We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, great for relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Ηρακλειο Κρητης
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for money, great for relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great location, in a big area full of olive trees. It's great for families with children. They can walk the area by themselves (totally safe), there is a nice playground and they can even bike around the area without supervision.

The rooms are very good, especially the renovated ones. No luxury but everything a family would need including a fully equipped kitchen.

The beach is right in front of the appartment complex, you just need to walk down a hill to reach it.

Overall I would definitely go there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kxmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stay at fata morgana last week and it was wonderful .
The rooms are spacious and clean with fantastic view from the balconies .The surounding area was among olive trees and very nice playground.

The beach orthi ammos is perfect and fantastic keep mind when there are strong winds in the area the beach is ideal the sand is wet so you dont get a sand storm!!(we had a sand storm at the main beach of fragokastelo) when its blowing
we have a very nice stay and and the owner Athina was very very friendly and helpful

The only think i didn't like was the tavern nice place but i didn't like the food
so if you want a really really nice place without noise and a fantastic beach in front of you and beautiful castle nearby this is the place without noise bars and many people simply wonderful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

What can I say about this Hotel Appartments? I think even the best words could not describe this Hotel.
If you want a very very very good place in the area of Fragokastello to stay, stay here!! The rooms are super,the area big (olive trees aroound) a tasty Taverna, playgrounds , showers around.It reminds a first class Camping place with luxury appartments inside.Beautiful colours (blue-white) of the buildings, very helpful and kind owners.The beach is almost next to the Hotel and its one of the best in Crete probably one of the best all over the world!Thans to Fata Morgana for Relaxing in such a beutiful way!

Room Tip: If you prefer a view to the beach select a appartment on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OXIMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The location is fabulous, the appartment was ideal for us (family of five with a 14-month old baby). Spacious, well-equipped kitchen, nice balconies. Owner very friendly. Kids loved it as they could walk around by themselves, go to the playground or to our friends appartment. Very beautiful garden.

Room Tip: Big appartment ideal for families as it has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katerina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 3 days, 2 nights at the Fata Morgana and it was truly a peaceful experience. Our sons had a great time on the beach which is a short walk to a beautiful sandy spot. The hotel is amongst olive groves that provides shade, there is a playground for the kids and the room comes fully equipped with a kitchen and utensils. It is worth the trip from Chania!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower level room and close to the road - short walk to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markhamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

What a great place. All the staff were fabulous. The staff serves a great dinner and a tasty breakfast complete with a latte. The beach is one of the best we have been at. We also explored the coast and found other great sites. Enjoy enjoy enjoy

Room Tip: Tower is fun if you can negotiate the circular staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maiseymaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have now stayed at Fata Morgana seven times and will be back again. Having been to many other places in Greece, this is the best. If you want loud music and nightclubs forget it. If you want to relax then it does not get any better.

The apartments and taverna are situated in an olive grove and are overlooking a beautiful uncrowded beach. Apartments have air-conditioning, TV etc and are of a good standard. Prices are reasonable and the family who run the place are very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smacnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frangokastello
6.3 mi away
Livikon Hotel
Livikon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sfakia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lefka Ori
0.0 mi away
Paradisos Studios & Apartments
Paradisos Studios & Apartments
#1 of 17 in Frangokastello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kallicrates Village
Kallicrates Village
#1 of 6 in Frangokastello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oasis Apartments
Oasis Apartments
#5 of 17 in Frangokastello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Corali
Corali
#2 of 6 in Frangokastello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments

Property: Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments
Address: Frangokastello, Sfakia, Crete 73011, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Sfakia > Frangokastello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Frangokastello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fata Morgana, built in an area of 40.000 m2 with olive-trees, over Orthi Ammos beach, is the ideal place for your relaxing holidays. In the enclosed area your children can play and move around carefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments Frangokastello, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing