We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vaughans Anchor Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Liscannor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Went there on St. Stephen's Day as a Christmas treat for all the family. The restaurant was absolutely freezing and we had to leave our coats on and in retrospect we should have complained but alas we didn't. The food was ok but nothing like we had expected our heard about anecdotally. My wife ordered fish goujons and mashed potato and what she received was three strips of coated fish on top of three whole boiled potatoes. Extremely disappointing and at a cost of 97 Euros, very poor value for a family of five who just ordered main courses including drinks.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank eoinr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 211 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

If they were going to hang me in the morning I would have food from here as my last meal.
We were made very welcome and I have no hesitation in reccomending this fine Irish pub. Try the crab claws. I will go back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billcarpenter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We came upon this B&B on our way to the Cliffs of Moher and were delighted in our find. The restaurant was outstanding and the room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was exceptional with home made yogurt, smoked salmon, and the omelette was divine. Very quiet since it is the off season.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rcruccius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Vaughan's Anchor Inn is in the centre of the lovely small village of Liscannor. We liked the basket of goodies which was placed in our room when we arrived. This contained bottled water and a jar of homemade cookies amongst other things and was replenished on our second day. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice at the buffet and a cooked plate made to order and served by the very friendly staff. The homemade yogurt was delicious also.
However our stay was spoiled simply by a lack of attention to detail with regard to our room.
The heating in our room was inadequate and was timed by the hotel. When we went down for dinner we inquired about the lack of heat and were told it would come on by the time we went back to our room. When we returned to the room the radiators were slightly warm. It was October and we felt cold in our room. There was a table lamp beside one bed that had no power supply. We asked a staff member to sort this out for us but he told us the required extension lead was in the kitchen which was locked up for the evening.We requested this to be rectified for our second day but this was not attended to. The bathroom had a shaving lamp over the wash hand basin but no bulb! Our shower did not drain properly so we showered in water which was ankle-deep. We pointed out these issues to the proprietor when we were checking out but got no satisfactory response.
To top things off we were awoken at three in the morning by somebody (another guest as it turned out) pounding on the front door below our window for approximately 20 minutes.
We feel we cannot recommend Vaughan's and would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublinphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I popped into Vaughans for dinner while we were staying in county clare. It was a VERY pricey meal, but the best dining experience we had in Ireland by far. Overall we had a lot of trouble finding good food in Ireland, but Vaughan's broke the mold with great quality beef, and FLAVOR (a rare find here!)

After dinner, we asked to see the rooms and to stay overnight. They were VERY moderately priced for the area and were clean and cute! I'm a NYC interior designer, so I wasn't bothered by the small size and was thrilled with how nicely and simply decorated they were. No tacky knick-knacks and clutter here, just simple whitewashed rooms with an insanely comfortable bed.

And that was before they dropped off a COMPLIMENTARY basket filled with 6 freshly baked chocolate chip cookies and milk on our doorstep!!!! We sat in bed eating cookies until we fell asleep. Heaven.

The town is very well located close to the cliffs of moher and to the doolin ferries to the Aran Islands. I don't know if I would have needed to stay another night, since there's not much to do in the town, but it was the perfect overnight!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLorelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We are a group of 11 stayed here for weekend, to do the cliffs of moher coastal walk. The food was A1, great breakfast menu, great dinner menu, all excellent quality and service. Rooms clean and beds very comfortable. The icing on the cake was a basket on arrival with goodies for the room, which was replenished on both days. Could find no fault, and will be highly recommending. Thank you very much

Room Tip: Room no 4!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Monday night and it was quite busy altho we did not have to book (probably different during high season). Atmosphere is great and the staff are excellent. Range of food choices was good and well priced. Food quantity and quality was good value. We were staying in a local B&B a short drive away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_4825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liscannor
1.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
152 reviews
6.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,353 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Spanish Point
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
103 reviews
18.3 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,659 reviews
3.9 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughans Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughans Anchor Inn

Address: Main St, Liscannor, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Liscannor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Liscannor
Price Range: $83 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughans Anchor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vaughans Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughans Anchor Hotel Liscannor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing