We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stopping point for a browse and snack” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rock Shop

The Rock Shop
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Liscannor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unique Gift Shop selling rocks, fossils, gems and jewellery and with 'something for everyone' you are sure to find the perfect gift. Also enjoy our homemade scones, cakes and savouries in our relaxing tearoom with beautiful views over Liscannor bay.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Nice stopping point for a browse and snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We saw the sign for coffee and had to go in. The coffee and cakes were great … and served by lovely friendly people. After our snack, we thought we would have a quick browse around the shop. Nearly an hour later (!) we left laden with gifts for the grandchildren and a few others. A fascinating place … could get expensive if you aren't careful though … plenty to tempt.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    43
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gems abound!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

plenty to explore to take a memory home from this magical part of the world. An array of gems and gifts to explore, from affordable to special. Also a great cafe and fab cakes to sample.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yellodiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“I love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I can see why the rock shop is so appealing to tourists. it really does have something for everyone and a wide display of rocks, trinkets and pretty knick knacks. I am from the Clare area and I love going into The Rock Shop. it's bright and area and has a cafe too. I would recommend a visit. ample parking also.

Helpful?
1 Thank lucyyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Clare, Rep. Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Treasure Trove..stop and visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Having been to the Rock Shop a few times over the years, we decided to stop for a coffee on our way to the beach. The shop itself is 'amazeballs'. It's full to the brim of fossils, rocks, stone carvings, ceramic goods, jewellery, just all sorts of weird and wonderful goodies. I was like a child in a sweet shop, really you wouldn't know what to look at first.

Some of the items such as the gemstones and fossils are pricey but there are lots of gifts that are reasonably priced. Tons of unusual things that you wouldn't see anywhere else.

The coffee and cake in the little cafe was gorgeous and we got to sit outside and take in the fabulous weather. I highly recommend the pineapple and banana slice!

All in all, it's a treasure trove of amazing goodies. MUST SEE.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bercar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Whatever you do...STOP !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This shop may creep up on you, so look out for it in Liscannor (on your right if you have come off the Shannon ferry). There are also toilets and a cafe there (recommend the bakewell slice!). The shop is awesome with every imaginable crystal, gemstone, fossil, tektite , moldavite etc. There's something for everyone and don't forget to learn about the Liscannor stone too

Helpful?
2 Thank muriwaidonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy J, Public Relations Manager at The Rock Shop, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank You for your positive comments. We do try to have 'something for everyone'
and yes Mary Ellen's bakewell slice is delicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock Shop also viewed

Liscannor, County Clare
Liscannor, County Clare
 
Liscannor, County Clare
Liscannor, County Clare
 

Been to The Rock Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing