We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expections in every way”
Review of Schloss Elmau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Schloss Elmau
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elmau
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
439 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Exceeds expections in every way”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I had very high expectations after exploring the website and reading reviews - however - everything was even better than I anticipated. It's hard to know where to begin. The food was amazing, fresh, and plentiful. From the evening buffet, you can compose your multi-course meal as you like. There are consistently 2 amuse bouche choices, various appetizer selections, 2 soups, a huge variety of salads, and 3 main course selections prepared to order, and then a vast vareity of cheeses and accompaniments, and 3 sweet selections - usually one cake, a mouse or parfait, and a warm baked creation with some sauce served separately. These change everyday. Or you could eat in one of the other on-site restuarants, attend a concert, or linger in the spa. The pools were a dream, the adult sauna very relaxing, and the steam room included bins of dead sea salts for exfoliation. The setting: breathtaking... It was simply and utterly perfect. Service was flawless, intuitive, and generous. I stayed for 5 days and didn't want to leave. This place works if you are alone, a couple seeking romance, or a family with small children. (Teenagers may want more stimuli off-site, whereas you may find it hard to tear yourself away.) I am already planning my return. Highly reccomended! Tip: They take suspension of time seriously here. If you have scheduled a treatment or plan on attending an event, bring your own timepiece with you, as there is a conspicuous absence of clocks outside of the ones on the sound systems in the guest rooms. All the better to lose yourself here. Read the facinating history booklet in the room! It explains a lot and will help you understand the philosophy of the place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josanpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FO_Stanley, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Dear Josanpu,

I was a real pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for the comments you made during your time with us as well as here on Trip Advisor. We always strive to make each guest feel at home, and as I mentioned during our first talk, it is great to have a fellow West Coaster visiting us. Please do not hesitate to contact me before your next trip, all the best,

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    61
    28
    19
    10
See reviews for
250
287
68
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Wonderful location, great rooms with fantastic views, lovely pools and so much to do in the area.
The vibe was great, whether walking or cycling, enjoying the pools or other wellness facilities, sitting in the evening in the library (a very good selection), or lounging in the grounds. It is clearly popular with families (there were several groups of three generations) and the facilities and activities are well designed to enable children to enjoy themselves without other adults being disturbed. For example, the main bathhouse building is adult-only, including a quiet small restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch, while there is a separate family pool and sauna etc area and families tended to dine in the main dining hall.
On our second evening there, I had been mentally composing a negative tale for a TripAdvisor review, after the dinner we had booked had not been as we felt it was described and we very disappointed. When an opportunity arose, I spoke my mind quite directly with a manager who had been visiting the tables. Here the tale turns to a positive of the effort made to ensure guests are happy. After our discussion was over, he identified who we were (I wasn't at our table at the time), checked the way the meal had been described in the hotel calendar and changed the description so future guests would not have the same misunderstanding, sent a lovely basket to our room the next afternoon and made further amends. We spoke about it again the next evening when he came to our table. Thus this becomes an exemplar of high quality guest relations.
In fact, the worst thing about Schloss Elmau is in fact deciding what to do, since there's so many delightful options, and having to leave at the end. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MymAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FO_Stanley, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear MymAustralia,

I am very happy to hear that we were able to provide you with an exceptional experience with us. It makes me happy to hear that "worst thing about Schloss Elmau is in fact deciding what to do, since there's so many delightful options, and having to leave at the end". With our multiple dining options, 4 spas, concerts, Fit & Active program, plus much more, we are always trying to find new ways to keep our guests wanting to come back for more!

Thank you and please do not hesitate to contact me with any requests in the future,

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2011

My wife and I just spent a second 4 day break in this wonderful location. In all my travels, this is the only place in Europe that has provided us (twice in a row) 'Asian' class service (for anyone who has vacationed in five star locations in Asia, would understand what this means). Blessed with beautiful surroundings and landscape, the operational and managerial staff make the experience memorable, and worth returning to again, and again, and again......

Room Tip: With or with a balcony, y will get fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adilchoudhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FO_Stanley, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Mr. Choudhry,

Thank you so much for the positive remarks you made regarding your last stay at Schloss Elmau. I have had the privilege of hosting you now twice in the past few months and your comments on our service are truly appreciated. The fact that you made the comparison between Asian service and us already says a lot. Thank you again for noticing our efforts. We look forward to your next visit and as always please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I went to Schloss Elmau for a few days with my sister for a little vacation and it was the most amazing and relaxing stay that either of us had been on. The natural surroundings are breathtaking an cannot be described in words--it just wont do it justice. Along with the natural serenity the calm and pleasant demeanor of the staff was impeccable. They were all so kind and had no problem speaking English. Every member of their team made sure that we had the best experience. And the spa! Unbelievable. Not only were the treatments like heaven, each of the different pools available for the guests were placed in ideal locations with views overlooking the Alps. I have never before been in such a place. My sister and I are already planning our return. Schloss Elmau is a place where you will want to go back with your significant other, family, friends, even solo! It was the most memorable experience, and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Julia O,

I apologize for the late response, none the less, we appreciate all your comments and look forward to your next visit.

all the best,

Nikolai

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I spent 10 nights at Schloss Elmau and had an amazing stay. Located in one of the most scenic places in the world. I would put it up against the gradure of The Grand Canyon or Yosemite. Both of which I have stomped through many times. The hiking from right out the door of the Schloss is world class. But, if hiking is not your thing you can always borrow a bike and hit the trail! After a day on the trail I enjoyed a nice wheat wheat beer outdoors and soaking up the view of the mountains I had just hiked through. I did dine in the Michelin stared restaurant which was wonderful. And ate in the buffet restaurant every morning which I thoroughly enjoyed, right down to my last pretzel. I found the service through out the whole hotel to be excellent. I found my room very comfortable and with the same view out the window that Mother Nature had intended, magnificent! And talk about cosy, the bed was amazingly comfortable. I also spent an afternoon in the spa which was glorious. When you go, don't forget to do a few laps in the outdoor pool on the roof of the spa!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH-Napa, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Robert C. of Napa California,

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, outdoor hiking trails and complete natural setting. Many of our guests comment regularly on our Amazing award winning Spas, the children programs we offer, the opulent culinary offerings (including the Michelin Starred Luce d'Oro), our one of a kind unique Culture department (offering over 220 classical and jazz concerts per year), but often the natural setting is taken for granted. We are so fortunate to be located within this pristine National Forest were nature takes center stage, and allows our guests to truly get away fro the hustle and bustle of daily life.

Please do not hesitate to contact me before your next visit,

All the best,

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We spent two days at Schloss Elmau and should have stayed a week. The alpine environment has to be seen to be believed--the setting is just breathtaking. I've stayed in many of the top hotels in the world, and Schloss Elmau is without question my favorite. Luxury is too simple a word to describe the experience--this hotel has a unique combination of great style, total comfort, and superb and intelligent staff. The six restaurants offer a culinary extravaganza, with individual styles ranging from casual to Michelin Star rated. And, if you're looking for the ultimate spa experience, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH-Napa, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Robert H.,

On behalf of my entire team I would like to thank you for the positive remarks that you have recently made on TripAdvisor. We constantly strive to offer a genuinely sincere service while at the same time delivering this within a relaxed atmosphere. It is our intention that you feel as if at home with us here in Schloss Elmau. I will share your comments with my entire team and ask that you please do not hesitate to contact me with any request that you might have in the future.

All the best,

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, the Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

After our second stay in this hotel we were little bit less impressed than the first time due to certain communication difficulties with staff members. Despite this fact, Schloss Elmau still remains one of the best hotels we have stayed in so far.

We have spent few days in Elmau with our little twin boys and we have had great time. It is quite obvious that the spa facilities are just perfect. In addition to family spa and the Badehaus we very much enjoyed the natural spa down at the little river, especially the sauna by the river. The restaurants are very good despite not great, the micheline star Luce dOro is little bit pricey.
This time I also reserved certain time to get familiar with history of the place and was much impressed by the story of Elmau and the personality and results of the current owner and manager of the hotel.

The costs of stay are quite high but the value delivered is more less corresponsing to such costs.

The overall atmosphere of the place is very relaxed and pleasent and not posh in any way which makes you feel comfortable. I can honestly recommend this hotel to all people seeking luxurious hideway to escape from busy modern life for at least few days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CzechTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolai_Bloyd, General Manager at Schloss Elmau, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear CzechTourist,

I am sorry for the very tardy response to your review, but none the less we wish to thank you for your comments and look forward to your next visit.

All the best,

Nikolai

Nikolai Bloyd
General Manager
Schloss Elmau
nikolai@schloss-elmau.de
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmau
3.0 mi away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Das Kranzbach
Das Kranzbach
#1 of 4 in Krun
525 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dorint SportHotel
Dorint SportHotel
#14 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
234 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
248 reviews
5.2 mi away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Elmau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Elmau

Property: Schloss Elmau
Address: Elmau 2, 82493 Elmau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Elmau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elmau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schloss Elmau 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SCHLOSS ELMAU EXPERIENCE Discerning globetrotters not only enjoy the magic location of Schloss Elmau in probably the most beautiful sanctuary of the Bavarian Alps, spectacular Spas and a liberating sense of perfect calm, hospitality without limitations & cosmopolitan restaurants, Yoga or Tai Chi Chuan with excellent teachers, phantastic sports as well as edutainment for their Kids, but also inspiring encounters with some of the greatest artists and authors of our time. The new RETREAT has been the Residence for the Heads of State & Governement during the G7 Summit 2015. 47 Suites, 2 Restaurants, Lounges, Library, Yoga Pavillon & Spa connect a wholly new dimension of space & casual elegance with breathtaking views of the monumental Wetterstein Mountain & roaring Ferchenbach Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Schloss Elmau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Elmau Luxury Spa And Cultural Hideaway
Schloss Elmau Luxury Spa & Cultural Hideaway Hotel Elmau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing