazing. The staff, amenities, and location were everything we could have hoped for. The beach and water immediately in front of the resort are like a post card. The spa was incredible and on-site dining was very good. If you are looking for a less "commercial" holdiay and want to experience a real Caribbean paradise, this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have just returned from a very happy two weeks at Le Grand and am hard pushed to make any negative reviews. I am however a regular visitor to Tobago and was aware of my expectations but was more than pleasantly surprised. Each member of the staff was really warm and friendly and did all they could to assist me within their capabilities. The hotel does need an uplift, particularly the spa which has so much to offer if brought up to date, they have the facilities and competent staff but the treatments are very limited and dated, prices need to be much more competitive to attract outside clients, and small touches like headbands for during facials are missing.

I am a vegetarian and had no problems, the chefs would always accommodate in whatever way they could. Steve (bar and beverage Manager) is very much "on the ball" and is doing a great job. My room was perfectly acceptable and beautifully maintained. Janet and her "team" at the Beach Bar are a pleasure to spend time with and do their best with what they have to offer.

I agree that the hotel needs to have a facelift and hopefully the management will take the reviews on board. Incidentally I did not have the pleasure of meeting the Manager which may be indicative but to everyone else, and you all know who you are,, a huge thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regular46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Bathtub fixtures in 1301 need to be replaced. Rusted and stained.
On a day we scheduled an ear;\ly morning tour, breakfast started 15 minutes late. Had to rush, Pluses: very quiet and peaceful, great ocean views and sunsets. Easy to get to. Great beach! Staff friendly and courteous
.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Le Grand Courlan is a spa hotel located on Grafton beach in the vicinity of Black Rock in Tobago. The rooms are outdated and in dire need of an upgrade. However they are clean, which is genuinely my number one concern. It took us ages to get service at the front desk but we weren't too bothered by that, as we had just bought lunch and were munching as we waited. When we got to the room, our keys would not work, but that was resolved fairly quickly. The bed was comfortable and spacious. Lots of room to roll around! The room was also a good size. We had a pool view room, which was fine.

The hotel is generally deserted so there was no crowd really by the pool or beach. The pool area is ok, average size, but nice to swim in, good depth. Grafton beach can be kind of rough, but when it isn't it is one of my favourite beaches in Tobago. The beach is really wide, with a lot of sand to sit and relax in.

One night, we went to the front desk and got the board game scrabble to play, and also went downstairs to the recreational area, and spent our time playing pool. It was incredibly quiet, except for very soft music coming from some on the wall speakers, but it was midnight, and really nice to have the place to ourselves.

Overall room: 5/10
Beach: 7/10
Pool: 6/10
Facilities: 5/10

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel has a sister hotel next door, The Grafton, where you can choose to eat if you wish. Similarly, those staying at the Grafton can use the gym and spa at the Courlan. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, private balcony, steps leading down to a public beach which is quite stunning. Gym is complimentary, Spa is pricey. Breakfast buffet has a wide choice, lunch and dinner was quite challenging as I'm vegetarian and did not enjoy finding a piece of fish in my vegetables or ham on my pizza. If you're not vegetarian, great hotel choice. Nice pool and bar, free wifi in public areas, grocery store a 10 minute walk away. Easy to arrange tours to other parts of Tobago, heritage sites, glass bottom boat trips. Overall, lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shanti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
255 reviews
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
0.1 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort

Address: Shirvan Rd, Black Rock, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Price Range: $185 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Courlan Hotel Black Rock
Le Grand Courlan Resort And Spa
Hotel Le Grand Courlan
Grand Courlan Tobago
Le Grand Courlan Tobago
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing