We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff shame about location.”
Review of Hotel La Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Bussola
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Capo Vaticano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I find it difficult to write an objective review about this hotel because the staff were all so fantastic and caring but that being said the location is far from a beach despite a shuttle service. The building is situated inland in quite an isolated sport. The room was clean and comfortable. The swimming pool was OK but nothing exceptional, head covers had to be worn - never experienced that and there was no bar service there in fact only a small bar in the hotel. No lounge with TV.

Food was basic and good with attentive quick service - no critis here. The Calabrian night was interesting and worth attending.

Our problem was that we had no transport and had expected it to be near a beach. The beach was accessible by their bus and there was an area for guests with loungers etc free. We did notice that front row was reserved for Italians not staying at hotel. Good small restaurant on beach. Beach was stony and deepy shelved and unsuitable for non swimmers or children.

Tropea was worth visiting but you paid for the service. Good small Calabrian shops but beach inaccessible unless you were young and fit enough to walk the considerable distance down from the cliffs above, thats OK its the getting back which might hurt. Again unsuitable for kids and elderly.

We left two days earlier and paid the price willingly because the staff were so good. This would be suitable if you were passing through and had transport but you must bear in mind that Clabria as a whole seems not to have adopted the tourist ethic.

The local railway was awful and the infra structure lacking in many respects.

I hope that things there improve but with RyanAir not flying to Lamazia tough times are ahead.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robocop646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2010

Just got back from our amazing holiday at Hotel La Bussola and miss it already! The hotel is family run and everything we were looking for...great Calabrian original food, super-clean rooms with Sky-TV, very nice people and gorgeous beaches not far from the hotel (the hotel offers a shuttle-service to Groticelle beach and to Tropea). We can highly recommend this hotel, if you're looking for the "real" Italian experience rather than touristy hotels, where you can get "Schnitzel and French Fries". The hotel staff are very happy to assist you with whatever wishes you have...being in Italy, it might help to speak a little italian, but most of them understand english, so no worries...we booked a tour to the "Isole Eole" and went to Reggio di Calabria and ever Sicily (Taormina) which was just fantastic and highly recommendable. We also got to know heaps of very nice people from Italy and England, which was an extra plus :-) We are defenitley planning to come back next year! Tony, Fabrizio, Stefano, Dario, Ileana, Andrea (il grande cuoco!) and all of the waiters - mille grazie per bellissime vacanze!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawnerd0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We booked La Bussola at the last minute and on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews, staying for 2 nights on the way down from Rome to Sicily. We were quite surprised at how basic it was, and how indifferent the service was. Initially, when we mentioned the special offer advertised on the website, we were told the information was wrong and would have to pay more - only to be told the price had changed yet again when we arrived. The lack of a lift in the hotel is a small inconvenience but one which says a lot about the place - it's a small, family-run hotel which may disappoint people who are looking for something more modern. It may well be that the place gets its act together in high season - in low season, however, it did not make a lasting impression and I would recommend that travellers head for hotels in the centre of Tropea instead.

On a side note - and this is in no way the fault of the hotel - the surrounding area is appallingly run down. There are some nice beaches, and Tropea itself is charming, but there is much here that would not be out of place in rural India. The roads are full of potholes, there are the concrete shells of half-finished houses everywhere, and rubbish is strewn liberally all over the place. Again, maybe something which improves in high season, but it makes you wonder why people make the (considerable) effort to get to Calabria when there are so many more beautiful places to visit in Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gailandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed in La Bussola in May 2010 for one week. We arrived at approximately 9pm and were greeted with a glass of Prosecco while we checked in. Dinner was no problem even at that time. During our stay all of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Room was large and clean, with room safe and sky television.
We were even included in a large family celebration during our week.
We have stayed in other Hotels in Tropea but this is the best by far!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wearytraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Very fine and clean Hotel accommodation with excellent tasteful prepared food with the original Calabrian products, breakfast is for Italian standard, (just an espresso coffee) far above average. This Hotel delivers real value for money.
Due our late arrival we missed out the evening dinner, but kitchen personal prepared a delicious plate of antipasti at 2300 hours to stop out our appetite, sincerely compliments for that. Nice and clean rooms, Nice and clean swimming pool.
Trips to Stilo and/or Serra San Bruno could best done by renting a car and full enjoying the mountainous area with all nice views. Don’t you dare to forget a visit Punto di Capo.
Organized small trips to or the Aeolian Islands by boat, or visiting a Local Recotto cheese maker are recommendable and against very fair rates.
Kind and helpful staff will make your stay in this hotel unforgettable!!
Only remark was our far too short stay, we’ll have to come back within short time

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

A goed hotel, very frendly people and perfect service.
Very beautiful nature and not far from the seaside.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mashashepel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

unforgettable vacation...I was so comfortable and pampered by everyone at the hotel,that I forgot I was by myself ,and recently separated.
Cleanliness and service make you feel you are at the Mandarin in Columbus Circle(NY)or at the Eden (Rome),when you go to the restaurant, you realized you are in Calabria because of the nice southern italy cuisine.
There is a beautiful swimming pool ,sometimes I stayed at the hotel to enjoy it, swimming and drinking a daikiri,even when the Capo Vaticano Beach is one of the most beautiful of the area.
I think this hotel has to go for another star very soon(they have just 3 ,currently).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piazollabaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capo Vaticano
0.8 mi away
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
#2 of 9 in San Nicolo
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Resort Tonicello
Hotel Resort Tonicello
#10 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
256 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 20 in Tropea
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
0.9 mi away
Baia del Godano Resort & Spa
Baia del Godano Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe
Hotel Cala di Volpe
#7 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bussola

Address: Viale Giuseppe Berto | Località Faro, 89866 Capo Vaticano, Ricadi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi > Capo Vaticano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Capo Vaticano
#1 Best Value Hotel in Capo Vaticano
#3 Family Hotel in Capo Vaticano
Price Range: $52 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bussola 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in Capo Vaticano Ricadi on Viale Giuseppe Berto, very close to Tropea (8 km - 9 minutes by car). The nearest town to the hotel is San Nicolo of Ricadi which is about 750 metres away - about 10 minutes on foot. The railway station of Ricadi is 900 metres away and is 12 minutes on foot. By train you can get to North way: Tropea (8 minutes), Pizzo Calabro (25 minutes), and other beautiful places along the coast. South way: Coccoriono (5 minutes), Nicotera (10 minutes), Scilla (45 minutes), Reggio Calabria (60 minutes) and other places. Throughout the day there is a shuttle bus service which connects our hotel with nearby Tropea and others places to see. This bus service runs to a fixed timetable. It can be easily reached by car as it near the road which goes from Tropea to Vibo Valentia and is about 30 kilometres from the latter. It can be easily reached by train as the nearest Ricadi station is only 0,950 metres away. The Lamezia Terme international airport is 60 kilometres from our hotel, Reggio Calabria airport is 120 kilometres from our hotel. The nearest beach is "Torre Ruffa" (it is a sandy beach) and is 950 metres away; Here the water gets deep gradually. Our guests also have a beach shuttle service at their disposal to go to "Grotticelle" (Objectively the most beautiful in the all Calabria, gradual depth and with fine white sand). This service runs from the morning and continues throughout the day following a flexible timetable to cover the whole day (Every hour go/back). Grotticelle is only three minutes away by shuttle; At the beach you can take advantage of many services (at prices of the Convention) to name a few: the excursion along the coast (from Capo Vaticano, untill after Tropea with several stops in the most beautiful spots to make the bathing or snorkeling (equipment included), eat fresh fish with drink on board, excursion to the fabulous beaches of Capo Vaticano and many other activities and water sports. Our hotel offers you special beach service rates (not obligatory as the beach is not private one): 1 beach umbrella and sun loungers for € 9,00 per room, per day (2 peoples). It is possible to make a lump-sum payment. Price is exclusively reserved to our customers. Particular attention is devoted to the cleaning of the rooms, every other part of the hotel and to the guest. This is "three star superior" hotel, far 0,500 mts from the centre of the village of San Nicolo of Ricadi. The hotel offer an efficient shuttle bus service from/to the best destinations that must be visited. The hotel is very renowned for its delicious cuisine. We were guests in the italian TV SHOW "Domenica del Villaggio" on Channel 5, "Vecchia fattoria"on Rai 1, We have been reported on the main guides of the sector and on the italian daily newspaper "Repubblica", and we have also prepared the best products of our local gastronomic for some Italian actor of TV series "Gente di Mare" at the port of Tropea. The menu' of our Restaurant changes every day, both lunch and dinner. The pre-cooked food does not exist here, we cook all at the moment. Once a week they organize tastings of Calabrian typical products: "Calabria evening", a multi-course buffet feast during which the best regional specialties are served with popular music, songs and dances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Bussola Capo Vaticano, Italy - Calabria
La Bussola Tropea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing