We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable family day”
Review of Rathwood

Rathwood
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Tullow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rathwood is one of the most popular visitor attractions in Ireland with charming activities that everyone from Grandparents to Grandchildren can enjoy together; free children’s playground, Express train, woodland walks, birds of prey centre and restaurant as well as an array of shops. There is something for everybody. Rathwood, is particularly famous for its Express Train which takes you around the extensive forest grounds, watch out for the deer and sheep along the way and see if you can spot their newly born offspring. It even has a little stop off at the pond to allow you to feed the ducks and geese with food provided by the Train driver. In addition, Rathwood offers attractions such as the Falconry, which is an outdoor educational Bird of Prey Centre where eagles, hawks, falcons and owls from around the world can be seen on display; free Forest walks, with two easy trails that the whole family can enjoy; free children’s playground; cookery classes for both adults and children; deer park and much, much more. Furthermore they house an excellent restaurant which offers an array of delicious lunch dishes and tempting home baking. They are famous for their scrumptious chocolate mud pie and double layered pavlova and all Rathwood's cakes are baked daily by their talented Pastry Chef Margaret, who has been with them for over 18 years. Special diets eg coeliacs are catered for with a delicious selection of gluten free meals and treats. Rathwood hosts a number of special seasonal events throughout the year and advance booking is highly recommended eg The Santa Train - Ireland’s most popular Santa visit with magic and interactive fun with Santa, Mrs Claus and the Elves. The Rathwood Centre in addition to their attraction host an array of shops for you, your family, home and garden. Rathwood has something for the whole family that will make you want to return time and time again.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Loved this place, from the shop, to the restaurant to the express train loved it. My toddler (2 year old) especially loved the train, meeting the train driver and getting bread to feed the ducks just made her day. My husband was joining us late and unfortunately watched us leave on the train, the girl at the desk gave him complimentary tickets for our next visit, which I thought was very kind and decent of her. Staff in the shop were very helpful too. The food in restrauant was lovely, def leave room for desert! We had three different deserts and they were all amazing! The playground is not much to write home about but it was enough to keep my little one busy. I will be visiting again, and I will most def be booking the magical Christmas train next year

Thank helenob81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathwood, Public Relations Manager at Rathwood, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you Helen for your great review. We are extremely pleased that you and your family enjoyed all we have to offer and we are sorry your husband missed the train. We love to hear from visitors who have enjoyed the whole Rathwood experience and we look forward to seeing you again when you come to enjoy our magical Santa train.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 339 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

On our way to Wexford we decided to stop in Rathwood for lunch. It was a Sunday and very busy. My two daughters had the beef and it was so tough that neither of them could eat it. I had quiche that had so many green peppers in it that it was sickly. The salads were tasteless. We were so disappointed that we did not even have dessert which is usually the highlight. The service was also non existent with no management presence at all. It will be a long time before we return.

2  Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathwood, Public Relations Manager at Rathwood, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Wayne. We are very sorry to hear that you and your family were disappointed when you visited Rathwood's Restaurant. We certainly apologise for your experience and assure you we will look into all the points you have raised to ensure experiences like this can be avoided. We hope that you will return to give us another chance some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a lovely day at Rathwood when we were home on holiday (kids were talking about it for days after) loved the shops and garden centre! staff were extremely helpful and friendly, especially the man who took our tickets on the train, kids were absolutely enthralled when he was telling them what to look out for on the ride ... and they just loved feeding the geese!! A visit to the falconry went down very well, my grandson had his photo taken with a bird nearly as big as himself and the keeper was so patient and answered all questions!
We ate in the restaurant, delicious and reasonably priced .. will certainly be back next year!!

2  Thank Babs175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathwood, Public Relations Manager at Rathwood, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you very much for you wonderful review, it is always a pleasure to hear from our visitors. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your time here at Rathwood and we look forward to seeing you and your family here again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Arrived today at Rathwood Tullow Co Carlow four children and three adults, for the wild west train. The children were entertained from start to finish, they enjoyed it so much they were still talking about it in their beds. The train journey through the woods fed the Geese for Mrs Claus, then tried to catch the robber who robbed the bank, and took three bags of gold. The maze is amazing its done out in the shape of the map of Ireland with all the counties marked out. I would highly recommend this trip for children of all ages and of course adults. We ended up in the Falconry well worth a visit. The Santa Train is a must, also the Halloween Train. You could spend more than three hour's there, lots to see and to, make sure and use the restaurant, something for everyone.

Thank JenCarlowIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathwood, Public Relations Manager at Rathwood, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you Jen for your wonderful review of Rathwood Activity Centre. We love to hear peoples comments and reviews and we are extremely pleased that you and the whole family enjoyed our wild west train and activities. We hope to see you again soon at Rathwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

You could spend a whole day here. Lovely, friendly atmosphere. It doesn't matter what age group. Plenty to keep children and adults alike entertained. My favourite place has to be the Falconry Section where I had to the joy of holding an owl. Tommy was really interesting and with great patience told us all about the different birds of prey. Great shop with something for everyone. Lovely garden center with well kept plants and flowers. My family and I really enjoyed our visit and would not hesitate to recommend it regardless of the weather!

Thank paulaosullivan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathwood, Public Relations Manager at Rathwood, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much Paula for your great review. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time here at Rathwood and that you recommend us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rathwood also viewed

 

Been to Rathwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing