We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical summer stay in the winter few hours from home by car”
Review of Tropical Islands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spend our weekend in the Tropical Island in February 2013. From Saturday to Sunday with my family (two boys 7 and 11 years old).
There is plenty of place for fun – water toboggan, huge place for children, Jungle lift, balloon, … And for relax – excellent complex of saunas where you can relax and “recharge” your battery.
We stay over the night in the hotel inside the dome. Rooms are nice, modern and clean. Morning breakfast was amazing. Variety choose of foods. We are looking for spending some extension weekend in the autumn this year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ales V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Islands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

This extraordinary facility apparently stuck on a remote heath in former East Germany has come in for quite a lot of criticism from reviewers but I was prepared to give it a try particularly as we were able to take advantage of a special Sunday night discount which meant that bed and breakfast plus entry to the dome and Wellness area worked out at about £48 each.

We arrived from Berlin by train into Brand station where the shuttle bus was waiting to drive us straight away to the Dome. I guess being a Sunday evening in December the place perhaps was quieter than usual but we certainly got a very positive impression in Reception where we were swiftly checked in and directed to our room.

We were booked into a family suite in an outside wing easily accessed through the Dome. It was basic but clean and adequate for sleeping which is all we needed it for as our time would be spent enjoying everything that Tropical Islands has to offer.

We took our evening meal in one of the several restaurants available to us which offered a good menu which was reasonably priced. After a quiet night's sleep we enjoyed the excellent buffet breakfast and then got down to the business of exploring the dome. My overall impressions were that it had been well designed and was being well maintained. Levels of cleanliness in all areas were high. I was impressed with the level of staffing and supervision and the atmosphere was
very calm and relaxing. Although there were lots of children and young people, I never saw any behaviour likely to disturb anyone else.

We felt we had enjoyed our short stay here and found nothing to complain about. The young people with me thought the slides were jaw-droppingingly good. I couldn't comment!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peter1NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

newly built rooms are the perfect complement, although increase the number of accommodation facilities and sun loungers still the same unfortunately. Non-modern, super-modern bathrooms with bathrobes and hair dryers

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psota76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Upon arrival and entry into the tropical island we were appalled by the front barrel reception.Was only open two cash registers and we had in this heat I'm waiting 60 minutes before we came to it all que.I am told completely different price than was offset in email.the confirmation for the night, admission, attractions, number people.Will be stupid price reverting back to Cr and everything so we paid and went to stay in a tent, in which it is impossible if you can stand it 2minutes in , Please order you prefer other accommodation . Tent is scorching hot and you can not stand it let alone sleep in it over noc.we must sleep before the tent on the sand or by the pool.
Tropical island is a very nice place inside, but not for young lidi.doporuci; would it for families with children.
First sleepless night we wanted to go home, but the cancellation fee is ridiculous and foremost we stayed.
Next time prefer visiting these crazy money for another place and enjoy it more

Room Tip: don't book night in tent
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Renousek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

As the title says FANTASTIC.
So much to say about this place, so i'll break it down into bite sized chunks.
The Dome.
Inside was a constant 28 degree's. Very warm. Open 24/7.
The pools.
A large lagoon with waterfalls, fountains and jacuzzi's. The water temp was a comfortable 30 degree's and there are 2 water slides. There are plenty of sunloungers around it, set on lovely white sand.
Alongside this is a large sandy white 'beach', complete with lots of loungers and the 'sea'.
There are also a further 2 very large water slides, but these are on a 'pay as you slide' basis.
There is a large lovely looking paddling pool for toddlers and younger children, complete with slides and fountains etc. There is also organised 'kids club' type of activities.
Plenty of lifeguards.
There is also a large jungle type of dry play area for kids.

The forest.
There is a large area of 'tropical forest' with exotic looking birds flying around. You can wander along the pathways, along these are pools containing turtles and fish. A lovely stroll.

Food and drink.
There are plenty of places to eat inside the dome with a good variety of meals, from burgers to streaks and i found the prices to be no more expensive than anywhere else in Germany. There are plenty of places to get a coffee, a soft drink or a beer etc. I took my own sandwiches and soft drinks, as did a lot of other people and no one seemed to mind.

Smoking.
The dome is a none smoking building, although on the upper level there is a bar which allowed smokiing. The smoke cannot be smelt anywhere in the dome due to its elevated position.

Shops.
There are shops that sell all the usual items of beachwear etc, as well as souverniers and a large sweet shop.

Accommodation.
I dont know what the accommodation inside the dome is like, as i stayed on the nearby campsite, however the teepee's and wood rooms did look wonderful. I had a peek inside an empty teepee and i would have been happy to stay in one for a week.
There are plenty of toilets and showers. Obviously as in any other public swimming pool or similar, you will need to provide your own toiletries.

I really can't emphasise how fantastic this place is, especially for families with kids. There really is something for everyone.

The campsite.
The campsite is split into sections. There are sections for tents and caravans etc, and a section for tropical islands teepee's. The site was very clean and well set out with spacious pitches.

The shower and toilet blocks were absolutely spotless, modern and very warm. I have never seen such a luxurious shower/toilet block on a campsite!
In the shower block there are plenty of showers and toilets. There are even 2 family bathrooms, each containing a shower, a bath, 2 sinks and a toilet!!
There is also a shower for your dog!
Also in there is a laundry room with 2 washing machines and a dryer, you buy a token for these. There is also 2 kitchens, one containing 2 electric hobs and sinks. I was amazed!
There is an additional toilet block by the tent/caravan area, which again was spotless, modern and warm.
On each section there is also a large bbq area for your own use.
The camp shop is one of the largest and best stocked i have ever come across on a camp site. The prices again are very reasonable.
There is a free shuttle bus which takes you to the Dome and the nearby train station, this operates 24/7.

If you are staying at the resort then you dont need to queue to get into the dome as guests have a seperate 'fast track' entrance. At weekends it can become really busy so i would suggest getting inside before 9a.m if you are wanting a lounger, however to avoid this, you could do as i did and take any trips to Berlin etc on sat and sun.

You dont need any cash inside the dome as you have a wristband which is scanned each time you purchase anything, you then pay at the end of your stay. A bit like an All Inclusive holiday, but you pay at the end rather than at the beginning. I kept a tally on what i was spending by jotting things down in a little notebook each time i purchased something to avoid a nasty shock.
Inside the dome. You purchase a wristband on entry at 35 euro's per adult, i cant remember how much the kids bands were, but they were cheaper and under 6 years were free. You can go in and out of the dome as many times as you wish with this wristband for the duration of your stay.
I will recommend either flip flops or flat sandals due to the cobbled nature of the pathways. Heels are a definite no-no, unless you fancy a trip to casualty with a broken ankle or similar.
I didn't go into the spa/fitness area so i can't comment on this, however if it is anything like the rest of the Dome then i would give it a big thumbs up.
I can't say anything more really, except i can't wait to go again next year.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bumpsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalIslandsTeam, Beschwerdemanagement at Tropical Islands, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi bumpsx2,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback!
You really put a lot of effort into the evaluation of your stay at Tropical Islands. :-)
You should come and try one of the other accommodation options in the Dome.
We have tropical lodges, rooms and - for our camping friends - tents as well.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,
Your Tropical Islands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I went a couple of days with my son, it is good fun and renting a room in the complex is worthwhile, but expensive.

We had a good time swimming and enjoyed a couple of the shows. Great if the weather is no good and you have some money to spend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalIslandResort, Beschwerdemanagement at Tropical Islands, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Hi Polly0,

Thank you for your feedback!

It is great to read that you had a good time at Tropical Islands! As I can see you and your son visited us in October 2011? Since then, a lot of things have changed and new attractions provide even more diversity during a stay at Tropical Islands. With our Bumper Boats you can take an exciting ride on the water, you can go on a Quad- or Segway-Trip (of course outside the Dome) and much more! Maybe this sounds interesting to you and your son? :-) Just recently we lowered the prices of some of our indoor attractions.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon at Tropical Islands!

Best wishes,
Your Tropical Islands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just finishen our three day "water trip" today and, first and foremost, we will recommend this plage to anyone with children.

Lovely bathing, cool action, nice temperature, unique location and setting.

Let us also give a surprise thumbs up to the food which, for waterpark standards, was quite alright, I'm happy to say.

What doesn't qualify for top stars are little, but annoying (because little), things.

Too few places to buy bewerage.

Inspection sticker on a water slide saying "Next year for check-up 2011". Hello!?

Too many grumpy service employees.

Personnel often too slow-handed to bring down queues.

Gear up on these things and you will certainly gear up on stars!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenrikKragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krausnick
6.1 mi away
Hotel - Zum goldenen Stern
Hotel - Zum goldenen Stern
#1 of 1 in Unterspreewald
23 reviews
6.5 mi away
Spreewald Parkhotel
Spreewald Parkhotel
#1 of 1 in Bersteland
311 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Zur Spreewaelderin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
SPREEWALDRESORT Seinerzeit
SPREEWALDRESORT Seinerzeit
#1 of 1 in Schlepzig
53 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Lindengarten
Hotel Lindengarten
#5 of 5 in Lubben
12 reviews
9.3 mi away
Seeschlosschen Gross Koris
Seeschlosschen Gross Koris
#1 of 2 in Gross Koris
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Islands

Address: Tropical-Islands-Allee 1, 15910 Krausnick, Brandenburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Krausnick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Krausnick
Price Range: $177 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and discover the delights of Tropical Islands. Stroll along the sandy beach by the Tropical Sea, join an expedition through the Tropical Rainforest, relax in the Tropical Sauna & Spa Complex, experience exciting attractions for kids, have fun with the whole family, taste the wonderful food and enjoy some first-class entertainment. You will also find that we have various accommodation options for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Islands Hotel Krausnick
Tropical Islands Germany/Krausnick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing