We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food in Wonderful Environment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vaughans Anchor Inn

Vaughans Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Liscannor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in Wonderful Environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This pub is in the lovely village of Liscannor and offers an interesting and varied menu at a reasonable price. The staff were very helpful. There is an 'early bird' menu up until just before 6 p.m.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfredroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    153
    61
    43
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Found it by accident after walking the Cliffs. The chowder was delicious with wonderful chunks of fish served with really fresh baked bread. My friend had the lobster and crab salad, which she said was one of the best shellfish meals she has ever eaten and she is a devotee of shellfish and is really choosy about her food.. I had possibly the best lamb I have eaten, which cut like butter by tasted superb, not overcooked. The quantity was astonishing, given the quality (they rarely combine). In fact if you look at the bookshelves while waiting for your meal you can see where the great cooking come from, it was the best cooks library I have seen in a long while which is wonderful as the chef is prepared to evolve. I presume given the comments from others it does depend on the catch. But my experience was wonderful

I am definitely bringing my husband back here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I loved everything about this place - apart from the prices! Husband and I both had hake, which was absolutely delicious. Watching plates of seafood piled high on layers of ice pass by was envy-making, but we promised ourselves a return visit one day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Libby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had been to Vaughan's about a month ago for Sunday lunch and were looking forward to going back. We both had the chowder, which had gone a bit more vegetable than before. It would be nice to see more seafood in that chowder. However, the flavour was excellent. On our last visit we saw a couple of lobster salads coming out and they looked great and the comments from the diners were very positive. However, I did not get that on Sunday. It looked ok, and there was an aftertaste on the crab claws. I told the guy behind the bar who said that he would 'bring it to the attention of the kitchen'. What about me?? This is no way to handle a complaint. I was very disappointed. If the meal is not up to the usual standard, why should I pay the usual price. It's not good enough to have mixed standards.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor service and seafood chowder not up to the hype”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stopped in for lunch based on a recommendation for their seafood chowder. It was like pulling teeth to get a server to take our order. Had to flag her down anytime we wanted anything - drink order, food order, check - never a single time did she come by the table voluntarily to check if we needed anything. Guinness and seafood chowders for each. Then, decided we wanted to share the crab salad, too. Because we split that, even though we ordered our own items, they added a 3.50 splitting charge on our bill! We had much better seafood chowders throughout Ireland, not sure the hype over this one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaughans Anchor Inn also viewed

Liscannor, County Clare
Lahinch, County Clare
 
Lahinch, County Clare
Lahinch, County Clare
 

Been to Vaughans Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing