We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic sfakianic meals in best performance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oasis Taverna

Oasis Taverna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Garching bei Munchen, Germany
1 review
“Authentic sfakianic meals in best performance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a cretan restaurant, so please don't expect la premiere cuisine de la France! Who likes greek food and especially sfakian kitchen will be more than satisfied. The vegetables, the meat, the fishes, the tsatsiki, melintzanosalata, briam, imam bailde, sfakianopitta, not to forgdet the sweets, mostly prepared by Katherina, simply marvellous! One says, Nikos' wine selection should be the best far around. We ate there many times. The Qualitiy was always excellent, the vegetables, salads and fruits like all other ingredients very fresh and tasty.
Not to forget the wonderful view over the sea on the White mountains and along the wonderful coast, especially sunsets in autumn.
Try it and you'll see!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dotrothea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    49
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaldon Devon England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“dont bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Poor food, over-priced. Claimed fish was fresh when clearly frozen. Friendly staff as ever in Crete, but not attentive and it wasn't busy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manousosmanouselis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Oasis Taverna, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We explain that the sword fish was frozen from me but rather that you do not understand what I do not know well English. swordfish were fished here in Sfakia and was not West Atlantic. You do not sell it for fresh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unterhaching, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best taverna in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We travelled a lot in Crete since many years staying at several places eating plenty of greek or so called greek food.
But this restaurant is simply the best.
Everything is made fresh and the food is very tasty.

In the morning you can watch Nikos and his staff preparing the food and have a look into the open kitchen, nothing is hidden.

Enjoy grilled meat and fish in the evening while drinking the local wine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank maximilianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best in Frangokastello”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Oasis is our first choice taverna when back in Frangokastello: there is always great home-made food and a warm welcome from Nikos. We love the stuffed courgette flowers and imam, and the orange pie (really a beautifully moist cake) which is often given with raki at the end of the meal. The cake is made by Yiannis, Nikos's son, who is very modest - he says he makes so many he doesn't think about it - but we dream of it when we're home! There are rooms available too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babso_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“An alternative to Flisvos Taverna.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have been to the Flisvos Taverna for the last 5 years and discovered this taverna this year .I found it to be a good place to go for lunch.The food was freshly cooked and delicious.The view from the restaurant is fabulous.I went there everyday.It is a worthy competitor to Flisvos Taverna for lunch,but Flisvos has the edge for ambiance and proximity to the sea.Visit both and make up your own mind

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gareth47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Taverna also viewed

Frangokastello, Sfakia
Frangokastello, Sfakia
 
Frangokastello, Sfakia
Frangokastello, Sfakia
 

Been to Oasis Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing