We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday in Tobago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grafton Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Petersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday in Tobago”
Reviewed November 27, 2004

Arrived 18/10 for 2 weeks. First visit to Tobago and very poor compared to other hotels visted in Caribbean. Rooms smelt musty with damp smelling bedding. Overhaul of general fixtures and fittings seriously overdue. Main pool small, kids pool a joke (more like a big bath). Bar/lounge area too small.
Food generally Ok in the main restaurant, excellent in Neptunes. Service at bar could be slow, depended on which staff were on, but generally staffing levels were too low.
Lots of steps/slopes. Not a good place for very young children or people with mobility problems -nothing about this in the brochure!
Tobago brilliant though, and will go again, but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    151
    92
    45
    77
See reviews for
105
114
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 5, 2004

Well the last reviewer must have very poor standards as this hotel is probably one of the worst I have ever stayed in the Caribbean. We holiday every year and have done for the last 8 years in the Caribbean and having just returned from two weeks at the Grafton Beach it was a real shock to the system.

As another Trip Advisor has already commented, the staff were very grumpy not at all prepared to help or deal with matters which in our case resulted in a stinky room which was very poorly maintained, the pool was closed for three days as a result of someone toileting in it and also the beach is full of litter, very strong waves for a young family to be able to enjoy, so we ended up going to Pidgeon Point a private beach which really is what you expect a caribbean beach to look like. I would discourage anyone from visiting this hotel. I have never complained about a hotel in my life and this is the first one because it truly was disappointing for the money.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Black Rock hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 31, 2004

We have just returned from this hotel having once again had a great holiday. The hotel is very friendly, with some exellent food, very good rooms and a very good beach where it is easy to find a spot for yourself. We have visited this hotel numerous times and are allways looked after and have a great holiday.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2004

Are the previous reviewers mad? This resort is just dangerous - 2 kids get electric shocks by the swimming pool, live wires hanging out of the walls in the bedrooms, mildew on the ceiling, a unfenced in murky pool directly infront of what is supposed to be a kids club but is just a bedroom with a few books. As for the kids pool claimed - it's a BLEEDIN' jacuzzi the size of a pool table. Feces floated in the pool for 2 days, and when challenged staff simply scooped out the poo and put it down the drain - is it surprising that 180 customers were hospitalized with food poisoning 2 years ago when the sewage got mixed in with the drinking water? I cannot tell you how awful the resort is however nice the staff may be. As for the general manager, he hid from us for 2 days until we finally confronted him and told him we would be contacting the newspapers on our return for serious mis-selling. 3 star hotels can be basic without blatant disregard for basic health and safety. DO NOT GO!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fawltyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth garden city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2004

My wife and have just got back from Tobago a couple of weeks ago and we stayed at the Grafton beach resort and after reading most the reviews seem very positive,well i would like to say to one reviewer(EDDIE HOARE) a very big THANK YOU as we ask for room 311 but got 308 which was on the same floor and what a view,if anyone who is thinking in staying there just ask for those numbers
we could not fault at all any thing with the hotel/food/pool/beach,we felt within even a few hours as though we been there for ever! the mood was so relaxed and freindly and all the staff so nice to us our favourite person was JANA who is one of the waitresses she was just lovely! so i would say to anyone reading my review is GO FOR IT! you wont be disapointed,from Mike&Denise sims.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sims66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 14, 2004

What can one say, the hotel & staff excellent. Good food and good weather. Found the island clean and the locals polite, with no hassling. Returned 12 oct 2004.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2004

we have just returned from the grafton beach resort after a one week stay. The hotel on the whole was lovely rooms needed a lick of paint and some general maintinance on the air con etc but we enjoyed the short time we spent there the beach is lovely though a little rough sea at times the pool is also lovely with a really nice swim up bar and food was good for an all inclusive. we hired a car from a car rental on site who charged about £30 a day and we hardly got pestered by vendors the guys selling jewellery near the beach bar where really nice. The staff we really freindly on the whole baring in mind it is a 3 star it has surprised me that sometimes you can get a brilliant hotel with nearly everything you need i recommend it. thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Beach Resort

Property: Grafton Beach Resort
Address: Stonehaven Bay, Black Rock, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grafton Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Beach Hotel Black Rock
Grafton Beach Resort All Inclusive
Grafton Beach Resort Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing