We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation Spot Comfy & Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grafton Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at Grafton Beach Resort and it was peaceful and it felt like home....the food and drinks was to die for, very tasteful.
The service was quick and friendly, rooms kept clean at all times.
Can't wait to stay there on my next visit to Tobago.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KrystalSamaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 451 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

Save your money and time. Do not spend good money to stay at this hotel, and even if you won a free trip to stay here, do not waste your time...This property is a disappointment in every respect. There are so many issues that we had during our stay, chief among which are:
1. The customer service is very poor. Almost every interaction we had with the staff entailed curt and outright rude responses.
2. The resources are extremely limited. Wi-fi access in the rooms is non-existent and even in the lobby where it's supposed to be more readily available, there are difficulties getting online because of the unreliability of the signal.
3. There are only about 5 television stations, all with very poor reception.
4. Basic items such as washrags, weren't provided in the room we stayed in. In any event, the linen and towels that were provided, were in serious need of replacement. They are dingy and threadbare.
5. The concept of an "all-inclusive resort" is totally misunderstood by the operators of this hotel. There is a cap on the amount of food/drink you can consume at their beach bar, and the times during which meals are served are very limited. So, if you're famished in between their set meal hours (even at 5:15pm, in our experience), it's likely that you won't be able to get anything to eat.

Just in an effort not to dredge up bad memories, I'll cut the list of negatives short. I can think of only two positives...namely Rosemarey at the beach grill/bar, and Kenwin, one of the waiters. They were both friendly and helpful and stood out because everyone else was not.

Suffice it to say that this property would never get repeat business from me. I do hope that a word to the wise will be good enough, and that I'll have saved some unfortunate souls from the horrible time to be had at this overpriced, horrible hotel. (Yes, I used 'horrible' twice in the same sentence!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JamdownDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My stay at Grafton was nice. Drive up to the hotel was calming and scenic. The reception was good with a complimentary drink (much appreciated). Room was clean with great view of the ocean... beach right across the street with beach bar and art and craft shop. I got my birdfeeder there! Food was basic and pricey, staff generally nice.... housekeeping on point although they can do much better with the towels...they were very dingy looking and hard! Generally for the price it was a comfortable stay in a well manicured area Black Rock.... there is a fort not too far from the hotel - Bennet Fort with great views of island and exotic birds! it was a delightful surprise!

Room Tip: ask for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineKassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I just telephoned that hotel to make a reservation and the staff's service levels were way beyond deplorable. There is MUCH....MUCH to be desired. They should probably invest in customer service training instead of any renovation work.....

Clean up the customer service....Lysol (eliminates odors)...what can they try for eliminating nasty customer service????

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Candi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The service received was average as staff seemed to be overwhelmed therefore more staff is needed Rooms were poorly lit with broken furniture, a broken remote, a hanging lamp shade covered with cobwebs, dingy bed linens, worn, stained and discoloured towels. This resort's management seems only interested in making a profit as opposed to giving value for money. They seem to have no interest in addressing the above mentioned issues. All in all the resort was overpriced as we did not receive what we expected.

On the upside, the resort was centrally located with easy access to many popular beaches which is a positive. The ambience of the pool area gave a calming effect and there was a great sea view from the restaurant area if you did decide to eat there.

Unfortunately, in this instance the bad outweighs the good and I would definitely not recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: Read the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Nigee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My friends shared two rooms there recently for four days(All Inclusive). I visited them very often. To start, one person could not come on the expected date but his room key was handed to the other person. When my friend went to open the room there was another person booked in in that room. Obviously was very clean but needed refurbishing. The atmosphere was very encouraging because of the ocean view. The food on the buffet was horrible. Imagine on Saturday night there was no bar man. Ordinary pipe water was served because the waitors did not have access to the bar. At reception, the staff seem to be pleasant but you could see that something was lacking. Their smiles seemed to be false.
This Hotel was built to encourage guest s to have good holiday of comfort and relaxation but presently it is discouraging travellers. Come on people wake up!

June

Room Tip: Can't recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sylvia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Don't expect pay tv with movies on demand, or fine dining, or high quality of any kind. This is a simple, basic hotel. It has no frills, but it does have direct access to a lovely, clean beach and is right across the road from 200 acres of lush tropical forest where you can walk and bird watch to your heart's content. They also make quite a decent omelette for breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
5.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
257 reviews
3.9 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.9 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Beach Resort

Address: Stonehaven Bay, Black Rock, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Price Range: $111 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grafton Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Beach Hotel Black Rock
Grafton Beach Resort All Inclusive
Grafton Beach Resort Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing