We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schloss Elmau
Nearby Hotels
Gut Elmau(Elmau)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveler rating
713
64
35
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
64
35
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa treatmentsconcert hallrooftop poolkids activitiestennis courtsturkish bathbavarian alpshiking and bikingmichelin star restaurantperfect retreatthe general managermain restaurantbuffet restaurantfellow guestspiano barstunning hotelgreat spa
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 845 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A luxury hotel located in heaven. The spa and the four pools are wonderful and the healthy spa restaurant serves deep fried battered prawns over wok fried fresh vegetables with deep fried samosas. Now that is a hotel that understands healthy eating! The Italian restaurant is the one to go to,the food is excellent and the wine choices are just great. Try the Merlino Dolomiti with cheese just great.
We have visited in winter and summer,there is always plenty to do and an even greater sense of space and comfortable chairs and sofas when space is needed.
I would put this hotel in the top 10 in the world and on Saturday evening there is a concert of high quality music from 7-8 pm, the programme is varied and really gives the evening a focus.
My only concern is that it will close for 2 weeks in 2015 to host a G8 summit. This hotel is far too good for politicians.

Room Tip: Every side of the building has a great view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan2395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Susan2395,

"How good can it get?", that was your question, well we try to make it better each and every day! As soon as we stop doing that, we will lose that special spark that makes Elmau, Elmau. Thank you for the kind words and for the praise on the restaurant Fidelio. In our Spa Restaurant Ananda our menu is divided into two sections, one to nourish soul (regular offering) and one to nourish your heart (healthy eating, vegan and vegetarian) and we find our guests always have something to choose from in this format. Thank you again and please let me know prior to your next visit.

All the best,

Nikolai

General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Schloss Elmau is absolutely amazing!!! Our family recently spent 5 days there this past June. The setting is breathtakingly beautiful: the Bavarian alps, lush pines and greenery with rolling hills are its backdrop. The hotel is both a wellness hotel and family resort. There are 4 pools throughout the property to choose from and relax in. The spa is full service and our entire family all took advantage of the fitness classes offered and spa treatments of course. The hotel also has 4-5 wonderful restaurants to eat in and we enjoyed trying everyone of them. We all loved starting our day having breakfast in the La Salle restaurant each morning. They have a great breakfast buffet! As for non spa activities, there are numerous trails throughout the area. One of the shortest hikes is a 30 minute steep walk up to the Elmauer Alm. The Alm is a small Alpine Inn where you can rest and get a sausage to eat or beer to drink. There is also 1.5 hour hike from the hotel that takes you into the nearby picturesque town of Mittenwald where you can have lunch and sightsee. Along the way you will come to the two lakes: Lautersee and Ferchensee which are beautiful. There are restaurants at the lakes as well and we chose to eat at the first lake, Ferchensee. Hotel staff is available to pick you up if you're too tired to travel back which you probably will be. As for the staff, everyone there is wonderful and very attentive!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Terri R,

I can only thank you for your kind words. We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the surrounding areas. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next European Trip!

All the best,

Nikolai

General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

When finally driving around the bend and seeing Elmau lying ahead in its beautiful setting - I already feel stress falling off my shoulders. The Yoga retreats in recent years have been wonderful! Having breakfast at the Ananda afterwards without the kids and dinner in the evening in a true family atmosphere - I love this combination. The staff takes good care of me and my needs, remembers me and my likes and dislikes. Thus there is great continuity which adds tremendously to my feeling of being utterly welcome.
For the luxury I am able to enjoy, the marvellous spa environment and outstanding Yoga teachings, the world class concerts, fast internet access, let alone the beautiful surroundings and more - I find the cost quite adequate.
I cannot wait for my next visit!

Room Tip: I spend so little time in my very cosy little room on the 3rd floor, main building - so it fits my needs perfectly.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swanni U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Swanni U,

It is always a pleasure for us to welcome back guests. The fact that you enjoy Ananda so much and that you see all the hard work that Johannes Mikenda and his spa team have invested into our Yoga program (with over 20 retreats a year) makes us very happy. Please let me know how we can make your stay more enjoyable (even in your cosy little room on the 3rd floor) prior to your next visit.

All the best,

Nikolai

General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Based on other reviews and the website, I knew I was in for a treat, but my expectations were exceeded at the Scloss Elmau. I stayed three nights with my parents and it was just an incredible experience from start to finish. We arrived by train from Munich and the hotel picked us up from the station. On arrival we were taken straight to our room, a suite, which while not overly large, was more than sufficient, plus had a balcony, sitting room, and complimentary minibar. Even in April with snow still on the ground the property is beautiful, I can only imagine what it looks like in the summer. The spa was beyond spectacular, one of the best I've ever experienced and incredibly relaxing, just what I needed. The restaurants were exceptional and on-site concert was a really nice touch. It's definitely a splurge, but one worth making. I cannot recommend it enough, it's truly special in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElizaDinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2016

Dear ElizaDinDC,

I must honestly apologize for having missed responding to your review. But here I am two years later saying Thank you!!! Please let me know if you are ever in the area again and in need of a place to stay!

All the best,

Nikolai

General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Yes, fairy tale castles do exist! Driving along the narrow, somewhat windy road up into the German Alps you come upon an open field, bordered by some seriously majestic mountains. As you turn the corner, you can’t help but to be drawn to a vision that at first doesn’t even seem real. The breathtaking Schloss Elmau. You almost have to rub your eyes in disbelief.

The castle was rebuilt fairly recently after a fire destroyed much of the original structure in the mid 2000’s. However, the restoration process was painstakingly carried out—yielding the perfect combination of cupolas, towers, grand stair cases with modern wood elements, glass, and art pieces, and just pure elegance. When you walk in, you immediately know this isn’t your ordinary castle hotel (if there is such a thing!).

The rooms vary in size and style according to where they are situated: the original castle section, or the new-ish Wetterstein Wing (named for the imposing mountain facing all/most of the rooms). We have stayed in both areas, and found each location offered a different set of charms. Each room, old and new, did have all the mod-cons: iPhone docks, minibar, fancy lighting, luxurious bedding (Those linens!), robes, spa shoes / bags, and lovely scented toiletries. The insulation between rooms and to the outside was also adequate. Housekeeping does show up a few times a day (cleaning, turn-down, leaving goodies), but we found that they indeed ‘respected the sign’ if placed on the door—

Oh, the incredible SPA. Seriously—Schloss Elmau offers perhaps the best spa on the planet (and we’ve been to a few of those!). There are more saunas and swimming pools than you can even discover in a single visit: the outdoor saltwater pool is incredible—it is heated such that you can easily swim in the snow under the stars (put that on the bucket list, seriously!). The upper swimming area is also outside, and offers a stunning view of the Alps. The various saunas offer different scents and temps. Perhaps our area of choice was the h-u-g-e Haman—featuring 2 different steam rooms (with amazing aromas: we still dream of the Linden flowers!) and several enormous ‘slabs’ to rest on after your steam…in addition to a large relax area complete with the best Turkish Delight we’ve had outside of Istanbul. We could have spent the entire vacation in those rooms!

If you can pry yourself out of the spa area, then you *must* try the Michelin starred resto, Luce d’Oro. Course after course of pure art and sensory overload. We are serious foodies and were simply blown away that Chef Mario only had one star—His approach to food takes the traditional and modernizes it by adding interesting structural elements (the appetizer resembled the NYC skyline) and molecular aspects yielding unbelievable textures and flavors. The wine list was equally impressive, and featured many options that were quite affordable. When you stay at Schloss Elmau, you receive a certain $$ amount that can be applied to any dining facility on the premises. Even Luce d’Oro! But, reserve early—the space is intimate and cozy… not too many tables (although it has been recently renovated; we haven't yet seen the results).

This review is long enough… but in short: you must take in a ‘cultural’ performance if available, and visit the fitness facilities, including the yoga classes (although the hotel is quite large and we felt well exercised just cruising around from A to B!).

On balance, Schloss Elmau is a fantasy experience that delivers in every way. Kudos to the incredibly professional and thoughtful manager, Mr. Nikolai Bloyd, for setting and keeping this establishment to a very high standard (not an easy thing to do!). We can’t wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view... the Wetterstein Wing (Fluegel) is gorgeous!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Love2Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Love2Escpae,

That was a long a thorough review, and we appreciate it very much. I hope that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and the birthday celebrations!! Please stay in touch and let me know prior to your next visit.

Thank you again for the kind words,

All the best,

Nikolai

General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews