We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax after travelling through Brazil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Praia das Ondas
Ranked #1 of 11 Itacimirim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Best
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place to relax after travelling through Brazil”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in the Pousa four days after travelling through Brazil.

We felt very welcome, and had a great time. The first night we arrived rather late, and the restaurant was closed, but they saved some food for us, so we at least had something to eat. Very thoughtful!

The room we stayed in was not big, but had everything we needed. A good shower, a good bed, a safe (although we felt we did no really need one) and a nice hang mat on the deck.

The restaurant was serving great food. Always fresh and good portions for a fair price. Staff was friendly, and enjoying their work.

The pousada has its own beach with palm trees and beds. Very clean, close to the sea and the sea turtle reservate. The ocean is clean and warm, and you could play in the big waves. If you do not like big waves, there are two pools in the pousada that are clean, warm and wet as well...

You can walk for many miles on the beach. To the north until the river of Praia da Forta, to the south almost all the way to Salvador.

We would certainly recommend this place to anybody who wants to relax, away from the massive toerism.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeMies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    125
    16
    1
    5
See reviews for
110
160
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We found the Pousada Praia Das Ondas when we were staying in Praia do Forte just 5 km up the coast. I had a look at google maps and saw this one pop up on what looked to be a fairly big beach. As it turns out its a huge beach and in the 3 days we've been here we've literally seen no more than 4 people on the beach at any one time (as far as the eye can see)... which although a little strange was a completely amazing experience. Most of the time it was just completely empty. The surroundings are extremely quiet so if nightlife and parties are what you are seeking then head to Praia Do Forte. If serious R&R is the order of the day then come here.

Ger the owner was very efficient at getting us settled (and multi lingual which helps a lot in this part of the world as most people do not speak any English!) and we occupied one of the bungalows.
The rooms were all clean and very comfortable with well maintained furniture and fittings. A lovely stay in a small pousada with 2 swimming pools and direct access to an incredible beach. Our bedroom had good airconditioning and a very comfortable bed.

On the website it says surfboards are available but this is not the case (apparently they kept breaking!) which was a real shame as the surfbreak on the beach was onto sand (not like in most of Bahia) and as a beginner I think it would have been a perfect place to learn to stand up better! (for all you pro surfers out there the break itself is quite short so don't get your expectations too high!)

Local shops are at least a ten minutes walk away and again they are nothing to write home about. Where the shops of Praia Do Forte are extremely high end and high priced... I guess you could say the shops near Praia Das Ondas are the opposite!

The food in the restaurant is fairly good and well priced. We walked the beach to some other pousadas for lunch which was a nice break away and a good walk.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank purenrg4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasilia df
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Itacimirim is a beach placed 5 km from the "Praia do Forte" beach, with clean sands, warm water and very few people.
Pousada Praia das Ondas has 29 dormitories, with variable sizes, all with refrigerators, some also including oven, managed by a couple, a brazilian lady and a netherland guy. The place virtues are its location, between Praia do Forte and Guarajuba, about 48km from Salvador airport connected by a safe road; the beautifiul and clean beach of Praia da Ondas with fine sands and warm waters and the natural kindness of the owners and staff that gives character to the place.
Cons: Although the Pousada has a regular restaurant, with low prices, it doesn't give an experience of the cousine of Bahia, and there are not many options in Itacimirim. Also, calling a regular taxi can turn into a real challenge and prices are variable.
I suggest this place for families and couples looking for an almost deserted beach. In advance, people should consider renting a car or asking for transfer when making reservation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernardodf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevenaar, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

The pousada Praia das Ondas is designed to make you feel right at home from the moment you step foot on the lawn. Don't expect any entertainment or activities - the place is very quiet and tranquil. Bring your book and lie down. You come here to relax and that is the only thing you can do.

The cottages are all painted in bright colours which makes it look very friendly and cosy. The rooms are basic but clean. The cottages are centered around a small central area with a volleyball field, a small pool with a terrace, a garden, the restaurant and a sun terrace with a few deck chairs. It's all nice, clean and friendly looking. Oh, and there's free wi-fi.

The restaurant is okay - a small menu with a few local and a few international dishes. The food tastes wonderful though and the price is right. The staff is friendly and Maria will go out of her way to arrange for whatever you need.
The beach is quiet - no vendors or other activity going on. You can walk on the beach to the nearby village of Itacimirim but don't expect too much entertainment there either. The staff can arrange for a taxi to nearby Praia do Forte, a touristy little town centered around the Projeto TAMAR - a research and rescue centre for sea turtles.

One more thing. Don't go here if you don't like dogs. There are four big dogs walking around - I think they're mostly guard dogs. They're very friendly and they like to keep you company and just sit with you but if you're scared or allergic even that can be too much. Just keep it in mind.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaldBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itacimirim
0.8 mi away
Pousada da Espera
Pousada da Espera
#4 of 11 in Itacimirim
219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pousada Jambo
Pousada Jambo
#2 of 11 in Itacimirim
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Jardim Cambui
Pousada Jardim Cambui
#7 of 11 in Itacimirim
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pousada Mar de Luz
Pousada Mar de Luz
#6 of 11 in Itacimirim
3 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vila Gale Mares
Vila Gale Mares
#1 of 6 in Camacari
3,245 reviews
0.6 mi away
B Blue Beachouses
B Blue Beachouses
#1 of 7 in Itacimirim
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Praia das Ondas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Praia das Ondas

Property: Pousada Praia das Ondas
Address: Rua Principal De Itacimirim, No 60 Lot., Itacimirim, State of Bahia 42823-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Itacimirim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Itacimirim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Praia das Ondas 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Praia das Ondas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Praia Das Ondas Brazil/Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing