We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to relax”
Review of Gauksmyri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gauksmyri
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Its been a pleasure to stay at Gauksmyri. Staff there is extremely nice and very, very helpful. We stayed in a room for four. Lovely and comfortable beds, very clean. The views around are stunning so it was a pleasure to have our meal in their bar/restaurant area. They have got horses so if you fancy a ride that's the place to be.
There is a short drive to next door village if you need any help with a punctured tyre :) or stock up with food and drinks for later on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPOBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed 2 nights and wanted to stay for at least 3 more but of course it was all fully booked. With help from the staff I found a place nearby so we(my daughters and I) can come back daily for a riding tour on our new friends Rejkor, Dora and Hoeddi(and to eat). We where lucky to find this lovely place, It is really perfect for a family holiday with lots a activities and space for kids to be outside. We enjoyed many meals here and it was the best we had in all iceland and I dare to say best holiday food I ever had. Everything is homemade and fresh and the personsal service is superb. We got custom made lunch packages with new baked bread every day. Thank you Kristen!
I really recommend this place. It is genuine, makes you feel at home, staff is very helpful and friendly and the horses lovely. Come here to ride and eat and the bonus is.... it is a hotel so you do not have to leave!!!

Room Tip: We got very nice rooms on the first floor in the left wing. We really love the horses theme!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed 1 night here in July 2013. Yes the room is small but it was clean. We arrived late and the kitchen staff was getting ready to leave for the night. However, they readily accepted to serve us coffee and cake before they left. We enjoyed out stay here and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OntarioTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I am not the one to write rewiews but I think this place deserves all good publicity it can get. Me and my boyfriend where looking for a place to stay, try local food and if possible try to ride icelandic horses. We feel at home from the start after meeting a very nice lady from the staff at the parkinglot who told us stories about the area and helped us to plan the next two days and she was fluent in SWEDISH! We enjoyed a fantastic meal with a very nice salatbar, Best selection of greens sofar in iceland, the meat was super even though it was a bit scary to eat horse but it taste very good. Best of all was the homemade fresh bread and the great chokoladcake we got as a desert. I really really recomend this restaurant! Room was cosy, warm and clean and breakfast fresh. We enjoyed the farm with the "family" feeling and all animals everywhere. We talked to the hens and looked at horses. We where also very lucky to see a horse show, very interesting to learn about the icelandic horse. Well done!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lovely place! Very cosy interial with lots of artworks mostly horse themed. Lovely surrounding with lots of nice views. Terrific food with a genorus salat bar which is not so common in iceland. Very friendly and helpful staff. I got a nice chat with the lovley cook who kindly told me all about riding icelandic horses and making the best bread I have ever taste! A custom made tomato/garlek yeast bread. I really recomned this place and am looking forward to come again for a longer stay with horse riding.

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing the front is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We could not book the hotel on line because it was fully booked but when we called we got a reservation immediately.
The hotel is located in a horse farm with beautiful view over the valley.
The first thing we were asked upon checking in was to remove our shoes or cover them with a plastic cover like in hospitals or clean rooms. It made us feel uncomfortable. Needless to say that we had to move in the hotel with the shoe cover or with in room hotel slippers all the time.
The room was clean but extremely small, there areonly 40 centimeters from each side of the bed and 80 centimeters in front of the bed and that is all.
Dining room is nice with glass walls toward the view.
Dinner was nothing to right home about with a fix buffet menu.
Breakfast was extremely poor, they served sardines that were taken out of the can, I expected more (and also got more at other Icelandic hotels).
For what we payed it was a big disappointment.
The place really has potential, without the "shoes mania" and with a better cook (even with the small room) everything could look different.
I would recommend avoiding this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a lovely place to stay, can't praise it highly enough.

The place itself is smart and clean with very pleasant rooms and facilities. The staff are simply lovely, very helpful and very welcoming. Outside shoes are removed in reception and guest slippers are provided to keep the floors clean and feet warm. Wifi is provided free of charge, although this is quite a slow connection, but I was surprised to find any connection at all this far out in the wilderness. A desk top computer is also provided for guests to use in a quiet area near reception.

The rooms are not large but are very well appointed with lovely en-suite 'wet room'. Rooms were very clean and were warm too - outside temperatures were very cold.

Eating there was a joy, the dining room was lovely - light and airy with panoramic windows looking out into the icy wilderness of Iceland. Food was plentiful and very enjoyable and they provided us with the most wonderful packed lunches.

Nights were very quiet and the beds very comfortable resulting in a very restful night.

Room Tip: From what I saw, all of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oracle_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hvammstangi hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Laugarbakki
Hotel Laugarbakki
#1 of 1 in Hvammstangi
136 reviews
5.2 mi away
North West Hotel
North West Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hvammstangi
64 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Hvammstangi
Hotel Hvammstangi
#2 of 6 in Hvammstangi
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Guesthouse Hofdabraut
Guesthouse Hofdabraut
#6 of 10 in Hvammstangi
5 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hvammstangi Cottages
Hvammstangi Cottages
#1 of 10 in Hvammstangi
117 reviews
5.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hvammstangi Hostel
#7 of 10 in Hvammstangi
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gauksmyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gauksmyri

Address: Gauksmyri 531, Hvammstangi 531, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northwest Region > Hvammstangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hvammstangi
Price Range: $121 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gauksmyri 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Gauksmyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gauksmyri Iceland/Hvammstangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing