We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“that extra mile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballinskelligs Boats

Ballinskelligs Boats
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The fastest day trips to land at Skellig Michael depart from Ballinskelligs pier each day at 11am. We also operate the only covered boat to Skelligs. Only 150 persons are allowed to land at this UNESCO world heritage site daily.The monks originally departed from Ballinskelligs in the 6th century and settled back at the Abbey in the 12th century. We also offer diving trips in the crystal clear water and sea angling trips departing at 1030 each day.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“that extra mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

I travelled to Skellig Michael and did a fishing trip with Seán Feehan in May. Both were amazing for different reasons. The boats used were very comforatble one speficially designed for fishing and the other covered and comfortable - for Irish seas and weather. Skellig Michael is a very special place and the skipper Vinnie knew all there was to know about the flora and fauna in the area; he is really passionate about it. I woudl guess he knows more than the OPW guides who work on the island later on the season! Sean was very knowledgeable of the hot spots for fishing. He was a great host and even brought some tea and biscuits for the trip! (this he does not always do) We ALL caught - cod and mackerel - all 8 of us and we really had great fun on the boat. I could not fault Sean in any way, simply high praise is merited. Go raibh mile maith agat

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank DeborahCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seandive, General Manager at Ballinskelligs Boats, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind words which are appreciated. The covered boat does come into its own in bad weather (always!!!)
We do try to give that little bit extra and its nice to know people appreciate our efforts.
Glad you all enjoyed the fishing-I certainly enjoyed eating them. Again thank you for your kind words and I hope you and your French friends visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    0
    2
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best boat trip in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

What more can be said about the great adventure of the skelligs. The windswept ancient monastery perched on 1000ft pinnacle in the middle of the ocean.

Taking a trip with Sean and his boat made this experience one of the best of my life. I've told twenty friends about it.

Helpful?
4 Thank Lmacvean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield,MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Special Aura”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

The highlight of our many trips to Ireland. We have been on three occasions and each time you take something different from this jewel. It is peaceful, challenging and has a unique and special aura about it. George Bernard Shaw once said you have not lived until you visit Skellig Michael...he was absolutely right. This trip is one of Irelands great hidden secrets

Visited June 2010
Helpful?
4 Thank Toby074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“one of the best trips of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

We took the tour, using http://www.facebook.com/ballinskelligsboats. They were very able. This is a beautiful place. The climb was vigorous but not prohibitive. It is exposed, but if you are watching and as our boat captain said, taking reasonable precaution, was not really scary. The wind kicked up while we were there and the steps were slick, but we descended with no problem. The view was breathtaking. It was very moving to see where these early Irish Christians lived. We loved the Puffins. The boat captain was experienced, very friendly but very serious about safety. I would highly recommend this trip

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
5 Thank dallasbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seandive, Owner at Ballinskelligs Boats, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you so much. We might be a little biased because we earn our living from the boats but we genuinely believe the Skelligs are the absolute jewel in what Ireland has to offer. People who visit the Islands agree that it is the experience of a lifetime. Pity you were not a little luckier with the weather but I am sure the Covered boat gave you some degree of comfort....and kept you dry!!!
Again your review is appreciated but more importantly you got to experience a truly magnificent part of Ireland. Thanks again. Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballinskelligs Boats also viewed

County Kerry, Province of Munster
 

Been to Ballinskelligs Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing