We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 3 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grafton Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grafton Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grafton Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Stone Haven Bay | PO Box 25, Black Rock, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not quite 3 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just returned from a relaxing week at the Grafton Beach. Flight with Monarch was on old style plane with drop down TV screen Two shows for a 9 hour flight. Hotel in general is looking a little tired. There was only about 30 people there during our stay so plenty of sun loungers, but no parasols for shade. Staff in the main areas were great and rooms cleaned with fresh towels and bed linen every day. No charges for things such as the safe, pool towels or fridge which is great. However you have to wear wrist bands and sign after every meal with your room number. We had a sea view and two double beds. Bathrooms were dated and dripping tap and shower head, Toilet made the strangest 'darth veda'' noise after flushing Air con worked well if a little noisy. Beach is down some steps and over the road onto a sandy bayTobago itself is very small (24 miles by 7 miles) but there was nothing within walking distance which was a shame as there was no evening entertainment apart from one night when there was a singer and dancer down at the beach bar. (joined by the cockroaches) Food was traditional local fare Breakfast - fried bake, bacon and scrambled eggs Often there was fish or vegetables They also will make an omelette for you. Dinner was in the main restaurant or down at the beach bar for more snack like food (panini or burger)General menu was - a daily soup, (corn, pumpkin, split pea) Main course generally consisted of chicken (fried, baked, bbq) vegetables, rice and pasta. Cake, pie and fresh fruit (shame no ice cream although it was available if requested). Mainly chicken and fish. Beach Bar staff were not so good - barely spoke or acknowledged you and took >40 mins for a cheese and chicken Panini - great if you are not in a rush. Taxis into the main area are around 80 TT (£8) . We hired a car and drove all around the island in one day (Argyle waterfall, roxborough, speyside, Plymouth, scarbrough. Catch a boat out to pidgeon point and bocco reef Car was 510TT fully insured 200tt deposit (returned if you re fuel) and cost us 38 tt ( around £4) to refuel !! We also flew to Trinidad for a couple of days 25 min flight with flights every 30 mins or so and cost only about £30. Much bigger and livelier island but also many places that you would not venture (high crime rate) so be careful which areas you go to. We went to theatre in Port of Spain and restaurant choices there were numerous. So Tobago as a whole - very relaxed and laid back. Personally I think the beaches and sea on other Caribbean islands are prettier. More nightly entertainment and wider choice of food would be welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cargirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oxford, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our week at the Grafton Beach Resort far exceeded expectations, and I enjoyed it more than many much more expensive holidays. The hotel is a 3 star resort, and I don't see how anyone who goes in expecting this can be disappointed with it. The rooms were a decent size and clean, and we had a nice ocean view - there was a fence and a small road running behind the room, between the hotel and the beach, but again we hadn't paid 5 star prices so were happy with this.

The food in the buffet restaurant was good quality and tasty. There was a slightly limited choice, but this was understandable considering there were only around 50-60 people in the entire hotel during our stay. The beach bar was definitely a great bonus, and we found the menu there a nice option to break up the pattern of eating buffet meals. The main bar had a wide range of drinks. In particular, cocktails were not mentioned on the all-inclusive plan and there is no cocktail menu, but when asked the barman replied "Let me know what you want - if I have the ingredients, i'll make it for you", and indeed he did make us a wide variety of cocktails through the week. We were slightly concerned on arrival to see that bottled water was not included, but soon realised that there is a large cooler of iced water on the bar 24 hours a day, together with glasses; many people used this to fill bottles and kept them in the in-room fridges.

The hotel's setting is lovely, perched on the hillside running down to a quiet, unspoilt beach. We spent many hours sitting in the shade near the bar reading, talking or just enjoying the view over the pool, beach and sea. Around the hotel and beach, we saw huge numbers of birds (especially Bananaquits, Swallows, Pelicans and Frigate Birds) and even a Hummingbird. There were Leatherback Turtles nesting most nights on the beach below the hotel, as well as on nearby Turtle Beach (an amazing experience!). We also saw Bats roosting in the eaves of the hotel itself.

Throughout our stay, almost all of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the service felt very personal. I'd especially highlight Niome, working in the restaurant and the pool bar. She always had a smile on her face, and went out of her way to ensure the guests were happy, including venturing from behind the bar to offer drinks poolside at quiet time. There were a couple of exceptions, but in general the service was fantastic.

Although certainly not the fault of the hotel, we did have some trouble with our rep, Maria from Tobago Travel (on behalf of Tropical Sky). She was unable to deliver the excursions we wanted to book (after offering them in the welcome meeting) and then acted quite unprofessionally towards us for the rest of the week after we booked elsewhere. We booked our excursions with Ellis Clarke of Ellis Tours, who met us on the beach on our arrival evening. I'd highly recommend him to anyone - he was friendly and knowledgeable as well as offering trips that better suited us. A particular highlight was the half day trip to Pigeon Point, Buccoo Reef (glass bottom boat), Coral Gardens Snorkelling and Nylon Pool - a fantastic trip, all for US$30 a person.

Overall, we had a great time at the Grafton, and i'd definitely go back again. It is an older resort and could do with a bit of care in places, but that never stopped us from enjoying our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wildcard898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This holiday far exceeded our expectations. We'd read some negative reviews and didn't really know what to expect. This is a 3 star standard hotel and provides all the facilities that one would expect. The rooms are a bit tired but clean. The air conditioning worked well as did the shower and there is a safe which is included within the price.The atmosphere is very laid back - exactly what we were looking for a relaxing holiday and added to the charm of the place. The staff were mostly very pleasant and friendly. One or two were a bit reserved in the restaurant but you will encounter that wherever you stay. Niomi Williams was excellent and the bar staff were full of fun. The food was a bit repetitive but tasty and we ate in for every meal there every day. The hotel wasn't too big and the whole atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. We normally tend to be a bit unsociable on holiday but we socialised more on this holiday as the atmosphere was so welcoming. The view from our bedroom was stunning - lovely to wake up to every day and it was so peaceful . We were lucky enough to see a turtle lay her eggs - an amazing experience. I would return to this hotel and Tobago.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julieyoung2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just returned from a week stay at the Grafton with three girlfriends and had a really good time.

The reviews on this hotel have been really mixed and could put you off. Don't be. Our experience of the hotel, management and staff was great. At the end of the day this is a good quality 3 star and has all the basics you'd expect. It's clean, tidy and well cared for. The staff were attentive and friendly. The rooms are adequate. The bathrooms could do with a lick of paint but the showers in the rooms were excellent.

As a West Indian I found the hotel food to be really tasty and authentic. There was enough variety and we found the staff really helpful if we wanted something extra. We were made to feel very welcome by the hotel staff.

The hotel pool was good, the beach just okay. But it's easy to get to other beaches which were much nicer (Pigeon Point and Stour Bay). The island is small so it's easy to get cheap taxis to cover the island. The hotel organised some excellent trips. A trip to the Rainforest with Peter Cox is a must. He's an excellent guide and extremely knowledgable. We also took a day trip to Trinidad which gave a good overview of the island.

The hotel was generally quiet. So great if you want somewhere to relax that's not hectic. The hotel did put on some evening entertainment which was good.

I would recommend this hotel to those not wishing to spend too much but wanting to experience a decent hotel in Tobago.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cool27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Yes this is now my second review since joining trip advisor and I do not comment on a hotel if it is not justified. This is justified! After reading the reviews I was concerned about going to the hotel - now I have just returned from staying at the Grafton hotel with three friends I can say that the negative reviews do not reflect my experience! yes a 50 inch flat screen TV would be good - but I didn't go to Tobago to watch TV. I agree the hotel needs a little updating but it was good for what we paid. Its a three star hotel (remember that!!!).

The hotel sits on a beautiful beach with great scenery; has access to two small swimming pools with bar and a small gym, which I used; our room had a balcony with amazing sea and sunset views. The room was very clean and was cleaned everyday to a good standard and the air condition worked all the time.The beds were very comfortable. The shower was hot and powerful (even at 3am in the morning after coming back fr
om Sunday School!). We also had a safe in our room for passports and money which we didn't have to pay for daily!

As we were on an inclusive deal all meals and drinks were included - the food was always a choice of a meat and a fish with vegetables and fresh fruit throughout the day - Rose in the kitchen made sure she cooked the meals with a good Caribbean twist adding just the right seasoning to the food and not watering it down. Sherly the breakfast manager always made sure our visit to the restaurant was a good one. All the staff were helpful. They could have had more of a choice on the drinks at the bar though - but what was on offer - for me, was good enough.

The location is ideal for visiting the rest of the island and it is easy to get around from there its around 80TT (around £8.00) to Pigeon Point beach or Store bay.

We stayed for a week and i feel that for a three star this hotel worked for us. So if you are going to Grafton enjoy the food the beach and the views and if you do happen to have a complaint report it straight away!

Room Tip: choose the sea view rooms on the first floor with entrance opposite the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveltheworld49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel was a 3* and met my expectations in terms of accommodation. The room was tired but very clean, the towels were clean but smelt stale. The pool area was lovely and well kept. the food was average, but did the job overall. The bar was poorly stocked for the promised cocktails which were 5ltr containers of brightly coloured fruit juice concentrate in which a selection of various spirits were chucked in, no lovely fresh cocktails that you come to expect in the Caribbean with at least some fresh fruit included, all just processed stuff. The real issue though that let the place down significantly was with the attitude of the staff to guests, poor at best and rude at worst. Gave feedback at the time (as we were all asked to do so rather than just put it on Tripadvisor on our return) with little change to be honest. Promised that deliveries of salad items and fruit were imminent, even told the variety of fruit coming, non of it arrived. There also seemed to be a 'secret' stash of ice cream that you had to ask for in hushed tones, very peculiar! One guest said they felt like they were asking for a supply of drugs rather than a bit of ice cream. Overall a disappointing guest experience where you felt like you were an inconvenience, most staff were dower and seemed uninterested and made us wonder if there were deeper problems with the hotel management (though that is just my perception and may not be the reality) Great location though if you don't mind poor service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NettySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Several issues with the AC that did not work well., TV did not work and they had to change it, and the bed was not clean, hairs from the last person there were in my bed, looks like they do not clean it right. Food is terrible except breakfast. There are several hotels in the area so I recommend looking for other option.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esteban G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Black Rock hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
18.8 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 4 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Beach Resort

Address: Stone Haven Bay | PO Box 25, Black Rock, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grafton Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Beach Hotel Black Rock
Grafton Beach Resort All Inclusive
Grafton Beach Resort Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing