We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Liscannor
Post
Inbox
Search

“Very tasty”

Vaughans Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Liscannor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Vaughan's bar and restaurant after our visit to the Cliff's of Moher on a west of ireland day trip from Dublin in December. As this must be considered out of season our options for food seemed to be limited but thank God for that as it brought us to the excellent Vaughan's anchor house in Liscannor, just down the road from the Cliffs of Moher.
I am not an adventurous eater myself and seeing as we were within a stones throw of the Atlantic ocean I went for the fish & chips. The food was available delicious and the portion was huuuuge. My friends went down the route of ordering oysters and prawns etc and they so found everything to be perfect. This seems to be quite a renowned restaurant and there was a constant flow of patrons in and out but it's deceptiveness big and plenty of staff to cope.
Defined recommend for a heart meal if you are in the area

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank ChaperoneVIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 922 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

Excellent food and friendly staff and will definitely go there for any visits to the area and full house proved the popularity of the place

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank barryo892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2019 via mobile

Vaughan’s came highly recommended as a place to eat. However I was very disappointed with a number of aspects of our visit. We arrived on the cusp of the menus changing from lunch to dinner menus, we were offered the lunch menu, while a couple seated beside us were given the dinner menu. We enquired about the dinner menu to be told it hadn’t started. Couple were seated, served, ordered & ate before us.
The food was lacking in both quality & quantity, which in turn couldn’t justify the high prices on their dishes. €17 Euro for Fish, Chips & Tartare Sauce (my choice off lunch menu), €22 for the same with the addition of a tiny portion of Mushy Peas (one of our neighbours ordered it on Evening Menu). I can only presume their historical Food Award is still being used to justify the price, unfortunately for us, the food was unmistakably not award worthy.
However on a good note, the service was friendly & efficient. The Staff were very knowledgable about the menu, professional & helpful during our visit.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Adventurer62228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2019 via mobile

Nice atmosphere. Delicious food (fish and chips). Pleasant staff. Reasonably priced. Great location in the Village of Liscannor.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank traveller277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019

The quality of the Food at Vaughans is fantastic, From the fresh oysters to the seafood mains its a culinary delight. The Deserts are also stunning and home made too.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveWalsh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaughans Anchor Inn also viewed

Lahinch, County Clare
Lahinch, County Clare
 
Lahinch, County Clare
Liscannor, County Clare
 

Been to Vaughans Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing