We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible in EVERY way

From the warm welcome by Klara to the incredible skills of the captain this trip is an absolute... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
gizago
,
Chester, United Kingdom
via mobile
We Were Surrounded by Whales!

Every direction we could see whales spouting in the middle distance. The boat would take us right... read more

Reviewed October 30, 2018
Burning_wanderlust
,
Birmingham
Read all 407 reviews
  
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
210
22
3
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
22
3
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales cod whale watching arctic sea tours amazing experience fresh fish hot chocolate biscuits warm suits fast boat snails small group the entire experience staff were excellent fun ride fishing rods knew where
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the warm welcome by Klara to the incredible skills of the captain this trip is an absolute must!

We really felt like we were on an expedition dressed for Arctic conditions crunching through the layer of ice on the sea as we left port.

We saw the whales that was emotional.

Later we caught a few cod ourselves and Klara taught us how to fillet them. We then cooked then on a b-b-q back at base.

What an adventure!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank gizago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

Loved this whale watching trip. We wanted to see whales but were hesitant because of the fact that it’s already mid October. We still decided to give it a try. We got super warm overalls and saw plenty of whales! The captain was trying very hard to give us the best views and the entire crew did a fantastic job during the entire trip. Our boat only caught one fish during the 30 min fishing, so they prepared sashimi instead of BBQ. Everybody got a piece of this super fresh fish. Would recommend Arctic Sea Tours to anyone!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Jackiemohro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

This was by far the best whale watching we have EVER done and we have done whale watching all over the world (Australia, New Zealand, Alaska, Chile etc.). We got up so so close to the whales it was incredible. The tour provided a one piece full length weather suite which provides good warmth but still bring a hat, gloves and neck warmer. At the end of the tour we caught Icelandic cod and tasted the grilled fish when back on shore.

We had a rental car and were staying in Akureyi so it was an easy day trip. Dalvik is much closer then Husavik which is the other whaling location.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

I guess this review is tempered by the fact that the weather was stunning (-4 Celsius with clear skies and bright sunshine). The tour doesnt leave the fjord so you have views of the surrounding snow covered mountains the whole time. Staff were excellent - father and daughter team. He drives the boat, she tells you everything you need to know, skillfully filets fish and is a pretty decent bbq chef!
Had one very obliging humpback whale who made several appearances and flicked its tail nicely.
15 mins of fishing which was long enough to catch enough cod for the whole boat to have a nibble then back to base for a fish bbq. Really lovely morning out!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

if I could give 0 stars I would. booked the whale watching tour the night before, 2 of the tours showed sold out but the time we wanted was available, delighted! missed a few sightseeing stops in order to get to Dalvik at the appointed time..to be told it had been cancelled.
the lady at the desk said I should have received a cancellation email.. which I hadn't. she looked it up on the system "ah we sent out the email before you booked...but we didnt cancel the facility to book a tour, which should have been done"
enquired about the refund.."I'll refund you later today but it's hard to get the money back.. could be ten days they say"
So beware, they are happy to take bookings and money for tours they have already cancelled..no alternative offered, nothing. Completely understand that tours get cancelled due to weather.. but the blaise attitude and complete incompetence means I would give this company a wide berth. day ruined.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Shona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed. Arrived to be told our sailing was cancelled. That's fine, weather happens. However, we were informed that we should not have been able to book on their website the night before, that the sailing was cancelled by the time we booked it. Unfortunately we were able to book it, the website/company were happy to take our money even though it 'should not have happened'. Well...we drove out of our way, spent €150, but none of that should have happened apparently. For future visitors, do not trust their website. Even if the sailing is already cancelled, they'll let you book as if everything is fine. We received no cancellation email and it will be at least 2 weeks before we get that money back.The woman behind the desk wasn't even very reassuring about our money, it was as if we were a burden. Poor form Arctic Sea Tours, Dalvik.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews