We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of visiting yesterday for a choir rehearsal. We had a wonderful lunch and the staff were exceptionally professional and friendly. Will certainly be back...a gem in this lesser visited part of the country.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank thisisgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Gerry,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your visit to us here at Mount Wolseley.

We were delighted to read your kind words and we very much appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

All the very best,

Kind Regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    303
    192
    100
    53
See reviews for
341
411
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
kerry Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home after a fabulous stay at this great hotel. Our room was very spacious, beds very comfortable, we had tea/coffee making facility, safe, iron/ironing board,hair dryer , room was quiet warm.
We had breakfast, lunch , dinner in the hotel , there was a great choice, and food was lovely, compliments to the chef and the staff in the dining room were very obliging.
We used the swimming pool, which was very nice, changing area very small for the size of the hotel
Overall a great hotel, good sized rooms and good food, and the staff were amazing, they could not do enough for you . Top marks to the staff of this hotel.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Samantha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley.

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have of course taken on board your comments regarding the changing rooms, something to which we do hope to resolve very soon.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Wolseley again soon.

All the very best,

Kind Regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Spent a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend in the Mount Wolseley Hotel recently. This was not my first time staying, but previous visits were just one night business visits. The overall experience was very positive. The highlight has to be the restaurant. The menu was varied with good choices. I particularly liked the quail starter and the lamb special was exquisite and that is even before I mention the fabulous desserts!! The staff were pleasant, with an appropriate mix of friendship and formality. The atmosphere in the restaurant was lovely, with piano player discreetly in the background,and a generally busy atmosphere on the first night.It was somewhat quieter on the second night and there did appear to be an issue with the heating which made the overall atmosphere less attractive. The wine list is also good value with good choices.Breakfast in the restaurant was equally impressive with great variety to suit all tastes and indeed moods at breakfast time!
Another highlight has to be the Aaron Lounge which has a lovely homely and relaxing atmosphere. While it is quite extensive it does have a hint of that 'country house' drawing room effect.The live music on the Saturday night was excellent and added to the warmth of the atmosphere. The lounge certainly compensates for the much more open and functional atmosphere of the reception area.
Our room was spacious,comfortable and clean. A bowl of fruit appeared in the room after we checked in on the first evening, not sure if this is standard practice or maybe some recognition of the very slight delay as we checked in- either way it was a nice touch!
I used the pool and adjoining facilities on a number of occasions during my stay. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful,however in general there appeared to be a very low level staff presence in the general pool area. The pool, sauna,steam room and jacuzzi were a pleasant if not a particularly memorable experience, possibly the use of the word 'Spa' conjures up images and expectations which the existing facilities don't quite match.
I'm not a golfer but the grounds and the golf course are pretty impressive to a non golfer's untrained eye. We did manage to take a walk, maybe even a stroll,on both days in the general direction of the town and around the town which was quite pleasant. The hotel grounds are quite pleasant and the town has its moments, however the walk from the hotel gate to the edge of the town would be more enjoyable if a proper walking path was available for those who like to stroll around such places. The hotel might also consider keeping an up to date collection of details on tailored activities such as walks or places to visit in the area. I'm not really talking about the collection of generic tourist material which is tucked away near reception,I'm thinking more of someone with local knowledge drafting a few leaflets which could guide visitors to activities for an afternoon or a few hours which would allow visitors get a flavour of the history,heritage and beauty of rural Carlow, - could start with a town trail even.
As we departed at the end of our stay we drove away much more slowly than when we arrived.The overall charm of the big house had worked its magic!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsykennedy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Patsy,

Thanks ever so much for taking time out of your day to give us a detailed account of your stay with us here at Mount Wosleley.

It really was wonderful to read I must say and a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can only thank you sincerely for your suggestions to which we have very much taken on board and are already looking into this.

Again, thank you for all your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Wolseley again sometime soon.

All the very best,

Kind Regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Spent only one night here on Wednesday. Absolutely excellent. Felt special.. Staff really make you feel like you are their only customer. Was playing golf here next day so asked for 3.30 check out so that we coul d shower and chang afterwards. No problem.. They could' nt do enough to make you feel at home. Huge hotel. Very comfortable. Very impressive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks ever so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley and it is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

All the very best,

Kind Regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a very impressive property - although I have never stayed in the hotel proper, I have stayed on numerous occasions in the adjacent holiday homes, and have always found them to be first-class (especially since recently renovated).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobsTrip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Rob,

Thanks very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stays with us here at Mount Wolseley and it is a pleasure to see you were happy with everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again sometime soon.

All the very best,

Kind Regards,
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had our wedding in Mount Wolseley on Nov 1st 2013. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and it's staff. Catherine, the wedding co-ordinator, was amazing to deal with. Living in Canada we expected it to be difficult to organise the wedding from so far away. That was definitely not the case. Catherine was on top of everything, always quick in her response to any queries and happy to help us in any way. She put us at ease and I honestly don't feel I had to worry once about anything.. once we made a decision that was it and Catherine saw that it was carried out. We felt like we were the only couple having a wedding there that year! No request was too big or too small and even with our dinner we were able to make adjustments no problem. It really was a stress free process!

The day itself was amazing. Even when my mother called Catherine on the morning of the wedding with a bouquet emergency, a new bouquet was ordered and delivered in plenty of time with me none the wiser! (I found out only a few days later!) Bala, who looked after us for the day, was such a sweet gentleman. He couldn't do more for us and got us through the entire day one step at a time. We had our ceremony in the Golf Club and it was a beautiful setting. The photographs in the grounds turned out amazingly and we hopped in the golf buggy for the trip back to the reception. The bar staff, reception staff and dinner staff were superb. With a special mention to the girls who looked after us at the top table who were so attentive and a pleasure. The dinner itself was to die for. All of our guests were raving about the food! As the night wore on everything continued to go smoothly and every one of us had an amazing night. There wasn't a peep out of the staff as the party kept going, we weren't shooed out at last orders and kept the night going in the residents bar.

The next day we had much of the party still at the hotel for the second night. The bar staff were great serving us food and drink all day. The staff in the Morrisey bar that night were fantastic and made sure to keep the party going. Even when there was an issue the front staff and bar staff were amazing in dealing with things. I'd like to thank Sandra at the front desk who was amazing to deal with and the young girl in the bar that night - I wish I could remember her name!

We stayed in the presidential suite for 3 nights and it was pure luxury. On checking out we just couldn't believe the amazing weekend we had had. All our guests thouroughly enjoyed themselves and I didn't hear one complaint!

We would absolutely recommend this hotel as we had the time of our lives!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SorFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Sorcha & Graham,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your very special day here at Mount Wosleley.

It truly is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed every single moment of your wedding day and your overall weekend with us.

We have extended a warm sincere thanks to all the team for all their efforts in making your wedding day so special and it is a very proud moment to read such kind words from your good selves. Thank you very much.

Wishing you both a lifetime of happiness and all the very best in the future and we look forward to seeing you home in Ireland sometime in the near future.

All the very best.

Kind Regards
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in the 'O' suite here. Don't think I'll do the room justice with this review. It exceeded all expectations!

The design of the suite is very clever...the mini-gym was a great touch along with the power shower (nozzles at EVERY level!)

The main bathroom itself was beautifully designed with a jet stream bath also. The layout of the room makes for lazy mornings and early evenings...the hinged television bracket gives the option to the 'early riser' or the 'night owl' without disturbing your partner.

The bed itself (curtains a great touch) was extremely comfortable and HUGE! The room service was of an excellent standard and staff only too accommodating with our wishes.

Upon arrival at the hotel, reception staff were very attentive and professional, blended with a friendly warmth not usually experienced in remote hotels.

The food in the restaurant was top class and I would almost travel to Tullow again just to taste their menu!

All in all...I have travelled to many parts of the world (am catching up with my tripadvisor reviews!) and to find this gem of a hotel and suite on my own doorstep is fantastic. I will definitely be staying here again and highly recommend it to other users.

I am not a golfer and this should not turn down other non-golfers from staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Splash out on the O suite..you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendjoeystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks ever so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley.

It was an absolute pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for all your kind words & wonderful feedback regarding your stay.

It is always a pleasure to see our Guests leaving happy and we thank you for taking time out of your day to share this.

Please do consider coming back again sometime soon, we would be only too delighted to welcome you back to us here at Mount Wolseley.

All the very best and enjoy continued good travels.

Kind Regards
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullow
22.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
9.4 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
9.0 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
23.0 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Wolseley Estate, Tullow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Tullow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On entering The Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort guests receive a warm personal welcome. In every way Mount Wolseley has been designed to compliment the history of the site and the beauty of its location. Stunning landscapes are visible from every room. From the grand staircase, sparkling chandeliers to the glistening Italian marble floors this hotel was designed for luxury. Reinvigorate your spirit in the Wolseley Spa, test your skills on the challenging golf course or simply spend a leisurely afternoon curled up with a good book in your spacious bedroom. Surrender yourself to this splendid resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club Hotel Tullow
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa And Country Club
Mount Wolseley Hotel Country
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Tullow, Ireland - County Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing