We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alone in the desert !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Milano
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Alone in the desert !”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Extremely nice poistion in the Namib desert. The lodge is very comfortable and rooms are large. Structure is well integrated in the nature with colors that mimimize the view impact. They could be better built using stones and woods but it is in any case good enough.You can take several walks around the structure and visit some rocks where you can find old drawings. Dinner buffet is served outside....so depending on night temperature be aware".....we experiencing 7 degrees!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weissmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    58
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
73
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bs.As
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Extraordinarily lodge. Clean, tidy, everything you need to live the Namib desert and feel it as yours since it is out of the mass tourism. Execelent dining, very friendly and helpful staff.
Listening the furious wind at night from your room is a unique experience. Near from the "Solitaire village" in case you need to buy anything your forgot. Absolutely & highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceciliadematos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have spent two nights with my family (wife and two kids) at Namib Naukluft Lodge when we visited Sossusvlei. It was a good experience for us, not only for being one hour drive from Sossusvlei, but also the activities offered within the property - sunset at Marble Mountain, dinner in different locations, fantastic view. Rooms are not luxurious (not same as a city hotel) but good for the location. Administration makes an effort to provide the best possible to customers, considering that you are in the middle of the desert. No TV or telephones in the room, but people at the Lodge provide good service, so you can enjoy your stay at the Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fmonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was my favorite place we stayed in Namibia. It is well blended into the scenery and doesn't stick out. The rooms were extremely comfortable and I wished we spent more time here. The dinner we had was over at the campsite and it was delicious! I got to do a little walk around the hotel. Beautiful sunsets!

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Where_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

very nice lodge which blended into the surrounding area perfectly, rooms and food very good, although no tea and coffee facilities you could get it any time from the restaurant. we had such fun watching the ground squirrels at play. if you are travelling north and visiting the dunes early in the morning it is the perfect place to stop .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The lodge offers activities and if things had gone to plan then it would have been a simple drive and no problem, but our activity was plaqued by weather problems which the lodge can't help. But I found their response less than adequate. Rather than find us alternate accommodation for the night. First they directed us to a lodge very late at night which was full. No matter that the lodge cost US$1100 a night. Then when the manager of that lodge spoke with the manager of this lodge about the situation he hung up on her and indicated it was not his problem.

So a group of us including a family with a young daughter were stuck in the middle of the Namib Desert and expected to sleep in a car without any food or blankets since the morning? If the owner of this lodge had bothered to make an effort and call around we would have been able to go to alternate accommodation at a suitable time.

Fortunately the manager of the $1100 a night lodge directed us to a lodge just down the road, reasonably priced at $88 a night and with rooms available.

Sure bad weather can't be helped, but laziness and indifference, or perhaps incompetence....

Overall I thought they were unprepared for any deviation from a set routine, indifferent to the welfare of the people in the group including that of children, and their knowledge of the general area (including what lodges were around) outside of the roads normally driven down, quite poor.

I could only unreservedly recommend this place to people who can handle adventure and are of good health and constitution.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubin, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Good food, very nice conditions, clean and cosy with extremely breathtaking views!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
52.9 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
6.2 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
246 reviews
7.4 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
12.6 mi away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
335 reviews
33.1 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namib Naukluft Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Naukluft Lodge

Property: Namib Naukluft Lodge
Address: Near Solitaire | On the road C19, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Namib Naukluft Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namib Naukluft Lodge The best spot to experience the living desert is on our 13,000 ha farm, which was pronounced as a private nature reserve in 1999 and hosts the upmarket Namib Naukluft Lodge. Stunning sceneries invite you to nature drives and walks. Enjoy your stay in unexpected comfort and friendly hospitality. The Lodge offers a variety of activities and we recommend a stay of two to three full days. Enjoy the ever-changing pastel colours of the beautiful Pro-Namib. Use the morning hours for an easy climb to the top of one of the adjacent granite hills or a walk in the vicinity. Explore the diverse flora and fauna, where the trees grow seemingly out of the stones. Relax at the crystal clear swimming pool during the heat of the day. In the late afternoon you may join a ‘sundowner’ – drive to the natural marble mountains on the farm. Listen to the evening sound of the barking gecko – a concert never to be forgotten. The clear night sky invites you to an unreal stargazing experience. Try to spot the Milky Way and the Southern Cross! We’ll show you the oldest desert on earth. Our friendly staff will make your stay unforgettable. Welcome to Namib Naukluft Lodge – your desert dream! Namib Naukluft Lodge offers 16 tastefully furnished rooms with en-suite facilities and a private, spacious patio with a striking view. Excellent traditional meals are served in the restaurant, on the adjacent verandah or in the boma from the open fire. The lounge and pool area offer a relaxed atmosphere after an active day in the desert. The Sossusvlei ExcursionOn a daily basis, an excursion to the popular dunes at Sossusvlei is offered. The tour is conducted by an Englishspeaking driver /guide in a 4 x 4 overland vehicle. Secure your seat and book in advance. An early morning rise, with a snack before leaving, enables you to arrive at Sesriem, the Park’s gate, at around sunrise. Enjoy this unique desert scenery with some of the highest dunes in the world. The dynamic and star-shaped dunes are ideal for the keen photographer. Climb one of the over 300 m high dunes and you will be overwhelmed by the view. A full breakfast is served under shady camelthorn trees. Visit the Sesriem Canyon before returning to the Lodge for lunch. The Naukluft Hiking TrailIf you are fit and active, we offer a 2 hour hiking trail in the mountains of this 13,000 ha private nature reserve. Your hike will be accompanied by one of our nature conscious guides. However, you may also walk it by yourself. The trail is accurately laid out, a map and a radio will ensure your safety during the hike. Extend your Sossusvlei Shuttle for another day to experience the Naukluft Mountains – the other side of the desert ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Namib Naukluft Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namib Naukluft Lodge Sossusvlei, Namibia - Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing