We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and relaxing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Praia das Ondas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pousada Praia das Ondas
Ranked #1 of 11 Itacimirim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 wonderful days at this beautiful and well organized pousada. High quality service, excellent breakbast and great restaurant at very reasonable prices. The infinite pool is very nice and the endless beach breeze is very relaxing. Will definetly return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    120
    14
    1
    5
See reviews for
105
158
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at this pousada for a few days over Christmas.

There is nothing bad to say about the room, which was clean and had good air-conditioning, in addition to a very welcome hammock on the porch.

The only less than perfect aspect was that since the place was very busy for Christmas we felt that the restaurant sometimes got a bit too crowded and the service got slowed down. Also the staff, despite being polite enough, have very rudimentary English skills (most of the clients were Brazilian though, so I guess that makes sense).

The beach outside the pousada is very nice to walk along, and there are very few people. There are two swimming pools that are very well kept. It is possible to walk to the small town nearby to by groceries.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willmcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place is secure, cozy, green, quiet and well-looked-after.

We loved the bungalows and think they allow for much greater appreciation of the tropical landscape than hotel rooms.

If you just want to relax and be with yourself and the nature, this place is for you.

The only weak element seems to be the hotel restaurant. The wait for meals is rather long and the only meals they seem to make really well are the traditional dishes. I would not venture into other dishes again, like pastas or salads.

A tip: there is a large supermarket with everything just across the highway.

Room Tip: Bungalows near the entrance are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

While travelling around Brazil, the quality and size of the various pousadas varied enormously. Praia das Ondas is at the top end of that scale, without being expensive. Located in Itacimirim, it's close enough to Praia do Forte (the nearby touristy town with lots of restaurants and shops), yet located remotely enough to be truly peaceful.

The room we booked (the Superior Suite) was only slightly more expensive than other rooms, but the double balcony and sea view made it an easy choice. The room was very spacious and the solar heated water never posed an issue, as we always had hot water! Wifi was included as well, which is very helpful if you're travelling around. We did have an issue with our TV and safe not working when we arrived, but these were fixed very quickly!

The pousada has it's own beach access and a pool with differing depths to accommodate adults and children alike. One note, you will need to bring your own towels for the pool, as these are not provided by the pousada.

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the restaurant for both the included breakfast and the additional dinner menu, especially if you don't want to drive to a neighbouring town for food.

The only downside I could find was that there was rarely anyone at reception that could speak any English, although this didn't really cause too many issues!

Praia das Ondas was without question the best place we stayed during our whole trip to Brazil, so don't hesitate to give it a try. Also, the pictures provided by the management don't do it justice - it really is a lovely place!

Room Tip: For the additional money, the Superior Suite is well worth it, especially as our first floor room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cell-gfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice landscape good to rest and be in love the rooms are very good and clean
The restaurant have tradicional local food
Very close to praia do forte and there are a beautiful village that have a litlle down town plenty of good restaurants. Shops and gifts

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikaabras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for three days and had a wonderful relaxing time here! The rooms are big and look like nice cottages lying in a wonderful big garden. Also the swimmingpool is superb. The location is right next to the beach. You can also book a nice massage at your cottage or at the pool; a mustdo!
Prices are much higher than in the north, but it's worth it. Also the staff is so friendly, really nice.
The center of Praia da forze is located about 5km from the pousada, you have some nice shops &restaurants here. When we were here the streets are deserted after 23.00 (probably because of low season). You can also rent mountainbikes here for the Sapiranga forest, very nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missjay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here, it is a lovely pousada with 2 pools, a restaurant with a good selection of varied meals at a very reasonable price, the property is set up around a wonderfully maintained garden. There is also direct access to the beach. The owners are really friendly and speak english. We stayed here as we couldn't justify the price in Praia Do Forte, which is a 15 minute taxi ride anyway- you only really need one day to explore that town anyway.
Rooms are big, spacious, really comfy bed and you have cooking facilities if you want to make your own meals.
The patio area has a hammock, we moved our little table and chairs onto the patio and had our dinner delivered to our room a couple of the nights we were there!
Highly recommend for a relaxing time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Levilouicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itacimirim
3.1 mi away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
9.5 mi away
Pousada Capitu
Pousada Capitu
#1 of 4 in Imbassai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pousada Jambo
Pousada Jambo
#2 of 11 in Itacimirim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pousada da Espera
Pousada da Espera
#4 of 11 in Itacimirim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Itacimirim Praia Hotel
Itacimirim Praia Hotel
#6 of 11 in Itacimirim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Jardim Cambui
Pousada Jardim Cambui
#7 of 11 in Itacimirim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Praia das Ondas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Praia das Ondas

Property: Pousada Praia das Ondas
Address: Rua Principal de Itacimirim, 60, Itacimirim, State of Bahia 42823-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Itacimirim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Itacimirim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Praia das Ondas 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Praia das Ondas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Praia Das Ondas Brazil/Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing