We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAGNIFICENT!!!!”
Review of Zebra River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sossusvlei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zebra River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MAGNIFICENT!!!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We spent 2 amazing days at Zebra River Lodge. The staff were the friendliest we have experienced during our travels through Namibia. The owners Louis and Geraldine were very welcoming and made us feel as though this was our "home away from home". The food was excellent and well presented, the rock chalet we stayed in was spotless and the interior tasteful. The walk to the natural spring was like discovering a gem in the middle of the desert, Jobie our guide was very friendly and informative. We will definitely be back as this Lodge was one of our highlights.

Room Tip: The rock chalets at the foot of the mountain are recommended as the views are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Contessafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    25
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marsa Alam, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have been visiting Zebra River Lodge yearly since 2006. The area has a long history to show. It hosted the first living organism with a shell a few hundred million years ago , as well as our prehistoric forefathers that used handaxes as tools, and is still today a magnificent place to be. Zebra River Lodge is a wonderful lodge with welcoming warm hosting by Geraldine and Louis located in a fantastic scenery! Ideal for nature lovers with its remote location, rich hiking trails and view upon a waterhole that is regularly visited by wild life.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKaren2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent a night here en route from Sossusvlei to Windhoek and it was a great place to break the journey. Wonderful setting in the mountains and really nice sundowners on the top of a hill with sightings of the mountain zebras which was very special. Great food and very friendly staff. But this is not a place to go in midsummer-we were given rooms without an air-conditioner or ceiling fan and one room didnt even have any screens so one coudnt even open the windows.-quite unbearable.There was also only a flimsy shower curtain between the bedroom and bathroom which was very awkward.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We loved this lodge which is set in its own canyon. It is obviously very well managed by Louis and Geraldine and spotlessly clean. The food is home cooked and delicious, and well above the standards of most lodges, even ones that charge several times more. It was clear that the lodge treats its staff very well and much better than the larger lodges so attracts very good people who seem to enjoy working there. Everyone we talked to genuinely seemed to love the place.
We went on some good walks with a guide and on our own, and Louis took us to look for pre-historic hand tools in the valley which we greatly enjoyed. The owners have been there just over a year and really deserve great success. We will return on our next visit to Namibia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlynisD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Zebra River Lodge is good to reach with a normal car or with a 4by4. When you already had a hard trip in Namibia and you just want to relax a little bit, then the ZRl is your choice. The Lodge with his amazing and really clean accomodations is located in a breathtakingly landscape in the Tsaris Mountains.
The staff is lovely and they will try to get you a homefeeling during your stay here. The food, normally game like Oryx or Kudu, is very tasty and nicely prepared.
When you are searching for a nice activitie after a long and relaxed pool day you must join the Sundowner Trip.
So all in all I really can recommend for all the new Namibian tourists and you can be sure you will never forget your stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Wonderful surroundings with very comfortable rooms built into a gently rising rock face. A small herd of semi-wild horses wander around the grounds accompanied by a springbok who seems to think he's a horse too. The lodge is very comfortable and the new owners, who we understand have only been in place for about nine months, were very friendly. The food was excellent and the staff exceptionally cheerful and helpful. We regret we did not go on the sunset tour as others said it was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sands4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This Zebra River Lodge sits on the banks of the Zebra River, in the Tsaris mountains region of Namibia.
The lodge is situated oon the banks of the Zebra River, which only apparently flows for a few days each year) in a 10,000 hectares property.
It takes about 5 hours to drive from the capital Windhoek to the Lodge, mostly on unpaved roads (in very good conditions), but remarkably easy to reach (there are very few roads in Namibia).

The lodge offers everything you would expect for a venue of this type: the friendly family hosts, the knowledgeable guides, the charming pool, starry nights, zebras visiting the watering hole at night, plenty of hikes, sunset drives, the spring in the middle of the desert ... and more: an amazing collection of stone age artifacts!

Room Tip: More charming rooms are the modern ones, up the hill, build in stone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 082712z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
20.5 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
89 reviews
31.1 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
31.7 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
181 reviews
28.5 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
426 reviews
41.9 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zebra River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zebra River Lodge

Property: Zebra River Lodge
Address: D850 | Maltahohe District, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zebra River Lodge is situated on 12 500 hectares of dramatic scenery, deep in the Tsaris Mountains of southern Namibia and merely a hour and half drive from Sesriem and the Magic Dunes of Sossusvlei. Zebra River Lodge has welcomed guests to its special environment for more than 15 years. Let the warmth and our Namibian hospitality welcome you to a place of light and airy spaces on the slopes of the Zebra River Canyon. We invite you to relax under an azure-blue sky and to feast your senses on our tranquil surroundings where you can listen to the silence of nature. Visit this magic place where the setting sun makes the mountains glow in golden color and beautiful stars guide you through your sleep. Our GPS Co-ordinates : S24°31.779' E016°18.041' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zebra River Lodge Sossusvlei, Namibia - Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing