We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vaughans Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vaughans Anchor Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Liscannor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed at Vaughans recently with my husband, and we were very impressed.
The accomadation was as good as any hotel in Ireland that we have stayed in, if not better.The room was beautifully furnished and spotless.
Found the staff all very friendly and welcoming.
The menu had a great selection. Wide variety of seafood dishes.I opted for the fresh halibut which was perfectly cooked. My husband had the steak,which he said was the best he'd ever eaten!
From the homemade breads through to the delicious desserts,and great wine list, we couldn't find fault.
I have no hesitation recommending to all my friends, and we can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitty7338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    37
    21
    14
    6
See reviews for
32
92
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Having been a HUGE fan of the food at Vaughan's for the past 10 years, myself and my friends (all serious foodies) were all VERY disappointed with the limited menu and the un-inviting combination of ingredients presented with their main dishes e.g mixing fish with meat. There was no seafood dish available as a main course, unlike the menu advertised on the web-site. The only main which came close was a dish comprising of scallops, pork belly and black pudding (!), which totally didn’t work. While there were 2 other fish options, they were presented with chorizo and some other adventurous but flavour-clashing ingredients rendering them totally un-appetising. Faced with no seafood option we reluctantly opted for the only seemingly palatable dish on the menu, 'filet' of venison. While the presentation was impressive, the meat , however, was tough and in-edible. When we mentioned this to the waitress she tried to explain to us that this was because there is no fat in a filet (!) ... as if we had never eaten filet before and didn’t know what to expect. We were also told that no-one else had complained but 'if we liked' she would ask the chef for his opinion - again implying that we weren't qualified to judge ourselves! What a pity that this talented chef has lost the run of himself when it comes to his food combinations and that he seems to be above any criticism (a famous Irish Ruby international was asked to leave after complaining about size of steak this summer!) as this restaurant is not renowned for it’s friendly owners or décor.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeafoodLover056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Had dinner in vaughans sat nyt what a lovely nyt, my husband had lobster linguini as a starter & scallops as a main & I had foie gras and black pudding as a starter & crab claws as a main,and the desserts 4 two !!!! were amazing can't wait 2 go back
also they have a great wine list we had a nice bottle of Chablis. We didn't realise they had rooms till we got there the nice waitress gave us a look and they were lovely and modern will be stayin there in our next visit

Will definitely recommend vaughans to friends and family. A MUST !!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinewhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Good quality food that you would expect from a restaurant. very happy

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon_john496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Pleasantly surprised at the room and price (double room €35 pps). The location of B&B is excellent for getting around SW Clare. Town itself is a bit quiet...but that can be a positive thing too! Rooms were modern and very clean. Breakfast was good and filling, but not one of the better full Irish types. I love a good black pudding and this one was only just passable. Sausages were little snack sized things. Unfortunately, we did not get a chance to try dinner there as we arrived too late. Vaughan's won the Georgina Campbells Irish Bar Restaurant of the Year 2010 Best in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

We decided to have our work night out in Clare this year to add a bit of variety, and one of the lads at work had stayed at Vaughans in Liscannor previously and was raving about the place, and I have to say he wasn't wrong. From the outside its very ordinary looking, but inside it has the wow factor, for a bed and breakfast, it really is decieving. The rooms are fabulous, I would say its all been recently refurbished, beautiful french style furniture in the bedrooms, and the food in the restaurant is out of this world. Whoever their chef is, they should double his/her pay. However, whoever they have behind the bar and greeting people (I think its the owner) a grumpy old guy should take a pay cut, as his attitude certainly left alot to be desired. He basically lets the place down, which is a shame. We had booked 5 double rooms and one treble room, and he managed to give the treble room (ours) away before we got there, and we ended up being shown to a twin room which between three of us was not acceptable, when we explained this to him, he didn't want to know, we had also phoned the day before to confirm our booking and to make sure the rooms were all in order, so we were a bit disappointed with the mix up, when we said this to him he was quite grouchy and basically said "sort it out yourself", so we ended up dragging a single mattress from one room (he had given the keys of our triple to a couple) down a corridor and down a flight of steps and across a hallway and up another flight of steps to the other side of the building, so I ended up sleeping on a mattress on the floor, not what you would expect to do be doing before getting ready to go out for dinner! other than that, the place was lovely, the rooms are modern and clean, the food is to die for, I had duck for dinner and it was amazing, also worth a mention is the gorgeous homemade banana bread, the breakfast is gorgeous, again with a selection of beautiful homemade breads, and the 'full-irish' could not be faulted, plenty of everything, and everything fresh. The rest of the waiting staff are friendly and lovely, only the bar guy/owner lets the place down. He should consider a job perhaps in the background of the establishment, perhaps away from general civilisation. At least until he learns a few basic communication skills.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

The Anchor was recommended to me by friends and it was worth the trip, we stayed the night really enjoyed the meal. One of the best. The room was very comfortable and clean and good value. I think they have been refurbished recently. Liscannor a bit quiet this time of year but close to Doolin, Cliffs and other sights etc...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liscannor
6.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
1.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.9 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughans Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughans Anchor Inn

Property: Vaughans Anchor Inn
Address: Main St, Liscannor, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Liscannor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Liscannor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vaughans Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughans Anchor Hotel Liscannor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing