We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WORTH THE PRICE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Went to Tobago to do some diving and decided to stay here with my wife. Wrong choice! As soon as you drive in, you get the impression that this place is a bit run-down. We took the bed & breakfast package. The all-inclusive is a bit pricey, especially when the menus in the restaurants are limited, and the drink selection leaves a lot to be desired.

The room was comfortable enough, but definitely not more than a 3 star! The bathroom counters are starting to rot, and the showerhead basically dribbled water instead of spraying. While watching television, every now and then, a text box comes up on the entire screen asking you to subscribe. Granted it goes away after about 5 minutes, but very annoying nonetheless.

The biggest disappointment was the last night we were there. Management, in their infinite wisdom, booked a wedding reception in the restaurant. This restaurant is open-air. The DJ started playing some extremely loud music, enough that the bass was echoing in the room. Calls to the front desk were unanswered, so I had to walk to the front desk to find out why. Eventually got a room number to call to get the 'front desk' staff. When I did call, they promised to sort it out. 15 minutes later and no change. Called back again and they again promised to sort it out, this time sounding a bit upset that I made such a request!

It took about 3 more calls from 2200h to 0200h for them to eventually sort it out. The next day, their way of making it up to us was offering us free lunch. By that time the damage was already done.

Sadly, this hotel is not what they advertise it to be. I will never stay here again, and definitely will not advise anyone to stay here!

By the way, someone before mentioned that the reason there aren't many people staying in the hotel is because children are not allowed. That may be so, but barring that, this hotel was empty! You could literally count the number of guests on your fingers. BAck in the day, this was the hotel to go too. NOT ANYMORE!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dive_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 382 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed for three days in July 2011.

The best part?: the public beach down below the hotel.
One bad part?: the gate to the beach closed nightly at 6:00 and there was nothing to do after that.

The beach only had a couple of broken plastic chaises. Other beach resorts we have stayed at have hammocks and 4-poster beds.

We ate once at the hotel. The food was bland and overpriced. I only saw one couple eating at the restaurant.

The front desk people were present sometimes and were occasionally willing to listen or give information..

There was a noisy a/c in the bedroom, a smelly exhaust vent in the bathroom, and a baby roach in the sink.

If you lower your expectations you will have a relaxing time on the pretty, public beach that just happens to be near this hotel. Without the beach so close there would be absolutely no reason to go to Le Grand Courlan.

Room Tip: If you want the better,
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank db64tobago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Its unfortunate that the writer below had electrical problems but that happens everywhere..My husband and I stayed at Le Grand Courlan last year and it was great. It was great value for money, hotel staff were very pleasant and welcoming...Other reviewers noted the lack of visitors but the hotel does not cater for children so this may explain the lack of visitors.. this only lends to the tranquility of the hotel.. the pool was clean and gorgeous including the swim-up bar..the beach is a few steps away..We stayed at the so called Best Hotel in the Caribbean and were let down..compared to Le Grand it was very poor..Le Grand had the little things like in-room coffee/tea facilities, ironing board/iron(only provided upon request at the other hotel),soap, clean towels, clean bathroom, up-dated decor(very contemporary and stylish). There could have been more variety with the food but it was very tasty(they got my husband to eat his vegetables!)..Will definitely recommend and revisit...

Room Tip: Take a tour of the island
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trini_vacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementrep81, Manager at Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important that we provide a relaxing stay, friendly service, and clean rooms and facilities. We also appreciate your comments are more food variety. We look forward to seeing you in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Two couples stayed in el gran courlan hotel in June. First they lost our reservations and was rude about it too. Then one of the rooms, AC was not working, they took 5 hours to send a tech to fix it. They had almost no one in the hotel, yet they took 5hours to change our room, rather than simply change our room. For breakfast, we went to the restaurant, only two tables were occupied, we asked if we can be seated on the balcony. The waitress tapped on another table and said no, "sit here". The next day was so much more worse. We returned to the hotel at 1:30 am only to find the entire hotel without electricity. No security and no staff what so ever in the ENTIRE hotel. We walked in total darkness to our rooms only to find out that our keys were not working without electricity. We then had to walk back to the lobby. We again met no staff on duty. It was like a ghost town. We called a taxi who had driven us that day, and asked him advice on where we could get in contact with a manager. He adviced us to walk next door to el grand courlan's sister hotel, grafton beach resort. We walked across. Grafton was also without electricity but it had a security guard and a receptionist. The receptionist called her general manager (mr.dirks). He came across and walked us to our rooms with a master key to open it. I asked him if the entire island was without electricity,he said yes. That was a lie. I called two other hotels and enquired as to if they had electricity, and they both did. Mr dirks assured us that the electricity will be back in 1 hour, we stayed in our rooms for over two hours and no electricity. We walked back across to grafton to speak to mr.dirks and demand that he be sent to another hotel with electricity. He refused to speak with us and when we did eventually spot him, he walked away and went back to his room. Total disrespect from the managers come down to the employees. It was the worst hotel we have ever visited ever. DO NOT EVER GO TO LE GrAND COURLAN HOTEL in Tobago. They need to be shut down. And staff fired, and a new general manager.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shivam1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We spent a few days here purchasing “the room only” after reading so many negative reviews about the all-inclusive packages. They were right. The hotel itself and adjacent beach were great (and free) and the food served at the restaurant was good and priced well. There was no need to spend the extra $$$ for an all-inclusive package because for the life of me I couldn't see what was gained by it. The pool bar was NEVER open and the water sports equipment on the beach was a joke. Snorkeling??? When?? Where?? The nightly entertainment, which only happened once, was included for everyone anyway. It’s a nice, quiet hotel with a nice quiet beach just don’t spend a bunch of money on something that doesn’t gain you anything

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BusinessTravelerDNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Three of us booked into the Grand Courlan Hotel and Spa near Scarborough for 4 nights. We had 2 lovely spacious adjoining rooms overlooking the pool and beach, and to spoil ourselves after a very unhappy experience in a north Tobago guest house, we decided to take an all-inclusive package. It was wonderful to find this gem of a hotel; peaceful, quiet, clean, on a lovely beach, with friendly and helpful staff, - especially Nazim, our charming bar attendant, who has worked there for many years and who delighted us with not a few mouth watering cocktails! The rooms were spacious, very comfortable, containing everything we needed and more. For instance a beautiful flower was placed in our towels in the bathroom; there was tea and coffee making facilities, room service, a huge comfortable bed, TV, fridge and telephone, [none of these things existed in the so-called luxury guest house we had moved from] in fact everything you can expect from luxury accommodation. Good food is important to us, and we were not disappointed. Guests had the choice of a beach bar / restaurant, or one of 2 hotel restaurants. Fresh fish was a great favourite and beautifully cooked - and food always arrived hot. The buffet at the beach bar couldn't have been better. The hotel was very quiet, with few visitors. It's fair to say that apart from the rooms and restaurants, the public areas of this hotel are tired and much in need of refurbishment, but this in no way detracted from our 5 happy days and nights spent there. Much to the delight of one of our party, who is 86 years young, there were many acres of bird sanctuary across the road, - which he says was the highlight of the whole holiday! He had in fact been gone for so long that as dusk began to fall we panicked, but the hotel manager couldn’t have been kinder or more concerned in helping us find our missing bird lover!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting peace and quiet, great accommodation, food, friendly ambiance and good value.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TurtleBayWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I wish we would have read some of these reviews before we booked our vacation. Poor customer service from the time we checked in until we left. The employees were unprofessional, rude and had an overall mean disposition. The 'resort' I use the term loosely is located in a prime area; however there are limited amenities for an all inclusive hotel and the entire property was circa 1980. This place needs a complete renovation from staff to the property. They charge a 5 star price with 1 star service. Very disappointed. Will not return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank godsskydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort

Address: Shirvan Rd, Black Rock, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Price Range: $136 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Courlan Hotel Black Rock
Le Grand Courlan Resort And Spa
Hotel Le Grand Courlan
Grand Courlan Tobago
Le Grand Courlan Tobago
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing