We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average safari but great experience not to miss”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sossusvlei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Don't expect to see the big five here at all. However the springbok , Oryx and jackal are fun to watch too. It makes that you can walk from your room to the main lodge by yourself. Walking on the dunes is amazing. We did Big Daddy which is not an easy one todo. Rooms are fabulous. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is also great. A must place to go. 2 nights is doable 3 for more relax

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vlinder_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 217 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

There’s something magic about becoming part of a world-famous scene.
And here in the Namib Desert that scene is a beautifully curved red sand dune, with the sharply defined ridge where sunlight meets shadow.
Now imagine climbing up along the knife-edge of that ridge – whether it’s the popular Dune 45 (so-called because of its 45-degree angle), Big Mama, or the ultimate challenge of Big Daddy where you climb up the steepest part on your hands and knees.
“But what happens if we fall off one side or the other?” Our guide from Little Kulala, Stewart, replied: “You can’t fall down the dune, you would simply sink into the sand as you slowly slide down.”
So we started to climb, placing one foot ahead of the other with a steady rhythm, “with an attitude that you don’t really care whether you reach the top or not,” said Stewart.
And we kept going, with our feet feeling heavier and heavier – not because we were exhausted but because our shoes were filling up with the fine red sand.
After labouring up the ridge for an hour and then sliding down the side of the dune in about 10 minutes, we decided to give Big Daddy a miss.
Back at Little Kulala Camp, where plunge pools provide a cool respite in the summer, the enclosed guest lodges and unlimited hot water offer the winter visitor a respite from the overnight temperatures which often sink close to zero Centigrade.
Yet its glass walls allow clear views of the surrounding desert, with impalas, ostriches and springbok, and an outside upstairs deck for star-gazing.
Indeed, we dined under those stars around a campfire while the kitchen and serving staff entertained us by singing and dancing.
Service was equally special. For example, when I chipped my tooth, arrangements were made for our flight out the next day to leave first thing in the morning instead of after lunch, as scheduled, so I'd be able to see a dentist in Windhoek.
With its fireplaces inside the main lodge and gas heating for winter visitors (the peak season because it gets so hot in summer), Little Kulala could be ideal for people who aren’t quite ready to give up all the creature comforts to see the creatures in Africa. It provides an easier experience for safari beginners – ready to climb sand dunes and explore the desert but perhaps not yet prepared for tenting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Unfortunately we booked three. this is a beautiful Premier Wilderness Camp, with wonderful accommodation and an exceptional site. However, after a trip to have a sundowner looking at the desert from a mountain, a trip to visit and climb the dunes at Sossusslevi, and and an afternoon trip to see the subterranean river canyon, we had done everything. This is a desert and aside from the Ostriches, and Oryx, there is not much else. Our guide suggested a drive to see a vineyard and have lunch for the third day, but the thought of driving on the rugged terrain for 1 1/2 hours to see some grapevines, and have a glass of wine was not appealing in the least. The other members of our group left after two nights, and we should have done the same.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the main lodge. It can be very windy and hot, and a trek from the last sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuckermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

As this is a Wilderness Premier camp, we were expecting great things and we weren’t disappointed.
The rooms contain all mod cons, including things that I wasn’t expecting such as a kettle, a hairdryer and air-con, plus a really comfortable bed. The large bathroom came with two indoor showers plus one outdoors. The ceiling to floor glass also ensures that you get a fantastic view of the dunes in the distance, and can watch animals wandering past your room whilst still in bed.
The additional outdoor seating area was also a lovely spot to relax although it was so hot when we were there, we found that the hot wind made it somewhat airless. The rooms also have a plunge pool but Wilderness may need to rethink the design of these as ours was effectively a mud bath as so much sand had blown into it – rendering it unusable.
In terms of food, it was of a really high quality – all meals from breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner were exceptional, definitely the best we had in any future camps and there is a real attention to detail here, such as the iced tea was actually iced.
Staff are also very good, they manage to be sociable and warm, whilst maintaining their professionalism and this is something that a lot of other camps struggled with.
Whilst we were here, we did the trips to the dunes, Sousslevlei and Sesriem canyon and we enjoyed them all very much, although be warned that at this time of year the trips to the dunes leave very early as it is too hot to do anything by 11.00.
A terrific camp.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent two nights at Little Kulala in September and found it to be a wonderful camp in every regard. The management was on top of everything and always around. Service overall was excellent. Of course the camp itself is luxurious and food excellent as well. We had a beautiful dinner one evening in the wine cellar which we particularly appreciated and a wine tasting the second night. As the dunes at Sossusulei are so well known with pictures all have seen showing a red color, we were a bit disappointed they did not appear red when we visited Big Daddy early in the morning. We did at least beat the crowd and heat by going out very early. In spite of the scenery perhaps not meeting our very high expectations, we did enjoy the experience and feel Sossusulei is a must stop for anyone visiting Namibia. LIttle Kulala can't be beat, but is perhaps too expensive for many.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monty1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Monty1424, thank you so much for the lovely review you posted about Little Kulala. We are, of course delighted that you experienced such wonderful service at the camp and will be sure to congratulate everyone there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here two nights in August. Beautiful room and setting with your own patio and plunge pool
If you wish you can sleep on the rooftop although it was chilly at night when we were there.
The staff is outstanding in service. Food was excellent. Enjoyed the 4 wheelers !
Guide was very good. Nothing but nice things to say.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXtraveler67_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This 5-star accommodation is pure luxury. In the middle of the desert, it gives you a wonderful view to the red sand dunes of Sossusvlei.
The chalets are with much space n between them so that you feel like being alone here, you do not hear a sound except the silence of the desert.
The large private terrace and large panoramic windows allow you to see the kudus and ostriches passing from the big XXL-king size bed. The chalets are spacious and tasteful, the aircon works perfectly and so does the fridge / minibar which is refilled every day. Even bath, shower and toilets are so spacious and built in African style. What was really funny was the second shower outside. From there, one could see the animals while taking a shower. On the roof top, they arranged for outside beds, so that we could do wonderful star-gazing. Room service is a couple of times a day and generally, staff anticipates our every wish. Overall, staff could not be more friendly and courteous as they are. Anyways, the real luxury here is the fact the low number of chalets that only allows a low number of guests and therefore the service is more than excellent. They give you the feeling that you are the only and most important guest in the whole facility.

Food is excellent and is served on a terrace with wonderful view to the desert and the water hole.
Apart from breakfast, supper und dinner in the afternoon a light always very delicious snack is served.
The guides are very well educated and trained and have a very good knowledge of the nature. Thus each little trip in the morning or in the afternoon was delighting.
One of the things that I keep in mind as one of the nicest memories of Namibia at all is the bush dinner.
Overall, this place is paradise pure and I am glad that I could be there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
14.4 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
89 reviews
13.7 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
5.5 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
830 reviews
10.4 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
207 reviews
10.7 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#5 of 12 in Sossusvlei
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala

Address: Sossusvlei - Kulala Wilderness Reserve, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range: $139 - $1,496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest luxury camp to the remarkable Sossusvlei dunes, Little Kulala's exquisite fittings, pastel tones and use of natural light merge into the timeless desert landscape. Aside from excursions to the dunes, the unadorned beauty of the Namib is explored via game drives and walks on Kulala Wilderness Reserve, providing sightings of desertadapted wildlife and plants, from ungainly ostrich to charismatic bat-eared fox. Scenic sundowners take in awe-inspiring views that stretch endlessly to a distant horizon, while a "star-bed" offers slumber under some of Africa's clearest skies. • 11 rooms (1 family) • nature drives and walks • Sossusvlei excursion (via private gate) • Sesriem visit • sleep out deck • quad biking • massage treatments • hot air balloon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Kulala Hotel Sossusvlei
Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala Sossusvlei, Namibia - Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing