We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brunnholl Country Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brunnholl Country Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 4 Hornafjorour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice place !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed for one night in this hotel in June 2011 during our two week iceland tour.

Our room (private facilities) was nice and spacious, if a bit dusty. Receptionnist was very friendly, but couldn't say the same of the owner.

Hotel offers free wireless internet.

We didn't eat in this place, although alternatives are pretty far off (30km~to Höfn). The drive to Höfn is nice with lots of birds, horses and even reindeer to keep you busy along the way.

Breakfast was fine !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowwisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
31
79
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
drachten
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

My wife and I have stayed for one night and we enjoyed our stay, Good breakfest and nice rooms. But for a thermo with hot water you had to pay, so we ordered coffee for the same price! But this was during our pleasent visit the one and only place where you where charged for hot water. But I would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retep982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

It's a nice location. The rooms were a bit basic but thats okay. The shower in both of our rooms did not appear to be very clean. We were booked in for dinner and were very disappointed with it. Our kids only had soup and dessert and they charged us full price for them. When I mentioned it, the owner just changed the subject. We would not stay here again and would not recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

The room itself was pretty basic though spacious. Pretty new building.

The best part of this place were the hosts and the setting. It was lovely getting to meet their Icelandic horses! Breafast was in their kitchen and was very nice. Felt very homely.

My favorite accommodation in Iceland!

  • Liked — setting, hosts
  • Disliked — a bit basic
Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
Thank Daniel5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornafjorour
9.9 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
2.1 mi away
Nypugardar Guesthouse
Nypugardar Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Hornafjorour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Hali Country Hotel
Hali Country Hotel
#2 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
8.1 mi away
Guesthouse Skalafell
7.3 mi away
Apotek Guesthouse
Apotek Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Hofn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunnholl Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunnholl Country Guesthouse

Property: Brunnholl Country Guesthouse
Address: Brunnholl, Hornafjorour 781, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hornafjorour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hornafjorour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse has 24 double and triple rooms as well as family rooms of hotel standard, all with private facilities. Two rooms are certified with facilities for the disabled and people with restricted mobility. Breakfast is included in room price and in the evening a dinner buffet is available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brunnholl Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunnholl Country Guesthouse Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing