We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

The Pavilion Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Black Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Pavilion Restaurant and Clubhouse Bar is located at Tobago's premier resort, The Villas at Stonehaven, close to Stonehaven Bay.The restaurant serves delicious Caribbean, Local and International cuisine prepared by internationally trained chefs. Casual lunches and a la carte dinners are availble from Tuesday to Sunday (closed on Monday).The Restaurant also features a half moon infinity pool, ideal for a refreshing dip before or after lunch. The impressive and welcoming Clubhouse lounge and bar is the perfect spot for a pre or post dinner drink and serves an extensive range of Caribbean cocktails and wines. Happy hour from Tuesday to Sunday. The Restaurant and Clubhouse facilities are also available for wedding receptions, family entertaining, private/group dinners, and corporate events.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We visited Pavilion Restaurant for dinner on May 31st 2012. The location is awesome with wonderful views. However when we arrived we were told there was no lobster or shrimp. This cuts the offerings on the menu in half at least. I chose a vegetarian option of canneloni, this too was not available. We chose the Calilou soup which was very good, but the rest of the meal was very mediocre, small portions of vegetables and overcooked meats. The service was passable but a 10% service charge was automatically added which we did not agree with. Also only 2 choices of desserts, ice cream or cake. As it was our last night in Tobago we hoped for better as the restaurant is not open on Monday or Tuesday, plus it had a private function on Saturday. We were recommended to try it but found it woefully lacking. Also when it came time to pay they had no credit card facilities working. They offered to drive us to the ATM. We managed to scrape together enough cash thankfully. It might be that they are in off peak mode, but in that case they should not open for dinner at all.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJJSCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    7
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning place to eat”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Awesome views and atmosphere, great food but the service was a little lacking in attention even though the restaurant was nearly empty

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canadacalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Eltham
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, mixed bag of service and food”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Fabulous setting for sunset drinks with an excellent value 'Happy Hour', however mixed feelings on the food which were either excellent or mediocre. For example the Seafood crepe starter was amazing, but the fishcakes somewhat dry and bland. The service was fairly poor but this is likely to be down to the fact that there were only two members of staff on, so not their fault! - Management, please take note, you have a fabulous hotel and setting and you are let down by minor things that can be addressed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location but rude and bad service”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were very impressed with the location. Once we were showed our table our experience turned negative. Our group consisted of young professionals from NYC and Philly. We were all well traveled foodies and some of us had restaurant experience at some time in our lives. The Pavilion was supposed to be a high end experience, but we were treated as if our money was not good enough. In a nutshell our server didn't welcome us, when we made typical request such as asking for a drink/wine menu or the night's specials we would made to feel that it was an inconvenience, we were rushed to order, and food came late. There were many issues that made our experience the worst dining experience ever, but what topped all was the waiter watching over us to make sure we knew how to fill out the tip section of our bill. Our server was already getting a percentaged added to our total. He didn't deserve a tip more than 10%. Dining here was horrible. We tried to give the server an opportunity to redeem himself but it never happened. I regret not giving our complaints to the manager, but I doubt that would have helped at the time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WendyKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best for lunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Like most places in Tobago, the best value is for lunch. Had great meal with family. 6 of us and everything was great and good value. Bring your towels. The kids were allowed in the wonderful infinity pool right next to our table.
Had a look at the dinner menu and just wouldn't trust the same kitchen to produce that level of cuisine

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ollywf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pavilion Restaurant also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Black Rock, Tobago
Black Rock, Tobago
 

Been to The Pavilion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing