We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, food and sea view. ”

Fata Morgana Tavern & Cafe
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have been here many times. Taverna is on the cliff and view over the bay is amazing. Food is very nice too and now this is one of the best places around.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank olegliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 152 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2017

The taverna is attractive, well-lit, clean and inviting. We had a meal there last night. We were we think the only non-German folk there so if you are looking for a faverna with Greek feeling and sounds, this is not it.

We ordered Pasticcio and stuffed tomatoes.
Stuffed tomatoes, properly done are delicious - succulent, delicately herbed. These were not: dry at the top: and horribly over-peppered with ordinary pepper. The rice was glutinous and unpleasant in texture. The Pasticcio was bland but acceptable.

The free dessert was a dish of watermelon and apple. The ugly chunks of apple were already turning brown and the watermelon which should come cool and fresh and moist from the refrigerator was warm , woolly and unpleasant. We will not be going back.

At other tables the pizza was going down a storm. This is a tourist place without significantly good cooking.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snurdbat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

We stopped by this taverna several times, both for food and for drinks. They make a nice greek coffee and fresh orange juice.
All the food we ordered were really nice prepared. The mixed grill for two are massive and we couldn´t finish it all. Maybe because we also had starters, but you will get a lot of food. Also had fresh sardines at lunch. They didn´t have any fresh fish when we were there, would probably have dined there more often if so.
After trying many of the tavernas in the area, we rated the house wine in Fata Morgana to be amongst the best ones we tried. Service was good. You get a complimentary melon and raki at the end of your dinner.
The taverna is clean and the views are amazing.
Drinks on their own appears to be expensive, but food is a very good value.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grykem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

All the restaurants in the area offer the same items; this restaurant was clean, the staff was friendly, and access to the beach was perfect.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Anna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

Real Greek food here. TRY THE DAKOS.
Lovely family who really run it and incredible prices- sitting right on the beach.
Terrapins in a little stream next to it. Throw in a small piece of bread and watch them appear.
Our kids loved it.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank deanyoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fata Morgana Tavern & Cafe also viewed

Frangokastello, Sfakia
Frangokastello, Sfakia
 
Frangokastello, Sfakia
Frangokastello, Sfakia
 
Frangokastello, Sfakia
Frangokastello, Sfakia
 

Been to Fata Morgana Tavern & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing