We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gauksmyri
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Laugarbakki(Hvammstangi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hof i Vatnsdal(Blonduos)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Hotel Blanda(Blonduos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Varmahlid(Varmahlid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foss Aning Hotel(Saudarkrokur)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mikligardur(Saudarkrokur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tindastoll(Saudarkrokur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
41
57
44
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
57
44
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse farmicelandic horseshorse meatbeautiful horsesdining roomsouphorse loverring roadnice lodgearctic charcozy atmospherelovely viewlarge bathroomstayed one nightafter a long daynice roomcomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 163 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here in 2009 and enjoyed it so much that when we planned our 2013 trip we booked it again.

Nice people, very clean and modern hotel. The rooms are a bit small but we're only ever in the room to sleep, so what does it really matter.

Great food for dinner and breakfast. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jkingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stopped for lunch with a tour group. Served an outstanding local buffet. Service was friendly and prompt. Did not stay, but there was no way to enter just the food as a restaurant. Saw the horse show after lunch. The horse meat was excellent, tasty and tender.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Its been a pleasure to stay at Gauksmyri. Staff there is extremely nice and very, very helpful. We stayed in a room for four. Lovely and comfortable beds, very clean. The views around are stunning so it was a pleasure to have our meal in their bar/restaurant area. They have got horses so if you fancy a ride that's the place to be.
There is a short drive to next door village if you need any help with a punctured tyre :) or stock up with food and drinks for later on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPOBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed 2 nights and wanted to stay for at least 3 more but of course it was all fully booked. With help from the staff I found a place nearby so we(my daughters and I) can come back daily for a riding tour on our new friends Rejkor, Dora and Hoeddi(and to eat). We where lucky to find this lovely place, It is really perfect for a family holiday with lots a activities and space for kids to be outside. We enjoyed many meals here and it was the best we had in all iceland and I dare to say best holiday food I ever had. Everything is homemade and fresh and the personsal service is superb. We got custom made lunch packages with new baked bread every day. Thank you Kristen!
I really recommend this place. It is genuine, makes you feel at home, staff is very helpful and friendly and the horses lovely. Come here to ride and eat and the bonus is.... it is a hotel so you do not have to leave!!!

Room Tip: We got very nice rooms on the first floor in the left wing. We really love the horses theme!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed 1 night here in July 2013. Yes the room is small but it was clean. We arrived late and the kitchen staff was getting ready to leave for the night. However, they readily accepted to serve us coffee and cake before they left. We enjoyed out stay here and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OntarioTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews