We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a revisit after 30 years”
Review of Jenner Bergbahn

Jenner Bergbahn
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a revisit after 30 years”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Riding the cable car, the cows with the bells and the beautiful hike on the Jennerbahn is one of my all time favorite memories of Europe from over 30 years ago. It was a treat to take my son there and find that it had changed very little. Wish they still had the open cable cars, but other than that it was terrific.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank brumbysport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    16
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aldeburgh, Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unparalleled Beauty”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We came here on our first day in Berchtesgaden, we walked from Hotel Alpenhof in about 25 minutes down the hill. It cost about 16 Euros each to the Mittlestation. We only decided to go half way as it was cloudy. The ride was great fun and takes about 10 minutes, it was beautifully peaceful, there were no crowds and we appeared to be the only people there. All we could hear was the sound of the cow bells in the distance- heaven! Upon reaching the mittlestation we headed further up hill towards a cafe, where we enjoyed a beer. The view is breathtaking, even at the mittlestation. You can walk down the mountain, which we will do next time and takes about an hour.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexico_Mel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a view!!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Loved the view! Went up with one of the local hang gliders and had my first experience gliding from the top....can't wait to do it again!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaltenbrunn, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“President's Day Weekend”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Perfect weekend to ski here. A long gondola ride to the top means an awesome run back to the bottom at the end of the day. Once on top, at least 8 different runs, all great. Will ski here again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Reaches to a breathtaking mountain scenery at the top level”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very detailed informations in different languages, also about the many possible, and interesting hiking routes. Check your shoes and if you re able to manage the sliding cliff walks. But the often crowded access to the cabins is not organised and invites to pushing and fighting. Also a security risk with so many allways hectic German tourists. If you re lucky you end up in the middle of an even hugher - but very disciplined - crowd of Japanese ;-) especially in summer.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Penguin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jenner Bergbahn also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Schoenau am Koenigssee, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Jenner Bergbahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing