We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We didn't want to leave this house. Best holiday...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 1 Castle View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
kitchen /living
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Liscannor, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Maireadmc...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We didn't want to leave this house. Best holiday home ever.”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Myself, husband 4year old son and 4 month old son stayed here in NOVEMBER (!!) and because of this lovely house, it was one of our favourite holidays. Clean and well maintained house with no fuss booking. The extension on this house makes it particularly special, plenty of light and space during the daytime and at night time we sat on the lovely seating area (heated by the radiator underneath) and looked out at the stars. The weather during the stay was horrific and stormy but that only made us appreciate the house even more, we lit the fire each night and my son was surprised and delighted to find an array of jigsaws and boardgames. Lots of lovely touches for kids, childrens nightlights/lamps in the bedrooms, and fishing nets for the rockpools etc. During our stay there were two life size wooden sheep which were a big hit with the kids and ourselves. Cosy, bright, fresh, safe and clean. Overall a great holiday home, will defo return to this house in the future. We really didnt want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unusual extension, the decor and the large dining table
Liked least: bo wifi
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2016
Hi Mairead, Thank you soooo much for your wonderful review.........my husband and I are very touched by your lovely words and I am so happy to hear that you and your family had one of your favourite holidays in the house! We look forward to you staying again in the future. Thanks again. Your review is hugely appreciated! All the best, Freda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre W
Birr, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb holiday home, wonderful location”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I honestly couldn't rate this holiday home highly enough. The location was very tranquil and only a few minutes walk to the local pubs that were warm and welcoming after evening walks on the pier/beach.The light and airy design features of the house made the atmosphere cosy and inviting - even the overcast days seem brighter. The attention to detail throughout the house was reflective of the foresight of the owners,(from the i pod dock to puzzles and games for the children). This is a wonderful place to stay for anyone who is simply looking for a quiet retreat or to enjoy a bit of surfing and relaxation. I would recommend this holiday home whole heartedly. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful house , quiet location
Liked least: Honestly ....nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2015
Thanks Deirdre for your wonderful review......hughly appreciated : )) Really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in the house and look forward to having you stay again soon.
Thanks again. All the best, Freda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincentS9...
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were delighted with our choice of Castle View for our recent holiday and we found it a perfect base to enjoy trips to Doolin,The Ciiffs etc, The house itself is in a nice quiet location, and the lovely garden just oozes peace and quiet with the big bright conservatory a great backup when the weather does not deliver.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onrdagin
West Milford, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Very cute 3 bedroom house with a large sunroom that makes you feel like you are outside even on rainy days. Though in a neighborhood, the rock wall outside the sunroom, feels like you are all alone with the birds and green grassy yard. All the comforts, with cute Ikea furniture, but a typical Irish fireplace for the cooler nights. Even a couple Irish sheep keeping watch.. Loved the fully equipped kitchen. Though our schedule shortened our stay, owner Freda was flexible with the days that we could stay, and the housekeeper Trisha was quick to respond to our few hour early arrival, based on the jet lag, we needed a rest before we enjoyed the incredible views of the area. It was a super location to enjoy the day trips in SW Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katie1119
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy country house”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a weekend in Febuary. The house was very cozy and comfortable. We lit a fire each night which was lovely. I would recommend anyone to stay here looking for a relaxing break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ger1983
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our trip was revitalising and fun”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The lady that owns the home was brilliant. She accommodated requests and provided great local information. Anybody wanting to see the Cliffs of Moher would best place themselves in Liscannor in my opinion. Bus Eireann took 5 minutes to get us to the Cliffs and when we decided to spend the day in Doolin, the taxi back to Liscannor was only €20.

We could not have asked more from the house as it was spotless clean, included everything we needed and it was warm when we arrived. The lady that looks after the house had even turned the immersion for our arrival. The house is big enough for a good sized family and the people of Liscannor were genuinely friendly.

We will be returning to 1 Castle View and are considering taking the nieces and nephews.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing