We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Epitome of a great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old School House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old School House B&B
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Epitome of a great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed for one night at The Old School House. As we parked up we were met outside by Dominick with a welcoming smile and some good humored banter. The house is very homely with a relaxing atmosphere, our room was clean and very comfortable. We had a lovely breakfast and some great conversation with Dominick and Lillian. When we departed our only regret was that we were not staying for longer.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
17
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Had an excellent one night stay here over the Easter weekend!

We stayed here as our "base" as we set off to explore Skellig Michael...the morning of our trip out our boat canceled at the last minute, but Dominick and Lillian swung into action and found us an alternative trip instead.

The best pancakes I've ever had in Ireland...and be sure to ask Dominick for a sample of some of his magic tricks...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dubaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Old School House is conveniently located near the Ballinskelligs Pier if one plans to visit the ancient monastic settlement on top of Skellig Michael. The rooms were warm, clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. The Old School House is operated by two of the most genuinely inviting and lovely people you will ever meet. I traveled with a group of three in hopes of taking the boat out to Skellig Michael, unfortunately the weather and ocean swells prevented our goal. But what we thought was a serious downer to our trip turned out to be a moment where unplanned events led to an encounter that our group will cherish forever. On the morning of our planned departure, the owners of the Old School House, Dominic and Lillian, called early to the boat men to see if the weather allowed the trip. When they found out the bad news, they made sure to tell us before we traveled to the docks. Good thing they did, because we avoided getting wet in the rain. Dominic and Lillian, being gracious hosts, cooked us up a wonderful breakfast and entertained us with great conversation. They stoked up the fire and allowed us to play with their new puppy. We ended up talking til noon. I have traveled a fair amount, and I always place Ireland up at the top of my favorite places in the world due to two reasons. First, the natural beauty will take your breath away. Second, the people of Ireland are warm, charming and love their country. Dominic and Lillian are perfect examples of the amazing Irish hospitality. Thank you both for a wonderful time, and we all hope to meet you again in our travels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bart0s10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed for four nights at The Old School House and can only say how much I enjoyed my stay. Dominick and Lillian were very welcoming, friendly and hospitable and the house was homely and set in a very beautiful area. It's a great area for walking and thanks to Dominick and Lillian, who kindly drove me to a few different places, I was able to see a lot more than I expected to without a car. Overall I would say: lovely company, good atmosphere, delicious food and great setting. I definitely hope to go again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LindyJane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Balinskeligs is a beautiful peaceful scenic area with lovely beaches, Great place to get away from the world suitable for anyone who enjoy the outdoors walking cycling etc.. It is close to Cahiersveen town which has nice pubs and restaurants. I really enjoyed my stay there and was very welcomed by Lillian and Dominick 0 Byrne. I was very much entertained at night as they had music craic and stories. I look forward to returning there soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elainehoulihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Würzburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Great hospitality - when we arrived, quite hungry, Dominic prepared some delicious fish for us. We spent the evening together with our hosts in the spacious lounge, chatting away for hours in front of the fireplace. A very warm welcome and atmosphere, which really made the difference - we will definitely come back, next time for a bit longer. Excellent for people who want to get in touch with locals, get helpful advice which places to visit or want to get acquainted with the Irish way of life.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThomasBehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostersund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed with Dom and Lill last year and had a ball with them. Good atmosphere, great company and excellent food! Apart from having all the 'comforts of home' we got a whole pile of friendliness and good heartedness and alot extra thrown in as an unexpected bonus. Can recommend The Old School House to anyone. Looking forward to my next visit. I'll be going back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grant44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinskelligs
1.9 mi away
Tig an Rince
Tig an Rince
#1 of 5 in Ballinskelligs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
6.0 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 18 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.9 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Beach Cove B&B
Beach Cove B&B
#2 of 5 in Ballinskelligs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaside B & B
Seaside B & B
#3 of 5 in Ballinskelligs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skellig Hostel
Skellig Hostel
#1 of 3 in Ballinskelligs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House B&B

Property: The Old School House B&B
Address: The Old School House The Old School House The Old School House | Barrys Cross, Ballinskelligs Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballinskelligs
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ballinskelligs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old School House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the rolling hills of Kerry, in the southwest corner of Ireland by the wild Atlantic Way and the dark sky reserve in the most scenic and peaceful part of Ireland, there you will find The Old School House. A lovingly restored old school house with 7 guest rooms, this cozy inn offers you a place of refuge from the hustle of the every day world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your The Old School House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School House B&B Ireland/Ballinskelligs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing