We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most friendly hotel ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Bussola
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Capo Vaticano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The most friendly hotel ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

From the moment they picked us up at the station, to the welcome beer they gave us when we arrived, to the bottle of wine that we received when we left, they treated us like a welcome guest into their family's home.
The rooms are simple but very clean and to be honest all I really cared about was that there was air con. You will particularly enjoy the bedrooms if you are a fan of a very stiff bed.
The pool area is really nice. Was a bit of a surprise to have to wear a swim cap which you buy from the reception but it actually provided rather a lot of laughs.
The food was DELICIOUS. The meals that we ate at La Bussola were genuinely some of the best food that we ate throughout our entire trip to Italy. Our lovely waiter Dominic recommended us some dishes that weren't on the menu and each and every one was great. They would treat us to desserts at the end of some meals which was a really nice touch. The wine available was lovely- think we can safely say that we LOVED the Falaghina. Breakfast is very simple- pretty much just ate some cheese and bread but wasn't all that hungry after gorging on dinner.
We stayed at La Bussola as we wanted to stay somewhere near to Tropea. They do offer a taxi service into Tropea for about 10euros a person each way which is an option but a bit pricey to do both ways. There are trains from Ricadi station which are very cheap, however there are so few trains each day that it makes the commute rather difficult. We ideally wanted to have dinner in Tropea but with the last train leaving Tropea at 8pm and dinner only starting at 8pm anywhere in Italy, we had to cut that day short. But then we did get to eat again at La Bussola so all was okay in the end!
One thing I'd advise against is going for a bike ride to the beach! The roads are SO steep and once you get down you aint getting back up! But there is a supermarket near by which they would be very useful for.
Also, just a FYI- When we were researching the hotel before coming, we were very excited about the Calabria night and actually booked accordingly because we thought it was on a Friday. However, it is actually on a Tuesday so we missed that which was disappointing.

Overall it was a lovely stay and would return for just the friendly staff and atmosphere alone. Would certainly recommend and happily come again

Room Tip: the second floor rooms have balcony. We had a third floor room the first 2 nights and we were jealou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    257
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
304
407
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was the second summer in a row that I stay at La Bussola. I chose to return to the hotel because of the exceptional quality of my first experience and I was just as impressed with the atmosphere this time.

As I have emphasized in my previous review, La Bussola boasts beautiful and clean rooms fully equiped for a comfortable stay. I have traveled extensively throughout Italy and I am always amazed by how spacious the hotel rooms are in Calabria considering the reasonable prices attached to them. La Bussola exemplifies this.

Equally renown is the hotel's kitchen, which offers a wide variety of dishes and is rich in local flavours. The plates are well portioned, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious.

With that said, the greatest advantage in staying at La Bussola comes down to the impeccable service and knowledge of the staff. The hotel is family run and adopts a philosophy of treating its guests like extended family. The staff have a great appreciation for the region and actively seek to share their joy with others. Because they have many close contacts within the region they are easily able to organize outings. Whether your interests lie in exploring the glorious beaches along the Coast of the Gods, planning excursions within the region, or participating in various other cultural events, they can and will point you in the right direction and answer all of your questions.

Calabria is such a unique region with so many pleasures to offer and as a guest at La Bussola you will have easy and uncompromised access to all of them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 9 days in May 2014. The hotel rooms are of a superior quality, and cleaned to a high standard each day. The pool and grounds were also very well kept. The main attraction of this hotel is the hospitality shown by the family who run it, they were flexible, friendly and accommodating. The informal approach at this hotel made for a relaxing fun holiday.

Room Tip: First floor rooms at the front of the hotel have a larger balcony area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

How nice to stay in a family-run hotel, where everyone made you feel welcome and special.
Excellent location with beautiful views to the sea and Stromboli.
Everything spotless and well-run, excellent food, delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sue_tickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for four days and loved each one. The most important point is that this hotel is a family run business. We arrived on a Friday evening just in time for the Calabrian celebration (each Friday). Quickly the owner Frabizio, had us drop our bags and walked us to a table the feast was fabulous and the music traditional. My jaw hurt the rest of the evening from smiling so much! We explored Tropea with ease from this location, and felt safe the entire stay, I also ran several of the days with enjoyment. Highly recommend this hotel you will feel like it was visit to family.

Best to all with your travels--Joe LoPiccolo

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for one week last July at this family run hotel,and I would like to thank Fabrizio and his family members for giving us a fantastic holyday!The Calabrian buffet night was a true reflection of the distinctive local food and wines,the view from our balcony was to die for,you could see in the distance the island of Stromboli with the smoking volcano!
A well run family hotel strategically situated for exploring this beautiful part of Calabria

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have balconies with breathtaking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnacina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Friends who had stayed at La Bussola a few years ago recommended it to us as we discussed our plans for a 3wk stay in Calabria, Sicily and Rome. Their memories of La Bussola were so fond that they decided to join us and we're glad they did! We spent 8 nights in this lovely, quiet, family run resort in late Sept-early Oct and were very pleased. An excellent staff did everything in their power to make our stay enjoyable. Our plan included a buffet breakfast with a lovely selection of cakes, meats, breads,cereal, yogurt and fruit, (and scrambled eggs when we asked.) Dinners were equally delicious and requests for drinks or meals not on the menu were filled readily. A small bar served us well with before or after dinner cocktails and an outdoor patio was well used for lunches. Within walking distance are 2 restaurants - Happy Days and Il Vecchietto for a change of venue. Our rooms were lovely, with new bathrooms, and pretty views from balconies surrounding most of the resort. The pool area was beautiful and the weather perfectly warm to take advantage of the area. A shuttle takes you to a lovely beach where you can rent a chair & umbrella and enjoy the blue sea or sit in the on -site restaurant and enjoy the view and lunch. The train station is just a short walk from La Bussola and took us to the beautiful town of Tropea for shopping & lunch, to the big city, Reggio Centrale to the museum to see the famous Bronzes and lunch at the waterfront park and then up 3 outdoor escalators to the shopping district. Pino, La Bussolas owner, drove our friends to the Hall of Records in nearby Scilla to translate info found there about their great grandparents- something he had done on their previous trip. Fabrizio , his son and manager at La Bussola arranged to have our rental car brought to our hotel on our last day rather than have us make the trip to the car rental place in Tropea. We were made to feel like visiting cousins! A wonderful family and agreeable staff in an out of the way, beautiful resort made our stay in Calabria a wonderful first stop in Bella Italy!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yearounders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capo Vaticano
0.8 mi away
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe
Hotel Cala di Volpe
#4 of 19 in Capo Vaticano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Resort Tonicello
Hotel Resort Tonicello
#7 of 19 in Capo Vaticano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
BV Borgo del Principe
BV Borgo del Principe
#1 of 11 in Zambrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
#2 of 9 in San Nicolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#1 of 21 in Tropea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bussola

Property: Hotel La Bussola
Address: Viale Giuseppe Berto | Località Faro, 89866 Capo Vaticano, Ricadi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi > Capo Vaticano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Capo Vaticano
#3 Family Hotel in Capo Vaticano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bussola 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in Capo Vaticano Ricadi on Viale Giuseppe Berto, very close to Tropea (8 km - 9 minutes by car). The nearest town to the hotel is San Nicolo of Ricadi which is about 750 metres away - about 10 minutes on foot. The railway station of Ricadi is 900 metres away and is 12 minutes on foot. By train you can get to North way: Tropea (8 minutes), Pizzo Calabro (25 minutes), and other beautiful places along the coast. South way: Coccoriono (5 minutes), Nicotera (10 minutes), Scilla (45 minutes), Reggio Calabria (60 minutes) and other places. Throughout the day there is a shuttle bus service which connects our hotel with nearby Tropea and others places to see. This bus service runs to a fixed timetable. It can be easily reached by car as it near the road which goes from Tropea to Vibo Valentia and is about 30 kilometres from the latter. It can be easily reached by train as the nearest Ricadi station is only 0,950 metres away. The Lamezia Terme international airport is 60 kilometres from our hotel, Reggio Calabria airport is 120 kilometres from our hotel. The nearest beach is "Torre Ruffa" (it is a sandy beach) and is 950 metres away; Here the water gets deep gradually. Our guests also have a beach shuttle service at their disposal to go to "Grotticelle" (Objectively the most beautiful in the all Calabria, gradual depth and with fine white sand). This service runs from the morning and continues throughout the day following a flexible timetable to cover the whole day (Every hour go/back). Grotticelle is only three minutes away by shuttle; At the beach you can take advantage of many services (at prices of the Convention) to name a few: the excursion along the coast (from Capo Vaticano, untill after Tropea with several stops in the most beautiful spots to make the bathing or snorkeling (equipment included), eat fresh fish with drink on board, excursion to the fabulous beaches of Capo Vaticano and many other activities and water sports. Our hotel offers you special beach service rates (not obligatory as the beach is not private one): 1 beach umbrella and sun loungers for € 9,00 per room, per day (2 peoples). It is possible to make a lump-sum payment. Price is exclusively reserved to our customers. Particular attention is devoted to the cleaning of the rooms, every other part of the hotel and to the guest. This is "three star superior" hotel, far 0,500 mts from the centre of the village of San Nicolo of Ricadi. The hotel offer an efficient shuttle bus service from/to the best destinations that must be visited. The hotel is very renowned for its delicious cuisine. We were guests in the italian TV SHOW "Domenica del Villaggio" on Channel 5, "Vecchia fattoria"on Rai 1, We have been reported on the main guides of the sector and on the italian daily newspaper "Repubblica", and we have also prepared the best products of our local gastronomic for some Italian actor of TV series "Gente di Mare" at the port of Tropea. The menu' of our Restaurant changes every day, both lunch and dinner. The pre-cooked food does not exist here, we cook all at the moment. Once a week they organize tastings of Calabrian typical products: "Calabria evening", a multi-course buffet feast during which the best regional specialties are served with popular music, songs and dances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Bussola Capo Vaticano, Italy - Calabria
La Bussola Tropea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing