We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arctic Sea Tours Whale Watching
Save
Review Highlights
Whale watching winner!

These people really know their stuff!! From the outset it was obvious that the crew had an affinity... read more

Reviewed November 30, 2019
Janet M
Traveler

It wasn't the nicest of days for whale watching. Warm clothes are a must for this tour. The captain... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2019
855kylar
,
Ponoka, Canada
via mobile
Read all 443 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dalvik
from $143.49
More Info
from $1,397.65
More Info
from $1,823.94
More Info
from $2,344.87
More Info
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
380
42
7
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
380
42
7
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish an amazing experience saw humpback whales filet caught catch crew boat blow expectations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 443 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our family of 7 wanted to see whales and since we had 5 children we needed to be sure they would be able to see through the crowd. We were recommended Dalvik by an activity broker. They were perfect. We were all given one piece wet weather suits, including our 3 year old. Kids got life jackets. Other customers on the boat all helped watch the kids kept safe yet saw whales. We had a humpback swim under the boat. We saw minke, humpbacks and dolphins. I got plenty of amazing photo too. On the wat back in we stopped in the midst of a school of jumping fish& feeding birds and dropped lines over the side. Everyone had an easy time hauling in fish which we watched bringing filleted to then be put on the BBQ when we landed and enjoyed as a meal by all.
I highly recommend this company. They were so professional yet relaxed. It was a wonderful experience.

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank KiwiMumAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We went on a tour while staying in Dalvik, and this was a memorable day.

We got to see from up close a humpback whale, and minke from afar. The humpback played with the boat for around 20 minutes, giving plenty of time to size it.

Before heading back, fishing rods were provided and we had easy time to fish cods, redfishes, haddocks.

Landing back, the captain grilled the catch of the day, for the enjoyment of the guests.

It is a family run business, and outshines the competition in Husavik or Reykjavik with their bigger boats.

Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2012
2  Thank BillGWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Went on this tour and there were about 14 people in total which meant that the hwales could be viewed with ease. There was a good explanation of what we might see. We saw a humpback whale which turned out to be the best whale one acan view as it played around our boat at very close range for about 20 minutes. After that we did some fishing from the boat and caught about 10 fish, mostly cod, haddock, redfish and others, which we were told what they were. We sampled the fish free of charge at the end of the trip and I believe no one offers such a unique experience in Iceland with so much advantages at the cheapest price.

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank geomang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked this whale watching trip as we had checked on Tripadvisor and the reviews were very good. We were not disappointed as we saw a Humpback, Minke and some playful Dolphins in the distance. The crew were very careful not to upset the whale by coasting quietly alongside. After a while when all was clear the fishing rods came out, much to the delight of the men (and a couple of the ladies) on board and some Coalfish and Cod were caught within minutes of casting their rods. We were offered some delicious hot chocolate and cinnamon biscuits, which went down very well. The Captain filleted the fish on board much to the delight of some seabirds who were given the offcuts and when we got to shore the fish was BBQ'd and given out to the passengers. It was the freshest and tastiest fish I have ever had. I would thoroughly recommend this family owned business who really care about the environment and the sea creatures.

Date of experience: July 2012
2  Thank thetogs046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We took the trip on 27th July 2012 and had a fantastic time. We were picked up from the cruise ship and enjoyed the journey across country to get to Dalvic to pick up the boat. Everything went smoothly the weather was beautiful but cold, there was additional warm clothing to borrow. The crew were very helpful, the scenery was stunning. We encountered a large humpback whale and spent a long time watching at a close distance that didn't upset the whale, this was an incredible experience, we also saw a large school of bottle nosed dolphins which played by the boat for a long time. My 11 year old son loved the fishing and was thrilled to catch a fish in the Artic! A fantastic day we will never forget it and would highly recommend it to anyone!

Date of experience: July 2012
2  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews