We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the dunes”
Review of Desert Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights so that we could visit Sossusvlei, for which this was a great location, less than 10 minutes away from the gates. It was very cold in the evening and at night, but we were very unlucky with the weather. There was spare bedding if only two were using the room, but bring a hot water bottle if you feel the cold. You can order food packs from reception which are very good value. We had 4 types of meat and 4 different salads for less than N$150, which served 4 people easily. The also provide a free pack of cooking and eating utensils; only a deposit is needed. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Dave D,
Thanks for your fantastic review and for the kind compliments to our staff. We are glad you enjoyed our location and the pre-ordered food.
Hope the next time you visit Namibia the weather will be more pleasant. Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 442 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was the perfect place for me to stay in Sossusvlei - the tents made it feel like I was roughing it without actually doing so! The self catering kitchen was definitely the selling point though. On their website, they advertise that you can get dinner down the street (for a hefty price) at Sossusvlei lodge. What they don't advertise is that you can order food at reception to be brought straight to your tent for dinner. We ordered food on our way out to the dunes and it was ready by the time we came back. Lots of great game options for the braai. We ordered way too much food and it was still a MUCH cheaper option than going to the lodge! You can also get some food at their gas station near the sossusvlei gates.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Blitzburgh412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Blitzburgh412,
Thank you for your wonderful review! Glad you enjoyed your stay and our “fresh food on order” initiative.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

You need two nights to have time to spend an early morning and full day at the dunes and this is the place to be to do all of that. This is not a 5 star hotel, but it is 5 stars for what it is aiming to be - fixed tents that have nice, spacious bathrooms with plenty of hot water and a very unique kitchen area with a great morning view. The absolute best part of the stay: you can order seasoned game (like kudu, oryx, etc.) delivered to your room to cook on the open fire. Delicious and cheap. Note that we did go in the winter and it gets very cold at night so just be aware that you will want something warm to sleep in and for breakfast. Hours later you will be sweating at the dune 40 or 45.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank HikeVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear HikeVT,

Thank you for the pleasant review of you recent stay with us!

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Desert Camp.

Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Although a larger lodge than the others we booked on this trip, the architecture blends unobtrusively with the surroundings. Though not as posh as many of the lodges we visited, the decor "fits" the desert and dining and excursions are beautifully organized. The lodge is only a short - and stunning - drive from the dunes and the tour covers the highlights of the area in one outing. We experienced and photographed all that we came to see in our 2 day visit. Staff are welcoming, helpful, and knowledgable. The evening buffet provides great variety with a remarkable selection of game - as well as beef and poultry - all grilled to order. Namibia poses some challenges for vegetarians, but there were plenty of vegetables on the menu and I managed just fine. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: Choose a room opening onto the desert for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrCPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear DrCPB,
Thank you for the lovely review!
Glad you had a memorable stay with us.
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had very good time here and loved the tent and the people in the bar as well. Location is self catering but this is not a problem and you can eat in the lodge nearby or have some food and use the kitchen in your tent like we did. I would definitely go back in this location and in this same accommodation.

When in the region dont miss the adventure center in the lodge nearby, they suggested us wonderful program for the next day to visit the dunes and we also ordered the breakfast basket which was a great idea!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Davide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Davide Piras,

Thank you for taking the time to write this pleasant review.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in due course.

Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We arrived after a long drive and were very pleased the moment we saw the camp. The staff were extremely helpful and everything worked and was presented nicely. The tents were more like permanent structures - concrete base and short wall with proper canvas-type tent cover. The bathroom was fitted and was clean and had a decent supply of hot water. The beds were comfortable. The great feature is that you really feel you are outdoors yet have the luxury of a proper bed and a hot shower in the morning!

The other great feature was the BBQ - each tent has its own BBQ and for about 10 euros per person you can order in all sorts of fresh game meat, salad etc and cook it yourself (there is a fitted kitchen too).

Overall we came away very happy and have nothing but amazing memories of our stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear carlito,
We are very happy that you had a memorable stay with us! Thank you so much for your pleasant review !
Looking forward to welcome you back at our Desert Paradise.
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Sossusvlei Lodge (Taleni Africa), which was brilliant! The rooms were lovely and the aircon heavenly. Food at the restaurant was absolutely delicious. Wish I could go back for more! Next night we spent at the Desert Camp. Less luxurious, but good value. I loved sitting on the stoep in front of our tent/house watching an unrestricted view of the full moon rising over the desert. Beautiful! Staff at both sites were really friendly and helpful. I would definately recommend both the Lodge and the Desert Camp?

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmarie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Elmarie V,
Thank you for taking the time out to write this wonderful review!
Glad you experienced both establishments and pleased you would recommend both!
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Best Wishes,
The Desert Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
12.8 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
207 reviews
20.4 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
831 reviews
13.7 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
516 reviews
27.8 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Camp

Address: Farm on D826 | Maltohöhe District, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia (Formerly Sossusvlei Desert Camp)
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range: $116 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Camp is situated only 5 km from the entrance gate to Sossusvlei and Sesriem Canyon in the Namib Naukluft Park. Nestled under centuries old thorn trees, Desert Camp offers an unsurpassed view over the desert landscape and surrounding mountains. The 20 affordable, self-catering accommodation units under canvas are equipped with an en-suite bathroom, shaded veranda with a fitted kitchenette, barbeque, power points and an adjacent parking area. Each twin-bedded bedroom features a fold-out sleeper couch where 2 small children (under 12) can be accommodated for free when sharing with their parents. Facilities at the main building include a fully stocked and serviced bar with big screen television, a sparkling swimming pool and 2 communal boma-areas which are perfect for groups travelling together. Fresh food supplies can be ordered daily at reception. Meals can be enjoyed at the nearby Sossusvlei Lodge restaurant. Exciting desert activities like Guided Excursions to Sossusvlei, Quad Biking, Sundowner Drives and magnificent Scenic Flights over the dunes and coast can be booked at the Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre. A fully stocked shop, fuel and an Internet cafe is available at the Sossus Oasis Service Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Desert Camp Hotel Sossusvlei
Desert Camp Sossusvlei, Namibia - Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing