We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all!”
Review of Beach Cove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach Cove B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2006

I do very much agree as I think all reviewers of the Beach Cove B&B would that this place feels like it's in the middle of nowhere....that's what we loved about it. After spending some time in larger cities, it was nice to change it up a bit. Bridie is the most amazing host and I've stayed in a ton of B&Bs. You can definitely hear the waves crashing and watch catch of a glimpse of the Skelligs from the big bay window where you'll take in breakfast. Accomodations were comfortable and Bridie even offered to let us use her phone to call my father in the US! I do agree, the road is treacherous, but after driving 1200kms, you come to understand that most Irish roads aren't much better and could be worse. There is also a fabulous church/cemetery to explore almost next door. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mcc5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2006

The location of the Beach Cove B&B really is in what can be called a remote area of Southwestern Ireland. However when driving there (it is located about 20 minutes from the Ring of Kerry drive) we never felt unsafe or in the middle of nowhere. There were signs of human life everywhere:-) (compared to some parts of Southwestern USA). By the way, there are serveral roads leading to the B&B - some might not be on the map you are using. There is a direct way to Valencia Island and a cost line to Ballinskelligs.

Whe getting to the B&B we were astonished by the great view across the ocean. We got one of the top ensuite rooms with a big window facing the ocean. There was even a little sitting place right by the window where we sat and what the ocean for hours. Leaving the Ring of Kerry sure was worth it because we didn't find this ring itself quite as great as other rings and coast roads we had taken before. This additional ring (sorry forgot the name) passing the B&B is in our opinion much nicer and more interesting. Valencia Island was great, too. We sat in the sun on a bench by the port and watched the car ferry for a while. There really is a mediteraneen feeling to the island and Kingstown in particular.

The B&B was nicely furnished and perfectly clean. Make sure to book ahead of time. Bridie told us that July and August are almost full (but only almost) because there are many guests who return each year and book a year ahead. The price of €60 for two people was absolutely reasonable for the nice room - the view really was amazing - and the very good breakfast. Bridie was a really nice and welcoming innkeeper. We highly recommand this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hatschii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2006

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying with Bridie and her family in March. Our story is unusual because, on the way to her house, we lost the clutch in our rental car. We literally coasted into her driveway and, while it's true she's out in the middle of nowhere, let me assure you, I was never happier than when I saw her driveway come into view.

We told Bridie our story, and she immediately assisted us in getting through to the rental car company. Then, she kindly offered to take my daughter and I into town, since it was going to be 4-5 hours before our new car would arrive. Later, when the driver couldn't find her home in the pitch dark, she jumped in her own car and went out to find him and bring him back. Bridie was nothing short of a Godsend.

As for her home, it was lovely, and just like the pictures. It is situated right across from a lovely beach, with beautiful views of the bay. You could hear the surf from your window, and smell the lovely salt air. Everything was spotless and well cared for.

There are great walks nearby, including a rigorous hill that overlooks the bay and a lovely old church and graveyard. And, while some would characterize this as anything but a destination location, I would prefer to think of this area as relatively untouched by the newer "progressive" Ireland -- by that, I mean that the slower more personal way of doing things obviously still matters.

Breakfast was great, especially inasmuch as you would have it overlooking the majestic views. The Slea Head Loop is a great drive as well (although I do agree with a prior reviewer that, at least at night, some of these roads require nerves of steel).

All in all, I don't think you could go wrong staying with Bridie if your travels take you to this lovely part of Ireland.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick_Frechette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2006

We stayed at this B & B because my father wanted to go to Skellig Rock. The B & B is very lovely and private and the owner is just delightful. Breakfast was wonderful and Bridie actually sat and visited with us. She also upgraded my room to an en suite after we arrived and I realized I would sharing a communal bathroom. The B & B is right on the beach and the website is exactly what it looks like. That being said, unless you have a specifc reason for going there like the Skelligs, there is absolutely nothing around. There is a town about 15-20 minutes away with a very scary one way road that you wouldn't want to drive at night. So I was very bored and couldn't wait to leave the next day. And the weather was so foggy that we weren't able to go to the islands anyways. Very desolate location....

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank riley3!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2006

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this awesome B&B in March of 2005. While laying in bed we watched the waves hitting the beach each morning.

Bridie was incredibly kind and very helpful. She always had a good suggestion for everything from where to eat in the area to the easiest and the most beautiful ways to get to Killarny - and there are several ways to get there from here.

She is a great cook and our breakfasts overlooking the beach with the waves rolling in are something that we will forever treasure.

We hope to visit again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catzcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2005

If you are staying in the south of Ireland and want a great experience stay at the Beachcove Bed & Breakfast. The house is clean and beautiful. The owners were wonderful to us and Bridie is a great cook. Try her brown bread - you will be spoiled. Beachcove sits across the road from a beautiful beach and the scenery is fantastic.

1  Thank Kinsley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Monique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinskelligs
7.1 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
276 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tig an Rince
Tig an Rince
#1 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
115 reviews
3.1 mi away
Seaside B & B
Seaside B & B
#3 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Skellig Hostel
Skellig Hostel
#1 of 3 in Ballinskelligs
63 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
70 reviews
3.0 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#2 of 9 in Valentia Island
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Cove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cove B&B

Address: St. Finnian's Bay | Beach Cove, Ballinskelligs, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballinskelligs
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballinskelligs
Price Range: $176 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Cove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Cove Hotel Ballinskelligs
Beach Cove Bed And Breakfast
Beach Cove B&B Ireland/Ballinskelligs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing