We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth”
Review of Schloss Elmau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schloss Elmau
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elmau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is by far our favourite hotel - luxury all over! We stayed for 4 nights in January, our 3rd visit, and we were not disappointed, although the beginning of our stay was not as good as the rest of our stay. The hotel seemed to be full, when we arrived and the "Badehaus" was well visited so it was not so quiet as it has been previously. Also for the first time we experienced the very uncharming behaviour of occupying a chair/bed with a book, and then leave it. Several times we entered one of the "Ruheraums" and found almost no people only books... However, there were still plenty of everything so it was not a problem, just strange to experience! Luckily most people left the next days and once agan we felt like being almost alone in the most beautiful place. The rooms are big and airy, as are the bathrooms. Great food in all restaurants and wonderful concerts in the evening. Our day usually starts with breakfast in the "Badehaus", very quiet and in complete harmony (always great service), then a visit to the outdoor pool, some reading, maybe a walk or a visit to the gym, and in the evening concert, dinner and goodnight cap in the lounge with piano music. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Carate,

I am so happy to hear that even during your repeat visits we are still your Favorite hotel. Please contact me directly before your next trip, and I will make sure to reserve you a chair in the badehaus:) But please do contact me directly if I can help in anyway.

All the best,

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 810 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is truely magical. We had an amazing weekend here. There is luxury, spa and culture. I could go on for pages about how wonderful this hotel is, but i dont want to spoil the surprise so here are a few things;

- you can spend hours in the rooftop pool overlooking the stunning scenery (it was unbelievable in the winter)
- make sure you walk to the lake (45 mins, winter or summer)
- we went to an economics lecture by a resident author and economist which was interesting and also attending a wonderful classical concert.
- we spent hours playing scrabble by the fire
- the buffet is the BEST buffet i have ever had. each item could have been served on a 5* menu

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Zain H,

Thank you for all the kind words. I am glad that you received the chance to hear Tomas Sedlacek, our author in residence, during one of his lectures. It also pleases me to see your comments with regards to our Buffet Restaurant, we constantly are striving to exceed our guests expectations in all our restaurants. Please let me know before your next visit.

All the best and Happy Holidays,

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Beautiful scenery, immaculate service, great food. Beautiful rooms. Everything from reservation to departure worked extremely smooth, staff are highly competent and friendly, in a discreet, charming way.

Among all the places I stayed, it is this one and Six Senses Zighy Bay that left nothing at all to wish for.

Room Tip: Definitely mountain view, I quite liked the Windows on the Mountain Suite. Also stayed in the Junior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear mara_torres,

I am so glad that we are able to receive praise from a return guest like yourself and that you fell so strongly about us. The fact alone that you, with 27 reviews already written, say that we are a place "that left nothing at all to wish for.," makes our job that much more rewarding!

Thank you and all the best,

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is spectacular. From beginning to end. Incredible room overlooking the mountains, sensational food, the best spa in the whole world, two concerts a day and staff for whom nothing is ever a problem. This is old-fashioned elegance, style and class with modern touches. Two nights was not enough.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank SwitzerlandDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear SwitzerlandDuffy,

All I can say is Thank you so much for coming, and please come back! If you need anything prior to your next arrival, do not hesitate to contact me.

All the best,

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel Schloss Elmau after its relaunch in 2002 is an oasis of comfort between Garmisch and Mittenwald. It caters to families and individual travellers alike, to those seeking a spa and a Grand Hotel, and for those looking for absolute quiet and a busy cultural life. Name me an hotel that has a concert hall und various swimming pools, six restaurants und a well-appointed bookshop, two library rooms (with "silence, please") and a gym. In Schloss Elmau you have of all of this, and more ... Service from reception staff to chamber maids, restaurant waiters to wellness staff, is provided by well-trained, courteous, and dedicated people. And if this were not enough, nature provides attractive surroundings from the wild mountains of the Wetterstein massif to an idyllic valley with a murmuring stream. This sounds to be too good to be true but it is - at a price, of course. Such luxurious amenities do not come cheap but are worth every Euro you spend.

Room Tip: I prefer a room in the Schloss facing Wetterstein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genussmensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Genussmensch,

It makes us all very happy to hear that you enjoy so many various aspects of Schloss Elmau. The concerts, the restaurants, staff, nature, spa, libraries, etc., we are glad that you are able to appreciate all of this, it is exactly our goal. To make you feel at home, and comfortable! We look forward to you next visit.

All the best,


Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

if you are looking for a peaceful place with a 5Star Spa in a spectacular nature setting you will find it at Schloss Elmau. The staff, rooms and amenities are what you expect from a Leading Hotel, but the Spa and the nature is what makes this venue a one and only. Of course you can always opt for the highly recommended culture program with international recognized artists, or you just chill and pamper yourself with a treatment at the "Badehaus" Spa, which is adults only. If you plan for a stay with kids, be prepared that they will be challenged all day with outdoor activities and will find new friends in record time. We do love Room 216 or 106 with is a larger double ( i guess Junior Suite ) and gives you a large balcony/terrace and a breathtaking mountain view. Be advised that the central restaurant is buffet style and can be a bit busy at main dinner times. We always went to the Kaminzimmer Room or dined at luce dóro. For breakfast we would recommend to use the Ananda Spa restaurant ( no kids ) to have a quiet and healthy treat.

The GM Nikolai Bloyd is one of the best GMs that Müller-Elmau ( the owner ) could hire to get his paradise in the Alps to the level of hospitality it deserves. He is always around caring for detail and beeing open for every input. Chapeau.

We do stay at this hotel around 5-7 times a year and the only thing we may need to complain about is the softness of the mattresses. I know it is hard for a hotel to find the perfect fit for "everyone", but we always find the beds to soft.

Room Tip: try the "new" house for larger rooms with a view if you travel with kids. go for the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear happa00,

I am very flattered by your comments, and appreciate them very much. I am glad to see that you are such a fan and also an ambassador for Schloss Elmau. I look forward to your next visit, and will do my best with regards to the Mattresses.

Thank you for the Christmas Card and all the best,

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a short 4 nights break at Schloss Elmau and really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The standard of service was excellent with friendly helpful staff. The room was very comfortable and spacious. Food quality was very good, with a choice of two restaurants where the evening meal comes in the room rate - in others there is a 45 Euro allowance towards the cost of the meal as part of the room rate. We were asked to call to reserve a table each night - some of the restaurants are quite small but we had no problems getting tables.
The spa facilities are good - the hamman plus a steam room and Finnish sauna. There is also a family spa which we didn't use. We had some of the spa treatments which again were very good.
Lots of very pleasant walks in the hills around the hotel. One we enjoyed was to the Elmauer Alm lodge which serves meals and drinks.
We were lucky with the weather, temperatures in the mid 20's and able to sunbathe. However, the forecast was for snow and temperatures to drop below freezing the day after we left!
Appears we went during the school holidays as lots of children in the hotel. However, only really saw them at mealtimes.
Our first visit, but overall definitely a hotel we'd like to go back to.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GordonS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FO_Stanley, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear GordonS77,

Thank you for the visit and for the kind comments you made in Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed the dine around concept and our spa. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance before your next visit.

All the best,

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmau
3 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
327 reviews
1.5 mi away
Das Kranzbach
Das Kranzbach
#1 of 4 in Krun
570 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dorint SportHotel
Dorint SportHotel
#12 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gasthof Fraundorfer
Gasthof Fraundorfer
#8 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
304 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
300 reviews
5.2 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Elmau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Elmau

Address: Elmau 2, 82493 Elmau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Elmau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elmau
Price Range: $636 - $1,125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schloss Elmau 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SCHLOSS ELMAU EXPERIENCE Discerning globetrotters not only enjoy the magic location of Schloss Elmau in probably the most beautiful sanctuary of the Bavarian Alps, spectacular Spas and a liberating sense of perfect calm, hospitality without limitations & cosmopolitan restaurants, Yoga or Tai Chi Chuan with excellent teachers, phantastic sports as well as edutainment for their Kids, but also inspiring encounters with some of the greatest artists and authors of our time. The new RETREAT has been the Residence for the Heads of State & Governement during the G7 Summit 2015. 47 Suites, 2 Restaurants, Lounges, Library, Yoga Pavillon & Spa connect a wholly new dimension of space & casual elegance with breathtaking views of the monumental Wetterstein Mountain & roaring Ferchenbach Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Schloss Elmau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Elmau Luxury Spa And Cultural Hideaway
Schloss Elmau Luxury Spa & Cultural Hideaway Hotel Elmau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing