We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Liscannor, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ashleigh...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family holiday ”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, great location for sightseeing and the beach for walking the dog. There is a working farm beside the house but this didn’t bother us, my daughter loved seeing the sheep in our yard. There has been some new windows installed and new TV in the sitting room and main bedroom. We loved having the fire on everynight and looking at the view with a nice glass of wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review with us all, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Tigin. Sitting by the fire of an evening with a tipple sounds wonderful - a fabulous way to wind down after a day of sightseeing! We certainly hope that you return for another holiday very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally wonderful!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Tigan Cottage last Oct for a quiet pre-winter break, and the minute we walked in the door we both just fell in love with the place, it was dark when we arrived so when we opened the lovely wooden shutters the next morning and saw the view we were just blown away, The fact the cottage had a roll top bath and cosy log burning stove just added to the many old charms this beautiful cottage had, We hated having to pack up and come home from it, we still always talk about our weekend in Clare, we would be frequent weekend break people but by far this cottage stole our hearts! We hope to go back again this year at some point! The Land lady was really helpful with everything we needed and made us feel most welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the character of the cottage
Liked least: Having to come home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriay...
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This cottage was perfect for our needs, we wanted to spend a quite week relaxing with our dogs with access to a variety of walking trails. The owner Mandy was very personable and gave us any and all information about the cottage on arrival , as well as a welcoming drink.
One of the things we looked forward too was the stove, we dont have a stove at home but common scense would dictate that opening the door while the fire is just starting up would fill the room with smoke so we didn't do this. I found the stove easy to use, quick to heat and provided us with plenty of hot water. I would highly reccomend this cottage for any one looking for a quite break in Ireland. It boast a great location,beautiful scenery,quick access to walking trails and a welcoming host.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanannG...
Gateshead
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Biggest disappointment ever”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was excited about returning to Ireland and staying in this cottage having read previous reviews on Trip Advisor. Myself and my brother have travelled the world and stayed in many types of accommodation and this cottage was the worst ever.
Where shall I start, the heating is a good place, it has a wood burning stove which filled the cottage room with black smoke every time you opened the door it was so bad the we had to open the front door to let the smoke out as we were nearly choking to death. This defeated the object as it was blowing a gale outside. My brother has a wood burner in his home so knows how they work by the middle of the week we had both developed coughs and our eyes used to sting most nights..
The oil filled radiators were worse than useless we had no heating at all until we called the owner and she came to look at it and argued with us that they were warm, they were actually stone cold. After much banging in the outbuilding the owner came back and apologised there was an air lock. Even when they did warm up they certainly didn’t heat the cottage we were freezing, I wore thermal underwear, pyjamas and a onesie every night go to bed it was ridiculous
The kitchen was disgusting, I lifted a saucepan pan down to cook with and it was rusty, the frying pan had old oil in it. The towels and bedding were substandard l, towels were hard and old. Every time we wanted to eat we had to wipe everything down as it was covered in soot from the stove.
The kitchen utensils were dirty and a lack of crockery, there wasn’t enough to allow you to put the dishwasher on. Most of the cupboards throughout the cottage were full of rubbish and tat and in the small bedroom there was nowhere to your toiletries and personal belongings etc., the only plug was behind the bed that was pushed up against the wall. There was just a bed and a wardrobe in the room nothing else it was like a cell in a nunnery.
There was a large crack on the chimney stack outside consequently the walls inside were damp and the outbuilding where we had to go to check the oil level was like a death trap.
One of the two armchairs was broken; I had to bring a pillow off the bed to sit on it as you could feel the wooden frame.
The French style furniture was nice but dirty, the wall unit in particular was full of old book just chucked in and old tourist guides many years out of date, we kept bringing new ones back with us as we felt sorry for the next guests.
There was no instruction manual for anything in the cottage.
The cottage was a lot cleaner when we left in fact the owner commented she had never seen the wood burner looking so clean. They need to get that chimney swept and repaired
The only positive thing I can say is that the cottage is in a great position with wonderful views and it is a shame because with a lot of cleaning, some fresh new bedding, towels, a hand held shower at the very least and some essential maintenance it good be a nice place to stay but as it is we dreaded coming back each day after some lovely days out.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liscannor hotels

LiamMaruc...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An authentic Irish week.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I really did not know what to expect? TIGiN cottage is an authentic Irish cottage in the country overlooking Liscannor Bay. It is in a Great location. The rock shop is a stones throw away for coffee and pastries. There are 3 towns within a 10 minute drive. Cliffs of Moher 5 minutes and St.Brigids well is up the road. The cottage is a perfect get away it has a fire stove, original stone floor in kitchen bay/ocean views and a horse.named twinkle. The tv's were not great but who :is there for tv viewing?? The owner is also.very kind and helpful. I do so hope i get to go back soon. I would do it again. Also.don't forget Byrnes in Ennistymon and Vaughn's in Liscannor. Even the 2 guys at the gas station were great
Liam and Michael

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djMaldoro...
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic seaside cottage didn't fail to deliver with it's tranquil charm...”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My wife and I were looking for a quiet little cottage by the sea where we could hike (cliffs of Moher!!), cook some fresh seafood, spend long evenings by the fire with a good book in a comfy chair, have a romantic, candle-lit soak for two in the claw-foot tub, and maybe even get a little surfing in too.
This place delivers it all!
The owner is such a dear, and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we wanted to make our stay at her place a most memorable experience.

ps - Having your own transportation is highly recommended... Our car rental in Dublin fell through, so we spent 2 of our 4 days just getting there and back by bus.
Fresh seafood and surfing are not within walking distance, so without the car we missed out on 2 of the things we were really looking forward to:(

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The lovely smell and warmth from the Irish turf burning in the fireplace while sipping wine in a most comfy chair with a view out the window of the expansive bay!
Liked least: The long walk to get anywhere (so hire a car!!).
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
festaiola
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming cottage with a beautiful view!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of March & were lucky enough to have fantastic weather whilst we were there. The cottage is perfect for a couple and is also pet friendly (we brought our dog). There are lots of nice walks and things to do nearby : it is about a 10min drive to Lehinch, 5 mins from the Cliffs of Moher and 15 mins from Doolin. The owner of the cottage, Mandy is really friendly and welcoming as well. We really enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others, we are hoping to go back again ourselves next year we enjoyed it so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from the property, and the peace and quiet!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing