We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choice, first class!”
Review of Archways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Archways
Ranked #1 of 3 Tagoat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Archways has to be your first choice.

It is a first class, professional establishment worthy of its great reputation. With it's exceptional hosts, you cannot wish for better.

We are regular visitors to Ireland who have travelled the country extensively and now like to spend our time out on the west coast. This is only the second year that we have stayed with Eileen and Chris and chose this time to stay on our arrival and departure. Our return was as though we were visiting friends.Their welcome is second to none and the rooms fresh and comfortable with a fantastic machine which brews both coffee and leaf tea. The finishing touch is an accompanying treat of homemade cakes.
There is now, should one require, the added bonus of being able to order a selection of the produce that Chris uses in his excellent, and spoilt for choice breakfast, including Eileen's fantastic homemade bread. Take advantage of this, and, while you enjoy breakfast, your order is prepared ready to take with you.

Book to enjoy an excellent dinner. Chris uses only the freshest and local produce and you will not be disappointed.

The location is perfect for the ferry as it is just a few minutes down the road.

Try the Archways experience - you won't be disappointed.

We are already looking forward to staying again next year!

Colin & Kim.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house face away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiburtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
archways, Owner at Archways, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

It was great seeing you both again. I'll try and do some extra practise so that we can play together next time. Thanks again, Chris and Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 159 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Archways for one night in May 2013 after catching the ferry from Pembroke.
We arrived a little later than expected at around 7.30pm with the other dinner guests seated in the lounge area but Eileen calmed us down settled us in our room and made sure we weren't rushed. Although we'd read about Chris's abilities in the kitchen I wasn't expecting as nice a meal as we had. Most of what we ate was 'home grown' with the pork from their own pigs and vegetables etc primarily from their own garden. You can definitely taste the difference in everything.
Our room was a front room of average size with a queen size bed and a modern compact ensuite. Some traffic noise can be heard but it isn't so much to be a show stopper.
Overall the room and accomodation is good without being exceptional however the dinner and breakfast is exceptional and well worth the effort to make this number 1 on our list. Thanks Eileen and Chris for a great night

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellersfromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
archways, Owner at Archways, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thanks for your comments, its great to know you enjoyed your stay.
We have a programme of upgrades which include improving the sound quality in the front rooms by installing addditional windows in the archways and extending the bedrooms onto the walkway outside giving an addittional sit out area.
Hopefully this will be completed when you return.

Thanks again, Chris H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Archways is THE place to stay in the Rosslare. My wife and I stayed there after taking the 14:00 ferry from Wales and prior to taking the 09:00 ferry back. Eileen is the perfect host, warm, accommodating and welcoming. Chris is an excellent chef and very friendly, belying his gruff exterior and Harley habit. Breakfasts were great. We didn't sample dinner, but it smelled great. Prices are very reasonable, in keeping with the smallish rooms. WiFi doesn't reach the rooms furthest from the router, but is strong in the lounge area.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CanadianTraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just returned from Ireland, having broken our outward and return journeys from Bantry at Archways. It is very easy to find and very convenient for the ferry. It was so nice to be able to have a full Irish breakfast at leisure before boarding the Fishguard ferry.
Eileen and Chris have got everything down to a tee. They are very friendly and welcoming as well as professional. The rooms are very comfortable, the bathrooms well appointed and the Tassimo coffee machines a very nice touch.
You must have dinner here because you will end up walking or driving further afield and probably paying more anyway. Chris is a fantastic chef and we had lovely meals during both overnight stays. You can bring your own wine if you wish.
Archways worked out very well for us. It was nice to be able to bring our dog as well. We have been to Rosslare Strand before and it is great for pooch to have a run around. This time we drove the 20 or so km down to Kilmore Quay. It was beautiful and our dog was able to tire himself out on the expansive sands and dunes and so settled nicely when we were having dinner!
We will certainly recommend Archways to all our English and Irish (and other!) friends. Thank you Chris and Eileen for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plymsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
archways, Owner at Archways, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

It was a great pleasure meeting with you guys, including Harvey.
Thanks a million for the great review, helped us to get our second Certificate of Excellence, Thanks again.
Hope the return to Plymouth and work was not too traumatic.

Hope to see yo again soon

Chris and Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had booked this B and B based on the cuisine offered and were not disappointed ! The evening meal we had was superb and would rival many major restaurants, The breakfast was also divine. The extras, ie pack lunches and home produced produce to take home was an added bonus. The pack lunch was very tasty and generous and enabled us to have two enjoyable "stops" on our onward journey.
The room and overall accommodation was also excellent. We would definitely recommend to others and hopefully return ourselves in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
archways, Owner at Archways, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

It was a pleasure meeting you. Glad the packed lunches were ok and we hope you enjoyed the bacon, sausage and bread,

Just got 6 piglets some come back soon for some rare breed pork

Chris and Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My Fiancée and I stayed here on Easter for 1 night. Before we arrived I had questions in regards to our dog joining us as well as where to go for Easter dinner. Eileen was very prompt in answering every one of our emails. She informed us that our dog was welcome and let us know that Chris was available to cook for us Easter night if we wished or she could recommend other places. We decided to take her offer in having Chris cook for us and we are so happy that we did!

Right when we arrived Eileen was very welcoming. It has been quite cold in Ireland, and the sitting room was so warm and welcoming. She offered us tea, coffee, and cakes right away and showed us to our room. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The bathrooms are very clean and modern. They have a flat screen TV with loads of channels. The clock even has a place to play and charge your iphone and/or ipod. After our drive from Dublin we took our dog for a walk and then relaxed in our room before dinner.

Dinner was amazing!! If you stay here you really should have Chris cook for you one night. We had an amazing prawn starter, following by stuffed pork loin with plenty of veg, followed by a ginger and rhubarb pudding. Everything was so delicious. Some of the best food I have had in Ireland since we've lived here. I am so happy we chose to eat at the B&B. And the breakfast was also superb. I had a delicious porridge with fresh cream and honey while Tom had the Full Irish Breakfast. Tom kept raving about his plate especially the black and white pudding Chris made from scratch.

All in all we had a wonderful stay and a lot has to do with the personal touches Eileen and Chris have put into the B&B. They are lovely people who love to host. I am looking forward to bringing friends and family here when they visit! Thanks again Eileen and Chris!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
archways, Owner at Archways, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

It was great meeting and talking with you. Glad the race went well and we look forward to your return
Chris and Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hosts Chris and Eileen are very friendly, welcoming and interesting. Everything was perfect and we would love to stay again.

We arrived from the ferry on a very cold and wet night. The natural warmth in the lounge room was the first highlight. Our room was large and the bed very comfortable. The ensuite met all our needs. The breakfast was as good as our high expectations having read other reviews.

In the end though, when all the facilities are very good, the difference is often the hosts. Archways shines. Thanks.

John & Val

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdhvjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
archways, Owner at Archways, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thanks guys, we enjoyed the conversation, really interesting and some great travelling pointers. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tagoat
4.2 mi away
Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rosslare
Hotel Rosslare
#4 of 5 in Rosslare
287 reviews
1.1 mi away
Churchtown House
Churchtown House
#1 of 1 in Tagoat
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
1.8 mi away
Padua Bed & Breakfast
Padua Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 16 in Rosslare
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archways

Address: Rosslare Road, Tagoat, Rosslare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare > Tagoat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tagoat
Price Range: $90 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Archways 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Archways, Rosslare. We offer modern contemporary accommodation located near Rosslare Harbour, County Wexford, Ireland. Much more than just a B&B our accommodation is your “home from home”, set in 1 ½ acres of landscaped gardens encompassing an oasis of peace and calm in the beautiful Wexford countryside. We are only 4 miles (6 km) from Rosslare Ferryport (Europort) and Rosslare Strand and just 10 minutes from Wexford Town. Relax in the contemporary accommodation and let us exceed your expectations for quality and service. The ambiance at Archways Rosslare is chic, warm and friendly and the finer touches make all the difference to your stay. We specialise in providing the finest food available from our homemade bread, sausages and puddings for breakfast to the best available fish, meat and vegetables perfectly cooked for a memorable dinner. We offer early breakfast so that you can make that early morning Rosslare ferry and will prepare a quality packed lunch to enhance your onward journey. Your hosts, Chris and Eileen Hadlington look forward to welcoming you to share our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Archways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archways Ireland/Rosslare - Tagoat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing