We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
137
51
23
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
51
23
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishhomemade cookiessteakcrab clawschowdersmoked salmonthe pubblack puddingcreme bruleeate herebltreal pityexcellent restaurantexcellent seafoodwell worth a visitnice stayfew drinks
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 233 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Had one night here at the end of June 2012 and have to say we all thought it was excellent. Full of character and based on a maritime theme, but traditionally Irish where there was a little shop section at the front of the pub. The rooms (6 & 7) were immaculate, spacious and well equipped with nice comfortable beds. The real bonus was the food; the evening meals which included the fish platter and turbot, were absolutely excellent. The breakfast was outstanding and the lady of the house was very warm, chatty and friendly.
I do note some of the comments about the owner, and he was a bit dour initially, but after engaging him in conversation he was fine, just could do with cracking a smile now and then.
Overall this was a great place to stay and eat and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Evening meals are only served 6-9pm so factor that into your booking.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuisboroughBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

After reading the reviews on trip advisors my husband and I decided to book Vaughan inn for a two night break. We arrived to the guest house at about 3pm, we had to go into the bar to get the keys for our room, we were greeted by the manager who was unwelcoming to say the least. He then ordered a young waitress to bring us to our room. The young lady was very quiet and when leaving us she asked did we want to book a table in the restaurant that night. When we said we hadn't decided what we were doing she became pushy.

The room itself was beautifully designed. There was a king sized bed and a single bed. The beds were extremely comfy. Better than most hotels. They also added a nic touch when we opened our bedroom door they had left a basket there with two bottles of water, coffee/teas, a large pack of nuts/seeds, and a large jar of home-made cookies(that were to die for)..

We ate in the restaurant that evening. The restaurant/ lounge bar had a decor from the late 70's/80's.. It was nicely done. Very clean. The food in the restaurant was amazing. I had seafood platter and my husband had lamb. The meal was superb. Wine beautiful. Again the service did not match. Waitress was very rude.

On our fist morning there we went down for breakfast, again we had to go throughj the lounge into the restaurant, once again the manager was there and again was extremely rude. We had a traditional Irish breakfast which was nice. The service was a bit better, it seemed to be the owners wife. She was nice and engaged in small banter.

Again that evening when we went back to our room, it was turned down and cleaned. Also another basket of goodies had been left.
That night we ate elsewhere but came back to the lounge to have a few drinks. Again the service was somewhat poor.

On our final morning we went down for breakfast which was again from a menu of about 4 choices- we chose the Irish breakfast. This morning the breakfast was reheated. The food was leathery. The coffee was cold and very strong. It was absolutely made earlier and left to sit. The service this morning was the worse, the waitress was very rude and abrupt. She seemed to want us to hurry up.

Upon leaving the guest house we went back into the lounge to pay fr our stay. We met with the owner. He was very rude, had no manners, he did not ask us how our stay was, where we went, general chit chat.. It was very uncomfortable. He never thanked us or asked us to call again etc etc...

I have to say our overall experience was ok, the guest house was very nice,food was great but the service has let them down. I will not go back to Vaughan or recommend it to a friend for this very reason.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geri4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a Pub lunch and loved this place. Warm and inviting, Delicious Fish and Chips and Chowder. We only wish we were still around at dinner time. We would recommend this to all whom are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BigBob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Arrived at 21:40, tired and starving after a long journey to be told that we could not get any food in restaurant or bar. Room was old fashioned and washbasin was in the room. Very cramped toilet space. We rang down in the morningtime to find out when breakfast would be served, owner was very curt on the phone. We got down for breakfast three minutes late and were told off by the owner and the serving lady treated us like bold children. Food was nice but the experience was embarrassing and annoying to say the least. It would have been a nice stay but for the lack of any warmth or welcome from the owners and staff. I feel that they could have made some effort to provide some food for paying guests. I am disappointed to say i won't be returning to vaughans after this experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darkhorsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Well worth going half way accross Ireland to go to Anchor inn the best sea food around, cant wait untill next time BRILLIANT.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrexhamSteve1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews