We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Cove B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Glanleam House(Valentia Island)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ring of Kerry Hotel(Cahersiveen)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort(Kenmare)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$331
$321
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beara Coast Hotel(Castletownbere)
$140
$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Towers Hotel(Glenbeigh)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
157
12
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
12
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadb bskellig islandssound of the wavesthe ownera higher ratingdinner suggestionsmemorable staylovely placethree nightsfabulous viewsbed and breakfastpancakesskellig ringexcellent hostsjackocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 172 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed there for 2 night and had booked the cottage which the travel books advertise as having a kitchen and being ideal for families. When we arrived Bridie told us she had a cancellation and she had moved us into the house. We told her we wanted to stay in the cottage and she told us people were staying in it. We stayed in the house the first night in 2 very small rooms (not big enough to walk aroung with suitcases on floor) and then the cottage was available the 2nd night - much nicer for a family but the "kitchen" is really only a fridge and microwave (there is an oven with cooktop but is not hooked up!) We would have been much happier in the cottage for 2 nights - not sure why she changed our reservation but she was not very kind or sympathetic to us about her own mistake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bellaraegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This place place bouts the best view in the county and it was a very nice view. You park at the B&B, then walk a ways, passing a hay field to the cliff for the breath taking view. My only complain, it is a little expensive and over priced but worth it. We did meet a couple who stopped to see the view but they refused to pay because it was highway robbery.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MikLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

This B&B is a bit off the beaten track, but that's exactly why we wanted to stay there. It has a fabulous location right on St. Finian's Bay and the views from our room and the breakfast room were fabulous! The rate of 30 euros per person per night was a great rate and the lowest we paid on our trip.

Our room was large and had windows which offered views of the bay. The room was large enough for a couple of upholstered chairs, which we used for reading in the evening as we didn't see a sitting room. The bed was quite comfortable and I slept well. It was also very quiet.

Our host, Bridie, provided us with information on where to eat in the area (the Bridge Bar in Portmagee, which had good pub grub) and offered to make reservations for us for a boat to Skellig Michael, but we had already arranged our own. (Unfortunately, the weather was not good enough for the trip.) She was most accommodating during our stay.

Breakfast was good with a choice of cereal, yogurt and fruit available. (She even had some stewed rhubarb which was a treat.) We also got pitchers of orange juice, rather than just a mere glass of OJ that we got in some other B&B's. There was a choice of an Irish breakfast or pancakes which I appreciated as I do not eat cooked eggs. The pancakes were served with a nice side of kiwi fruit and berries--delicious!

We returned late to our room on our second night to discover that the beds had not been made nor had we received fresh towels. It was really too late to do anything about it. I assume that some B&B's do this to cut costs, but since our hosts in our previous B&B had tidied the room and provided fresh towels on request, we were a bit disappointed to find that this wasn't done at Beach Cove.

Despite this disappointment, we still enjoyed our stay at Beach Cove very much and I would return there should my travels take me to Ireland again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank longhorn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

First, this is not the easiest B&B to find. We were using a B&B guide book and the GPS coordinates were incorrect. They got us close, but we had to go over another mountain before we arrived. We stopped and asked to local men and they pointed us in the right direction. When we got there, they didn't have anymore rooms available, but Bridie's husband told us we could rent the guest house if we wanted (we were traveling with another couple). The guest house was situated right behind the main home, and had 2 full baths, a full kitchen, a sitting area and one bedroom upstairs and one downstairs. It was fantastic. It still had a view of the St. Finian's Bay as well. After we dropped our luggage off, we needed to go and get dinner and to find a cash point. Our host brought us a map and drew out the route to the nearest cash point as well as a place we could get dinner over in the neighboring town of Portmagee.

Our bed was extremely comfortable and the bedroom/bathroom was extremely clean. This was definitely one of the nicest B&Bs I have ever stayed in. Breakfast was terrific, and Bridie helped us find a route to take us north to Co. Clare by giving us maps and information about the ferry service from Tarbert to Kilimer (cuts 2 hours off the drive!). This was also one of the most reasonable B&Bs we stayed in, with a cost of 30 Euro/person.

Parking is free in their widened driveway and they have internet access (just ask for the wireless pass).

The location of this B&B is not easy to find initially, but the views once you arrive are definitely worth it. You have a view of the Skellig islands, a huge beach right in front of the B&B and a picturesque drive to the nearest towns. I highly recommend this B&B for anyone traveling the Ring of Kerry. We will be back next year for certain!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Had a wonderful stay a couple of days ago.Location was fab, on its own sandy cove amidst beautiful scenery.Rooms were comfortable,ensuite had good power shower.Beds were very comfy,both ourselves and our two kids had very sound nights sleep.Tremendous to fall asleep and wake to the sound of the waves washing ashore outside.
Owners were very welcoming and informative about things to do and where to go in the surrounding area.Breakfast offered a wide choice from cereals to full cooked to great variety of fruit and yogurt.Weather was outstanding,warm and sunny enough for our kids to get in the ocean.
Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaritaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews