We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“3rd Time is a Charm”
other travelers have booked this property
Home away from Home.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Home away from Home.
Master Bedroom Master Bedroom ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Home away from Home.
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom ensuite
The views from here will take your breath away !
Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
The Garden view at 'Salty Gables'
Rear view
Sit back and relax with a view over the Atlantic
Visit our local pub in the village
Nearby Lahinch and Golf Links
'Salty Gables'
A 'Holiday Home' from another time
Leaving the nest
Sea cave
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Liscannor, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Paul B
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“3rd Time is a Charm”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We returned to Salty Gables for the third time in a row. One thing that stands out is how responsive and helpful Bert is and his willing to ensure you have a,perfect stay. The house is in a wonderful location on the cliffs of Liscannor Bay. To your right are the Cliffs of Moher and to your left is Lehinch. Perfectly located about 2 miles from the house. You can walk to some great pubs just down the street. Liscannor is a beautiful village on the Wild Atlantic Way and everyone we have encountered there are friendly and helpful. There is a gas station, Egans and McHughs pubs and Vaughn's seaside restaurant. Down the street are gift shops and the Holland museum (inventor of the modern submarine). You are located near the Cliffs, St Bridgid's Church and Well, Lehinch Golf Club, ruins and of course cattle and sheep. Look out the back of the house and you have a clear view of the cliffs from the land side and you can see O'Brien's tower in the distance. The ocean views are spectacular and off in the distance are cottages nestled on the opposite cliffs. The house is perfectly appointed with everything you will need. The SuperValue grocery store is in Ennistymon about a 5 minute drive and has all the food you will need. There are local farmer's markets on the streets of Ennistymon. The restaurants in Lehinch are excellent and there are plenty of gift shops, places to shop, and sites to see. This is a place to relax and unwind and enjoy the Irish people, who are wonderful. Take the time to explore the Burren, Dingle and BallyVaughn. Drive down the corkscrew and just expect a carefree visit. We have never had a problem, but I'm confident if we did, Bert would be right there to fix it. This is a very special place in our hearts. Thanks Bert for sharing your piece of heaven with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views and warm feel of the home
Liked least: nothing, it was an amazing rental
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing views of the ocean
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RRinaldiM...
Mantua, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the best places we have stayed in Ireland - and likely the very best”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family has been visiting Ireland at least one a year for some ten years and this is easily one of the best places we have been to if not the very best.
A wonderful, spacious and well furnished detached cottage. Very friendly and helpful owner who welcomed us and made us feel more than welcome.
The view across Liscannor bay is stunning and we would never have enough of it - even in heavy rain it is wonderful!
We immediately felt at home and indeed look forward to coming back some other time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view is unbeatable!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaka99
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay with marvellous views”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved our stay at Salty Gables. The house is comfortable, spacious and nicely furnished. Due to the windy and rainy weather we did not use the terrace, but we loved to sit in the sun room and watch the rough sea and the seagulls.

Liscannor is a good location for day trips. We went to the cliffs of Moher, to Galway, Connemara, the Burren, Limerick and we had lots of impressions along the coastline. And afterwards, when we returned from our trip in the late afternoons we always felt like coming home.

Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Location and Wonderful House”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wow! First the location on Lisconner Bay is incredible. The view from the well appointed glass porch across the bay brings you both the rural feel of Ireland and a great view of downtown Lahinch. Watching the fishing boats with a cup of coffee at the outdoor table, under the umbrella was so nice in the morning. Location near golf, Cliffs of Moher, Ennis and all the local sites is perfect. The Burren is close by, major roads,and of course those famous local roads to Doolin. The house is well appointed, everything you need. A large grocery is nearby in Ennistimon. Bert was welcoming and had some local information in the house. This is a EXTREMELY good deal and a no brainer. We had 6 adults comfortably staying in the house. Linings were clean, beds were in great shape, all the pots and pans. Kitchen has dishwasher. Washer/dryer, large fridge. At night it is quiet and restful. The neighbors are great, wave as you go by. Did I mention the view? OMG! We had a wonderful 8 days. I want to mention how Bert knew we were coming in on the 6AM flight and had the house ready for 11AM- it was great to be able to go for some quick sight seeing, grab our first Irish Breakfast and then head to the house and unpack and unwind. If this house was a hotel it would be 5 star. We really enjoyed our 8 day vacation and will be back to Dalty Gables. Thanks Bert for making our stay special

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia W
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view from an amazing house”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our second time staying here and I cannot recommend it enough. The View alone is absolutely fantastic but its the house that makes the trip. It's more like a home away from home and everything you need is there from crockery plates to a full BBQ. I cannot say enough good things about the house and its location. The estate it is set in is very family friendly and quiet yet central enough to both Lahinch (5min drive) and the cliffs of moher (10 min drive). The owner also offers the option of renting bikes, although I had the worst luck with the bikes and the nearest bike shop is in Ennis so just bear that in mind. All in all I just love this holiday home it really is like being in the Malibu of Ireland. The owner is also very friendly and accommodating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the size
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing