We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Aromas”
Review of Schloss Elmau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Schloss Elmau
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elmau
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly Aromas”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Alps are there to greet you when you pull back the curtains in the morning; the Alps are there to challenge you when you sign up for a wonderfully guided day hike. Inside this tastefully appointed castle you find surprises at every turn: an herbal infused dry sauna among the several family saunas, a steamy herbal sauna among the several adults-only saunas; afternoon cakes and tea; a bookstore with a variety of classic and contemporary works, available in several languages; two libraries and countless relaxation rooms stocked with tomes on art, architecture, and adventure. Schloss staff put you at ease. And for lighter touches that keep this place feeling friendly? The billiards room also holds a foosball table and the little mat placed by your bed at evening turn-down wishes you Gute Nacht, Good Night, Bonne Nuit, and, magically, wishes you Guten Morgen, Good Morning, Bonjour when you rise!

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floor are quiet, with outstanding vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalWriterWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear CalWriterWanderer,

I am glad that you enjoyed the turndown service and the mat, which they placed at the foot of your bed, but what did you think of the turndown chocolates which they left on your pillow??? We were very happy to have you and your family visit us again after such a long break (nearly 8 years since your last visit), however I hope that not as much time will pass before you visit again. We will keep the saunas light on......


all the best,

Nikolai

General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    60
    28
    19
    10
See reviews for
249
287
68
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The beauty of the setting is awe-inspiring. The spas are fantastic -- doubly so after an easy hike up to Elmauer Alm, the mountain hut near the Schloss, or even better after a six-hour guided trek with Hermann, the mountaineer who leads expeditions into the Alps a couple times a week. There's both a liveliness and elegance that makes this place a marvel for the body and the mind and the spirit.

Along with the great variety of food (from a Michelin starred restaurant to an Italian bistro that offers a fixed menu as well as a la carte, plus epic meals in the live cooking restaurant), there's a warmth and conviviality that make it easy to understand why some folks come back to this place again and again. Check out the literary and musical evenings as well -- there's a fabulous range of jazz and classical musicians who perform here regularly, plus writers and thinkers from around the world who come to give readings and hold conversations.

While the experience is epic, there's an intimacy about the Schloss, and a level of personal care that the staff provide, that even at high season you'll find as much quiet and seclusion as you'd like. Strike up conversations with fellow guests, though, and you'll find yourself among fascinating folks from around the world: violinists and economists, entrepreneurs and engineers. I'm looking forward to coming back and exploring (and enjoying) Schloss Elmau in seasons and years to come.

Room Tip: The historic rooms have wonderful personality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthBayTrave1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear SouthBayTrave1er,

As I am sure you are well aware, all of us miss you company here!! The hike into the mountains was great fun and I think all of us that day had a great time, conversations, and views as well. We appreciate all you did for us during your stay and look forward to the next visit. And please give my best to your wife and son as well, tell him more comic books await him during his next stay!!

all the best,

Nikolai

General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was the icing on my entire trip. The views of the Alps alone were worth it, but then we went on the day hike to a little Bavarian Beer garden, and then to pristine lake that is only a short bike ride away and of course the entire spa experience, it was the best stay I could have hoped for, and definitely the highlight of my trip. I was surprised by reviews that the food was ordinary, I felt it was incredible, in particular there was one Lamb ragu dish that was so good that I felt compelled to try (unsuccessfully) to replicate it. Waking up to birds chirping and then breakfast on the balcony overlooking the meadow was the perfect way to start each day. I don't feel that you can go wrong with this amazing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Anthony M,

Thank you for all the great praise!! Please let me know if you need the recipe for our Lamb Ragu.

All the best,

Nikolai

General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A great experience all around. The landscape, the hotel, the food, the service, the number of activities. The place is very luxurious yet never feels stiff or formal. This is certainly also due to the fact that children are welcome and there are plenty of kids activities. Which means that adults actually get to enjoy the serenity of the place. So it works for both. Simply beyond words.

Room Tip: You want to ask for a room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Daniel L,

It was great to see you and your family again after so many years. I am glad that you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best,

Nikolai

General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This is the ultimate place to have a luxurious getaway. It is in the middle of the Bevarian Alps where you can hike, go for a bike ride, or just sit in the pool while soaking up the magnificent views. The dinner and breakfast buffet was amazing with different selections each day. I particularly liked the piano bar where you could enjoy a cocktail after dinner, and listen to the guest pianist. The hotel also has a gorgeous concert hall where various classical and jazz musicians will perform in the evenings. The rooms are exquisite! This is a definite must when visiting this part of the world.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Angie Bond,

You and your friends, and your family are always welcome!! See you soon,

Nikolai

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksdale, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Schloss Elmau is a unique and world-class travel experience in every way. Not only is it the only hotel I came across in Bavaria that truly feels detached from the everyday world -- it is situated in a nature preserve in an untouched valley at the foot of a towering mountain range -- there are also top-notch experiences and amenities everywhere you turn. I know that it has won numerous awards, especially for its spa program, which is apparently one of the best in Europe. Even though I spent most of my time at the Family Spa, I enjoyed a fully-equipped, beautifully lit and decorated pool and multiple saunas that out-do the nicest pool facilities at pretty much every other hotel I've ever stayed in. There are great views from every part of the hotel (even the table settings help orient you toward the mountains!) and though I was traveling alone, I can imagine how sharing a private spa, gazing at the mountains and sipping champagne would be the ultimate experience for couples. Plus, there's a great kids club that really seems to make the most of the nature and outdoor activities surrounding the Schloss -- saw them on a few torchlit evening hikes and the kids were really loving it. So there's options for privacy as a couple even if you want to still travel as a family.

Another thing I loved about the Schloss is that everything is right there -- you don't have to do any traveling at all in order to enjoy yourself. Of course I went on a lot of hikes while I was there in June and July, some of them group hikes with the hotel's resident guide, a swarthy mountaineer called Hermann. But there is also stuff to do on rainy days and evenings, like visiting the libraries/bookstore and going to a concert (in the full-size, beautiful, full-time concert hall... yeah). I didn't get to try all six of the restaurants (they rotate their opening hours, so there are usually only two open at one time) but I went to La Salle a lot and also Fidelio, the Italian restaurant. It was great to have the variety of all these restaurants, again without having to leave Elmau to go into any neighboring towns. Tip: get the Schloss Elmau package when you book your room, and you'll get breakfast as well as some dining credit in the more expensive restaurants.

Overall, some of the friendliest service I've ever enjoyed at a hotel, plus clean, sophisticated, beautiful surroundings inside and out. I will definitely try to come back here, because even after a few weeks it was clear that there is always something new to do (something I can't say for many other hotels in the world).

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the lower levels in the summer (you'll get to open your windows to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Alice748,

Your review is very flattering and I thank you on behalf of the entire team for your kindness and the time you spent with us. We truly enjoyed your presence in the hotel and your interactions with all of us.

All the best,

Nikolai

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Never in my life have I had such an amazing experience! The rooms were so luxurious, the staff was so friendly, the grounds are extremely breathtaking! My favorite part is the spa experience. They have four pools, amazing saunas and steam rooms. A highlight was the Turkish bath, so relaxing... after a nice steam you lay on hot rock beds that help your muscles ease into an amazing relaxation!

After all the amazing spa and lodging you are then treated to such amazing meals!!!

Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to this experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 307Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Carly Bond Meyer,

Of course you and your husband are always welcome back. It was a pleasure to have you with us.


All the best,

Nikolai

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmau
3.0 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Das Kranzbach
Das Kranzbach
#1 of 4 in Krun
524 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dorint SportHotel
Dorint SportHotel
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
232 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
247 reviews
5.2 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Elmau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Elmau

Property: Schloss Elmau
Address: Elmau 2, 82493 Elmau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Elmau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elmau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schloss Elmau 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SCHLOSS ELMAU EXPERIENCE Discerning globetrotters not only enjoy the magic location of Schloss Elmau in probably the most beautiful sanctuary of the Bavarian Alps, spectacular Spas and a liberating sense of perfect calm, hospitality without limitations & cosmopolitan restaurants, Yoga or Tai Chi Chuan with excellent teachers, phantastic sports as well as edutainment for their Kids, but also inspiring encounters with some of the greatest artists and authors of our time. The new RETREAT has been the Residence for the Heads of State & Governement during the G7 Summit 2015. 47 Suites, 2 Restaurants, Lounges, Library, Yoga Pavillon & Spa connect a wholly new dimension of space & casual elegance with breathtaking views of the monumental Wetterstein Mountain & roaring Ferchenbach Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Schloss Elmau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Elmau Luxury Spa And Cultural Hideaway
Schloss Elmau Luxury Spa & Cultural Hideaway Hotel Elmau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing