We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of Ammos

Ammos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

A family own tavern mit excellent fresh food. We enjoyed various great dishes. Very nice to sit on the teracce below the sea.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank katha_nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2015

Sifis and his family take great care to produce delicious food - all locally sourced and served with warmth and generosity. There seems to be some confusion between this taverna 'Ammos' and another with a similar name by the castle: 'pdegia' has reviewed 'Orthi Ammos' (by the castle) and has uploaded a picture. This is NOT Sifis's taverna, as the photo shows. Go to 'Ammos' for a true taste of Crete.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Babso_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2015

We decided to get married in Frangokastello and chose Sifis and Katerinas wonderful taverna to do so. We had a blast and the best wedding celebration we could think of. Everyone was so helpful with decoration, fantastic food, drinks and the setting and we celebrated until late at night. Sifis, Katerina and the whole family will forever be in our hearts as the people that hosted our wedding.

See pictures here: http://www.marrymedesign.de/hochzeit-auf-kreta/

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Maike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2014

This family-run taverna serves tasty local dishes using local produce. We have eaten creamy local cheese, fresh fish and stifado and other similar dishes made from local lamb, pork or rabbit. You are invited to visit the kitchen to view and select what you are going to eat. Service is friendly and attentive.

Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2014 via mobile

Nice location by the sea! Good food a bit delay to be served and to eat. Average prices. I suggest not to seat under the trees at night as there are drops due to humidity that falls on you and in the plates. Better to have a table further from the sea and under the cpver.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Letta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ammos also viewed

Frangokastello, Sfakia
Frangokastello, Sfakia
 
Frangokastello, Sfakia
Frangokastello, Sfakia
 

Been to Ammos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing