We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, great view”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Absolutely amazing service!
This hotel took us in on short notice the day before we were supposed to leave for our trip after another hotel double-booked the first night of our stay. We got there after a miserable trip on the ferry from Trinidad (whatever you do, don't take the ferry!), and the staff was very warm & welcoming.
The room itself was pretty basic, though clean and nice enough. More importantly, it had a balcony and view of the sea, and was a 2 minute walk to the beach!
The pool was nice and had a swim up bar with a friendly wait staff.
That said, the only down side was the food in the restaurant was horrible. The desert was one of the worst I've ever eaten (strawberry cheesecake was undercooked cheesecake with strawberry jam), and the vegetarian pasta was literally the worst dish I have eaten (macaroni with frozen veg & ketchup. Not joking).

Go, but don't eat the restaurant.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43323Globe_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    129
    60
    57
    49
See reviews for
47
169
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

It's a decent hotel, but not worthy the four stars that our travelling agent described it as. We got our trip cheap as a last minute trip, so our expectations were not very high, especially not after reading the reviews, which I think was good for us. Other people were more disappointed and had obviously expected much more.

The pool is nice and the bar ok, when the bartender feels like being there (the service is very Tobagonian, you never know what to expect). It took a week to fix our broken safe and waiting time for food, which is decent but not much more, was sometimes over an hour.

Rooms are ok, the view to the ocean was nice to wake up to. The spa is a standard spa, but wouldn't call it luxurious. The gym is dirty, but has the standard training equipment.

All in all, a hotel with possibilities but it has a long way to go. If you want to go for a trip somewhere around the island, Ellis tours is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samuelericson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Dont book this hotel or you will regret it deeply. Nothing works, Mould in the rooms, broken lamps and leaking water. The curtains dirty and falling down so you can not close them proparly. After telling the reception this every day for the first week I gave up. Noone fixes anything. Most of the staff (with a few exeptions) have no training and are not at all interested in working, Service and competance compleatly absent. Rooms dirty and broken, mini bar not working and empty, restaurants and bars closed, water bottles not includes in allinclusive, meny of the only restaurang open very limited and the quallity of cooking sometimes so poor that you can not eat the food. Sometimes there was a buffet instead, but it was over cooked and keept over heated. The breakfast very limited also for a so called 4 star hotel. No egg station, no plain youghurt, sometimes fruit sometimes not, sometiomes food and breakfast food was finished after 08,30. The managment neither listen to all the complaints from guests they got during the years and neither to the few good and proffesional staf that they kept.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KatinaMorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Black Rock hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Where do I even begin? We arrived around 11pm and were checked-in and shown to our room. As we explored the room, we noticed the adjoining door to the neighboring room was unlocked and we were able to access the room. Although it was unoccupied, this was a HUGE SAFETY CONCERN!
The following morning we went for breakfast and were very disappointed in the service and selection of food. No egg station or omelet bar, and the bread was on its last few ends. We ended up eating mostly toast and potatoes. When we asked for ketchup, we were told the hotel had none. Later that afternoon, I went to the pool bar (where the bartender was hardly there) and ordered a drink off their menu. I was told they did not have the ingredients to make it, and was sent to the upstairs restaurant bar. From there, I was again sent to the beach bar. Finally, I got my drink! That evening, the A/C stopped working, and we requested for someone to come and fix it while we were out for dinner. Upon our return around 12am, of course no one had fixed it. You can't call the front desk, as no one answers the phone, so we walked to the front desk and found no one there. There was a sign that directed us to use the phone to call an extension, and we did. After about 10 minutes of no one showing up, and another guest coming to the front desk to make a complaint about another issue, we called again. It took about 20 minutes for the night manager to come and although he apologized, it certainly wasn't enough. He came to the room, took a look, called the maintenance guy, and then decided to put us in the adjoining room for the night. The A/C was fixed the following day.

Other Cons:
-wifi is limited to the lobby and was down for about a day
-service in every part of this hotel is horrible, from the restaurant to the pool bar to the front desk
-room was dusty and looked as though it hadn't been cleaned or wiped down
-no remote for the old TV
-no water sports available
-from other guests, we were told that 2 of 3 restaurants were closed due to construction, although after the breakfast fiasco, we never ate there again

Pros:
-nice complex and pool area
-close to the beach and it was nice that the beach wasn't too busy, except for the people using it who were staying in the area
-lovely restaurant off the resort called Sea Horse with exceptional service and great food (although it is a little pricy and reservations are required)

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for the price that was paid. It was a trip that you had to try to make the best of and the customer service was some of the worst I've seen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is located right next to the beach. It has four blocks, two facing the sea, the other facing the pool. All have larger balcony with chairs. Wonderful sunset view.
The room is spacious, ac works fine. The TV was not working, but they changed it to lcd at the end. The safety lock was not working, reported to the administration, but not amended till the end.
The bath with a shower works fine, lots of hot water, no drainage probably. But shower head is quite diffuse with no focal point and takes a lot of water to clean.
Although I am afraid of mosquitoes, I hardly found any in the room, which is great. I actually brought a travel mosquito net, which is possible to fix the screw in the ceiling in case mosquitoes is a problem.
The beach down the road is normally quite deserted, but it is not clean since all hotels and guest house will dump their sewage directly inte the sea via many outlet through the beach. So what you see is dirty blackened sand, and smelly from time to time. The waves are quite strong for babies.
The hotel swimming pool is well kept and large. The problem is people from the neiboring Granton hotel are coming in, with their kids, so it gets noisy and crowded.
The hotel presumably has two restaurants one a la carte one bistro. Through out our stay, the bistro is closed, only the a la carte restaurant is serving. But the menu is the same for two weeks so you can imagine it gets boring. Especially on Christmas day they change the normal menu to a gala dinner, same menu but higher price.
The breakfast is So-so quality, often not enough food, so you have to be there early. Definitely before 9am. If you are going on a tour, you want the breakfast at 7am it's usually not ready yet until 7.30am. So calculate your time.
In general the service is very slow, and the restaurant can be so much better if it can improve its services.
The problem is mainly between meals there is absolutely no services, no cake, no snacks sometimes not even water or coffee. There is no shop selling any such things. Had they opened a café and sell cakes and refreshments it would be so nice.
Another problem is isolation, there is no where around you can go, no buses, you have to rely on taxi service, which is hardly to be found.
The gym is good facing the sea.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the sea. Upper floor will minimize mosquitoes problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The resort is wonderful, remarkable staff, rooms were very clean and refreshing. My biggest problem was the food, you knew cauliflower and pumpkin were in season and the chef only knew one way to prepare this dish. There were so much dried coconuts around, not to have a proper coconut bake, I got some fried bake one morning, when you broke the bake a pool of oil just nesting away inside the bake, they prepare saltfish every morning, they can take some and make fish cakes better known as accra. Out of my 3 nights stay I enjoyed the dinner one night and that was Friday night at the beach bar. Some of the staff needs to know the best way to direct you to other facilities on the compound, We were looking for the gym with another couple and it was a total disaster with the direction we got, the couple gave up but my husband and I were persistent, eventually we found it with the help of a workman on the compound and it was simple. Some of us likes to read the daily newspaper when having breakfast, at least have a couple in the lobby so the readers can be kept in tune with the world. Many thanks to Allison and the supervisor whose name I forgot for trying to make our meal time a happy one and kept that smile on their faces while we were complaining. I almost forgot we were told upon arrival a fruit plate will be in our room, but I believed they took the fruits to make the juice they gave us. They tried to apologized with a cake and champagne which was thoughtful, but a refund for the meals might of been better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascade
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel lived up to every expectation. The view was breathtaking, I enjoyed spending time relaxing poolside. Also the food was excellent. I would also give the room itself 5 out of 5 stars for decor and comfort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renren2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort

Property: Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Address: Shirvan Rd, Black Rock, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Courlan Hotel Black Rock
Le Grand Courlan Resort And Spa
Hotel Le Grand Courlan
Grand Courlan Tobago
Le Grand Courlan Tobago
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing