We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Talking to the owls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Falconry and Bird of Prey Centre.

Woodlands Falconry and Bird of Prey Centre.
Ranked #4 of 8 things to do in Tullow
Attraction details
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Talking to the owls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

It's a nice experience to hold an owl and that is pretty much what you can do here and look at some beautiful birds of prey , you can learn a little about the birds and where they come from and what their natural habitat may be . A nice place kids will love .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annweeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highlight of the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Loved this experience and the knowledge that was shared. The guy that runs this is truly passionate about the birds and their care.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonGirl589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were a little sceptical, given the price isn't cheap (€6 adult/€4 child) however we really enjoyed the experience.
About 30 birds in all, including James the Golden Eagle. The owner is obviously mad for birds and kept us entertained with stories and information. He went above and beyond allowing us to handle a couple of the Falcons which was amazing.
They have two cute and tame owls in the shop which our 6 year old loved.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bookemdano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This was a great day out.
Entertaining and informative.
We did the hawk walk with Tom and Martha, a harris hawk.
The centre has lots of different birds of prey and Tom is a great host, giving plenty of information on the different breeds of bird.

Helpful?
5 Thank Ronan311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A place you should defiantly visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I hadn't heard much about this place so I didn't know what to expect but it was amazing.

It was only 6 euro entry! While paying a burrowing owl landed on my friends shoulder, I instantly loved the place since there was some owls flying freely around the room.
I then proceeded outside where the rest of the owls were in enclosures, hawks, falcons, eagles. I got the great opportunity to hold two of the owls and a hawk. While holding this birds I was able to stroke them and admire their feathers up close which was a great experience. The staff were very informative and were able to answer all questions we had and provided us with extra fascinating facts.

This is a great experience not to be missed if your a bird or animal lover. Great value for money and great location as is it not isolated and has other attractions beside it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Evangeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlands Falconry and Bird of Prey Centre. also viewed

Tullow, County Carlow
Tullow, County Carlow
 

Been to Woodlands Falconry and Bird of Prey Centre.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing