We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice spot in the Rupununi”
Review of Rock View Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock View Lodge
Reviewed April 17, 2013

It's a slightly different atmosphere here to the other spots we'd stayed at in the area, certainly no major complaints but perhaps a little more stiff.

We'd booked 2 nights as we'd been looking for a spot of luxury towards the end of our trip and while we enjoyed the pre-dinner cocktails, free laundry, pool & rooms we were a little disappointed by the lack of horse riding, (temporary) and mountain bikes, (permanent).

Our guide for the local excursions was a little unenthusiastic to say the least, although we'd been spoilt with those at nearby Surama. Several times we got the impression she'd rather be doing anything other than showing us around but we were very happy to see the nearby owls & mountain.

Colin has a lovely place but it does revolve slightly around him and his full-on personality. It's a personal thing but I didn't think it was neccessary that he accompanied us for every meal we had there but he had a lot to say and has a huge history of the region.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Jhansfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 59 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our schedule had us landing on the airstrip in Annai, having breakfast at Rock View and driving on to stay for 3 days at Atta Rainforest Lodge. In the event we were joined by Colin for a very nice breakfast and were then driven on by Vito toward our destination. On the way we found a key bridge out of action and it wouldn't be repaired for 6 hours and we couldn't pass so Vito drove us back to Rock View. Here Colin provided us with a room to use for the day and get a shower, a lovely lunch and a demonstration of cashew processing. We were able to have a stroll through the oasis that is the garden of the property. Colin and the staff couldn't have been more kind to us, his surprise guests, and I'd like to take this opportunity to thank them all for their hospitality. On another visit I would have no hesitation in staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_an_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Any trip to Guyana would be incomplete without a visit to Rock View Lodge. Not only is Rock View centrally located to all points of interest in the Northern Rupununi, but Rock View is central to all that happens in the interior of Guyana. A few nights at Rock View gives you a feel for the political and economic decisions that effect the rain forest and a feel for the people that live in the rain forest and on the savanna.

Colin, Jorge, and Vito Edwards and the rest of the Edwards family are wonderful hosts. There is always a bustle of activity at Rock View, but Colin makes the guests at his lodge a priority and he sees to it that your every need is met. Accommodations at Rock View are first class, and while we never had a bad meal at Guyana, the meals at Rock View were top notch. Much of the food is grown or raised right on the grounds at Rock View.

All of the small lodges in the Rupununi work well together, and it is very easy to arrange transportation from one lodge to the next. Whether your wish is to view a specific bird or animal or just to experience the wilderness of Guyana, the lodges work well together to achieve your goal. Our guide at Rock View was Hendricks, and he was knowledgeable, friendly and patient.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmunsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was an excellent welcome to Guyana after the rigours of Venezuela and a much needed two night stop! The owner is a larger than life character who runs this small complex complex with his family in the savannahs of the Northern Rupununi area. The place is largely self sufficient, including its own fish farm, cattle farm and vegetable gardens - tours are welcome and we enjoyed watching the sunset with glass of El Dorada and fresh lime juice in hand!

Food is locally sourced and cooked by the villagers and was very tasty and the staff were all very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Rooms are twin bungalows and are all away from the main part of the complex so noise is not a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Douglas552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took a spontaneous trip out here -- for just 24 hours ( not advised, you need more time to see the area) and this place was very welcoming, went out of there way to arrange tours for us, delicious meals, lovely atmosphere. Very pricey. I have stayed a whole 2 weeks in sme places for what they charged us for one night. Would recommend Annai Lodge further up the road, if you want to be right in the rainforest.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Rockview rooms are so comfortable and well-appointed that they feel more like a thoughtfully cozy, lovingly operated motel than an eco-lodge in the interior of Guyana. The showers even have a gizmo on them that can slightly heat the water – be sure to ask how to operate them.

In fact, we had to ask about everything – meals, electricity, laundry, etc. It was the only place on our entire trip where nobody welcomed us with that information. We also learned by-the-by that the rooms are supposed to have umbrellas in them, so be sure to request one if your room lacks one at check-in – as ours did.

There is a small, pretty pool. The water was cloudy, but there was a pump which may clear it up when it is working. There are plenty of stools, but only one lounge chair. There are no towels at the pool, so be sure to bring one from your room.

The grounds are flat, dry, and unremarkable except that many of the native and imported plantings are labeled. There are assorted bird, butterfly, and hummingbird feeders scattered about, which makes for a fluttery ambience.

Although the guides are uneven, the food is superb! The best soups in the Rupununi, the most and most varied fruits and veggies, and truly inspired seasonings on all. The informal afternoon tea is a delicious opportunity to chat with other guests.

For us the high point of Rockview was our host, Colin Edwards. He’s a living history of the region, full of tales and accomplishments – but looking ever forward with still more ambitious plans. He joins the guests for most meals and will be delighted to show you around the amazing garden. He’s much in demand, so try to informally book your garden tour soon after your arrival.

Other pleasures are cashew processing, weaving, and vaquero skills demos.

Most Guyana package tours stay at Rockview and for some, that’s their only “interior” experience. If you are on such a tour, try to arrange some stays before or after the packaged itinerary in some of the other Guyana eco-lodges. Rockview is pleasant, but doesn’t come even close to providing the real interior experiences we most enjoyed other places. Rock View is far less scenic and the staff, unlike the staff everywhere else, seemed rather glum and comparitively less eager to please.

Tip: Although there is a gift shop on the grounds, you might want to take a short stroll down the road to a very small village owned-and-operated gift shop with very interesting locally-made items. Be sure to have someone at Rock View call ahead so the place can open up for you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TalltrekkerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Rock View Lodge is an established establishment. The air strip for Annai is located right out front and the Lodge itself is a multi-tasking location with it's own cashew tree acreage, green garden, on site fruit trees including Mango, Passion Fruit and a few I could not name. Seasoned guides can take you professional birders to view the amazing number of Guyana birds flying about. The rooms are very well appointed and the staff very friendly and helpful. Food goes from better than average to could be better with a consistancy problem but overall everything is palatable. An Oasis in a remote land indeed. By all accounts a good stop with the owner telling the stories of the area nightly over some good Guyanese Rum, accompanied with roasted cashews, onion rings and other treats. A good story teller and certainly considered an area icon. After some high adventure in jungle resorts the Rock View stands out as a super clean retreat for a rest up before either leaving the area or just upon entry.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bentley1Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annai
0.0 mi away
Baganara Island Resort
Baganara Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bartica
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aruwai Resort White H2O
Aruwai Resort White H2O
#2 of 2 in Bartica
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iwokrama River Lodge
Iwokrama River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Iwokrama Forest
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock View Lodge

Address: North Rupununi, Annai, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo > Annai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Annai
Price Range: $180 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock View Lodge is an oasis in Guyana's interior, the perfect jumping-off point for exploring Guyana's nature-rich rainforests and savannas. Fourteen en-suite rooms provide some of the area's best accommodation, situated in a shady compound that includes a small gift shop, pool, sandy volleyball court, bar, provisions store, and dining area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rock View Lodge Guyana/Annai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing