We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach”

Frangokastello Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Nice beach for swimming with showers/beds for hire etc. The nearby Taverna handy for drinks/meals/snacks - good service. The Venetian Fort behind the beach is well worth a visit if you are a history lover.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JayneH305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    162
    53
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip review 2014”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

It was lonely and magically distant. All kinds of people, friendly, nice place for snorkeling, shallow water is excellent for kids, no urchins of jellyfish.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrible experience in Taverna Drosoulites - overcharged and intimidated”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We love our visits to Crete and have toured extensively around the north of the island, Rethymnon, Knosos, Spili, Vrisses - all magical with great hospitality. Today was an exception, with our visit to Frangokastello turning into a nightmare. We parked at the castle and strolled into the big taverna -opposite the fortress, where we were charged €250 for a meal for 2 adults and 3 children.

€250 for lunch- all we had was a fish, 2 children's portions of calamari, one glass of wine, one coke and a bottle of water!!!! We challenged the bill 3 times, refusing to pay the ridiculous charge. On the third occasion, we were surrounded immediately by 3 members of staff, who proceeded to intimidate us for 5 mins until we paid - not the full amount - but all the cash we had on us for our day trip from Rethymnon. Very threatening, especially with 3 small children in tow - which is probably why we were targeted in this manner.

Our advice, avoid Taverna Drosoulites, the big taverna opposite the fortress, at all costs. 5 star hotels on the Champs Elysses are cheaper. We have been to Greece 10 times and have NEVER been treated so badly anywhere. It's a disgrace to the island and all the other fabulous tavernas in Crete. It has ruined our holiday and we will never return to the south of the island. Didn't stay around after the horrible experience in Taverna Drosoulities, so can't comment otherwise on the area.

We have reported the matter to the tourist police as we hope nobody else will be 'robbed' and intimidated the way we were.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
24 Thank Ailve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Picturesque side-trip from Samaria Gorge”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We came to the area for the Samaria Gorge and were looking for something else to do. This is a pretty, wide beach with an interesting fortress right on the bluff. Fun to wander around. We would have liked to tour the fortress but time was limited.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Clean beach, please keep it clean and take your rubbish (including cigarettes) with you”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have loved our visits to this beach, some areas are sandy and others with fine pebbles. The snorkeling is amazing.

Please help to keep our beaches clean, and take away more rubbish that you arrived with - including cigarette butts. I always hunt around for old ciggy butts and put them into our bag which we dispose of away from the beach.

There some lovely bars and restaurants above the beach where we have enjoyed lunches and drinks.

The water is crystal clear with a sandy bottom and does not get too deep too quickly. Ideal for children.

Half of the beach is naturist, and there is a good tolerance between naturists and non-naturists.

Once of our favourite beaches in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sholdsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frangokastello Beach also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Falassarna, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Frangokastello Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing