We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek Break in Tullow Co Carlow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Certificate of Excellence
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Midweek Break in Tullow Co Carlow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Availed of a midweek break (Today fm Hotel Breaks) in Tullow Co Carlow in May 2014.

Price for two nights B&B (for 2 persons) was very reasonable @ €150. Hotel and Grounds are very well maintained. Rooms are spacious and clean. Gym is very well equipped. Swimming Pool, Steam Room and Sauna are first class. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley and we were delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

All the best,

Kind Regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    302
    190
    100
    53
See reviews for
341
406
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Friend and I spent a wonderful weekend in Mt Wolseley. We had purchased a GrabOne voucher which covered Dinner, B&B and a Spa treatment and was amazing value at €109 each particularly for the experience we had.

After checking into our very lovely clean room, we went first to the bar for some lunch in the Aaron Lounge. Nice selection on the menu, we both chose the Potato Pancakes, Grilled Black Pudding, Smoked Aubergine, Crème Fraiche – yummy!

We then went onto the Spa for our treatments. This was a sanctuary! Lovely treatments (in our case, Dry Floatation and Hot Stone Massage) and the environment was really conducive to relaxing and resting and the consultants there were extremely nice and welcoming.

Prior to dinner, we treated ourselves to cocktails from the small Retro Cocktail bar outside Fredericks Restaurant. Would recommend the Pina Coladas, nicest I’ve tasted for a long time and again lovely service.

Our dining experience continued our fabulous weekend – we chose from the Early Bird menu, each course as tasty as the one before accompanied by a nice bottle of Puna Snipe Merlot (for which we’ve been searching for in the Supermarkets since!).

And although thought we’d never need to eat again, we sampled the breakfast the next morning, lots to choose from and another good experience.

All in all we had a magic weekend. Felt like we’d been away for days, totally relaxed and very well fed. Definitely going to go back for another visit and this time bring the hubbies as lots for them to do as well while we’re in the Spa! Would absolutely recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanpeteCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley and we were truly delighted to read that overall you and your friend enjoyed your stay.

The Puna Snipe is indeed one of our more popular wines on the list. We obtain it from an independent trader here in Ireland and sorry to hear that unfortunately you were unable to obtain from your supermarket.

Once again, thank you for your very kind feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again sometime soon.

Warm Regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all The Morrissey Family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lurgancoarmagh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings.
Loved every second of my break a five star service I could not find one fault.
We will definitely be back to this hotel,I really enjoyed all the spa treatments highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityslicker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback and delighted to hear overall you really enjoyed your stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Wolseley again sometime soon.

Kind Regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Self catering house all the way!!! Access to all hotel facilities, kids clubs, DVD family room, cinema evening, spa leisure centre, what more could you need. Local shops to walk to include tesco and supervalue.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Maeve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback and delighted to see that overall you all enjoyed your stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Wolseley again sometime soon.

Kind Regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Just home after a long weekend with friends and family.
Beautiful hotel. Had one of the nicest meals ever in the restaurant. Taste, presentation, service was excellent. The lounge area is a lovely place to sit and relax. Only downfall is the spa!
Will definitely be back to this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Derval B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley Hotel.

We very much appreciate your valuable feedback and we are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay.

You might be so kind to consider emailing me on smorrissey@mountwolseley.ie regarding the spa being a downfall which was disappointing to read.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Wolseley again sometime soon and thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding here in April. 5 star service and a day we will never forget. Catherine Doyle the on site wedding co ordinator is a wealth of information and guidance. She really went above and beyond . Our families had a fabulous time from start to finish . We will be back for some weekend relaxation soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Sabrina & Paul,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your wedding day with us here at Mount Wolseley Hotel.

We are both honoured and delighted to have taken care of you and your husband Paul on your very special day. Catherine is a great asset to Mount Wolseley and we are very proud to hear once again she has gone above and beyond and the team have provided the standard and service to make your day so very special.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Wolseley again sometime soon and if we could take this opportunity to wish you and your husband a wonderful life together.

All the very best.

Kind Regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for three nights and had a very good deal on the price. Although there was nothing really bad about the hotel, it was good but not fantastic. If I had paid more then I don't think I would have been so happy.
The entrance to the hotel and the setting was very grand, an old fashioned country house style which was lovely. My room was very large with a seating area and the biggest bed I had ever seen! Little things leg the hotel down and it seemed to lack attention to detail. For instance my curtains were missing some hooks and so didn't close tight, sometimes I would get shower gel in the bathroom but no shampoo and vice versa. The hotel were happy to sort out any issues and staff were very pleasant but I feel you shouldn't need to ask. It was the same at the restaurant, the food was very good and servers were pleasant but I found I had to keep asking for things.
Overall not a bad hotel but not the best I have stayed at.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank carol_thrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Carol,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley Hotel.

We very much appreciate your valuable feedback and while we can take some positives from your feedback, we must sincerely apologise for the areas in particular in which we failed to deliver. We do pride ourselves on our attention to detail which is of paramount importance however we have failed to follow through on a number of aspects during your stay and again we can only sincerely apologise.

Your feedback has been extremely helpful to us and we assure you your comments have very much been taken on board and are being dealt with.

We do hope someday you would consider visiting us again and if you have any further comments or suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on smorrissey@moutnwolseley.ie.

Warm regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullow
22.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
9.4 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
9.0 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
23.0 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Wolseley Estate, Tullow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Tullow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On entering The Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort guests receive a warm personal welcome. In every way Mount Wolseley has been designed to compliment the history of the site and the beauty of its location. Stunning landscapes are visible from every room. From the grand staircase, sparkling chandeliers to the glistening Italian marble floors this hotel was designed for luxury. Reinvigorate your spirit in the Wolseley Spa, test your skills on the challenging golf course or simply spend a leisurely afternoon curled up with a good book in your spacious bedroom. Surrender yourself to this splendid resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club Hotel Tullow
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa And Country Club
Mount Wolseley Hotel Country
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Tullow, Ireland - County Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing